Gumout Series Red River Valley 2000-08-17

Dollansky Makes it Two in a Row By Kendra Jacobs FARGO, ND (August 17)-The last time Craig Dollansky left Red River Valley Speedway he was feeling the agony of defeat. Tonight, he left with a smile and an extra $5,000 in his pocket. With his...

Dollansky Makes it Two in a Row
By Kendra Jacobs

FARGO, ND (August 17)-The last time Craig Dollansky left Red River Valley Speedway he was feeling the agony of defeat. Tonight, he left with a smile and an extra $5,000 in his pocket. With his sixth win of the season, Dollansky extended his point lead over Jeff Shepard by 14 points.

Dollansky and Shepard made-up the front row of the "A" Feature event after each of them took home a Weld Dash win. Dollansky took the lead as he drove by Shepard on the outside. While Jason Meyers battled Brad Furr for third position, Bob Bennett flipped upside down in turn one. Chad Meyer slowed in turn two with a broken drive shaft. Neither driver restarted the event.

On the restart, Dollansky again raced around Shepard on the high side of the track. Furr followed with Meyers and Mark Toews close behind. By lap four, Dollansky had entered lapped traffic allowing Shepard to close in. Paul McMahan pulled into the top five by passing Mark Toews in turn two.

On lap 13, Shepard drove around the high side of Dollansky as Dollansky struggled with lapped traffic. Dollansky fought back in turn four to relinquish the position. Furr had worked his way onto Shepard's tail to create a three-way battle for the lead. One lap later, Furr passed Shepard in turn one to take over second position. McMahan also moved up a position as he took fourth place away from Meyers.

Peter Murphy brought out the night's only red flag as he flipped hard into the turn one wall. Murphy walked away uninjured. With file laps remaining, Dollansky created an unchallengeable lead on the restart. Dollansky crossed the line almost a full straightaway ahead of Furr. Shepard finished third with McMahan and Meyers rounding out the top five.

Randy Kinser and Brad Pake both qualified for the "A" Feature event, but were unable to take the green. No alternates were used.

Paul McMahan earned his seventh Huggins Fast Time Award of the season with a time of 15.723. KSE Hard Charger of the night was Ronald Laney as he passed six cars on his way to an eighth place finish.

The Gumout Racing Series will appear at River Cities Speedway on Friday August 18th before finalizing the North Midwest Tour at Huset's Speedway on Saturday.

2000 Gumout Racing Series
Red River Valley Speedway, Fargo, North Dakota
Thursday, August 17, Feature Program #21

Huggins Qualifications: 1. Paul McMahan, Warren Johnson U2, 15.723; 2. Brad Furr, Furr Racing 2, 15.770; 3. Kraig Kinser, Kinser Racing 11K, 15.801; 4. Shane Stewart, Holbrook Mtspts. 9H, 15.853; 5. Jeff Shepard, Double L Mtspts. 4J, 15.864; 6. Jason Meyers, Carter Racing 14M, 15.884; 7. Mark Toews, Toews 5T, 15.940; 8. Craig Dollansky, Karavan Mtspts. 7, 15. 957; 9. Jimmy Carter, Rudeen Racing 14C, 15.960; 10. Bob Bennett, Acme Trailers 3B, 15.990; 11. Randy Kinser, Kinser Racing 14, 16.065; 12. Peter Murphy, Williams 0, 16.008; 13. Ronald Laney, Laney Racing 52, 16.183; 14. Jason Statler, Statler Racing 00, 16.276; 15. Dennis Moore, Jr., Moore 71, 16.356; 16. Chad Meyer, Wilmer Mtspts. 1W, 16.530; 17. Wade Nygaard, Slocum 9, 16.785; 18. Brian Carlson, SC Mtspts. 18, 16.910; 19. Brandon Green, Green 64, 17.017; 20. Bob Martin, Martin 10T, 17.057; 21. Pat Miller, Miller 12, 17.088; 22. Mark Dobmeier, Dobmeier 13, 17.264; 23. Brad Pake, Pake 53, 17.311; 24. Jason Linnell, Grant 22, 17.324; 25. Rich Bubak, Bubak 9X, 17.346; 26. John Bridgeford, Bridgeford 8, 17.809; 27. Ryan Corbett, Corbett 8C, 18.683; 28. Tom Egeland, Egeland 14X, 19.981; 29. Christie Passmore, GAP Roofing 1A, no time.

First Manufacturer's Heat Race (eight laps):  1. Jeff Shepard, 2. Jimmy
Carter, 3. Ronald Laney, 4. Paul McMahan, 5. Rich Bubak, 6. Pat Miller, 7.  
Wade Nygaard.  (Top five qualified for "A" Feature)

Second Manufacturer's Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Jason Meyers, 2. Bob Bennett, 3. Jason Statler, 4. Brad Furr, 5. Mark Dobmeier, 6. John Bridgeford, 7. Brian Carlson. (Top five qualified for "A" Feature)

Third Manufacturer's Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Mark Toews, 2. Dennis Moore, Jr., 3. Kraig Kinser, 4. Brad Pake, 5. Brandon Green, 6. Ryan Corbett, 7. Randy Kinser. (Top five qualified for "A" Feature)

Fourth Manufacturer's Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Craig Dollansky, 2. Peter Murphy, 3. Shane Stewart, 4. Chad Meyer, 5. Bob Martin, 6. Jason Linnell, 7. Tom Egeland, 8. Christie Passmore-DNS. (Top five qualified for "A" Feature)

Weld Racing Dash (five laps): 1. Jeff Shepard, 2. Mark Toews, 3. Paul McMahan, 4. Dennis Moore, Jr., 5. Jimmy Carter, 6. Kraig Kinser. (Finish determined inside starting rows 1-6 in "A" Feature)

Weld Race Components Dash (five laps): 1. Craig Dollansky, 2. Jason Meyers, 3. Brad Furr, 4. Bob Bennett, 5. Peter Murphy, 6. Shane Stewart. (Finish determined outside starting rows 1-6 in "A" Feature)

Hank's Performance Products "B" Feature (eight laps): 1. Wade Nygaard, 2. Randy Kinser, 3. John Bridgeford, 4. Jason Linnell, 5. Pat Miller ($200); 6. Ryan Corbett ($150); 7.Tom Egeland ($100); 8. Brian Carlson ($100). (Top four qualified for "A" Feature)

Gumout Racing Series "A" Feature (25 laps): 1. Craig Dollansky ($5,000); 2. Brad Furr ($3,000); 3. Jeff Shepard ($2,000); 4. Paul McMahan ($1,800); 5. Jason Meyers ($1,600); 6. Shane Stewart ($1,400); 7. Dennis Moore, Jr. ($1,300); 8. Ronald Laney ($1,200); 9. Jason Statler ($1,100); 10. Jimmy Carter ($ 1,050); 11. Kraig Kinser ($1,000); 12. Mark Toews ($800); 13. Mark Dobemeier ($700); 14. Bob Martin ($600); 15. Peter Murphy ($600); 16. John Bridgeford ($500); 17. Brandon Green ($500); 18. Rich Bubak ($500); 19. Wade Nygaard ($500); 20. Jason Linnell ($500); 21. Bob Bennett ($500); 22. Chad Meyer ($500); 23. Brad Pake-DNS; 24. Randy Kinser-DNS.

Lap Leader: Craig Dollansky 1-25
Huggins Fast Qualifier: Paul McMahan
KSE Hard Charger: Ronald Laney

Gumout Racing Series Point Standings: 1. Craig Dollansky 3400; 2. Jeff Shepard 3386; 3. Paul McMahan 3304; 4. Jason Meyers 3112; 5. Brad Furr 3037; 6. Shane Stewart 2927; 7. Ronald Laney 2922; 8. Randy Kinser 2818; 9. Bob Bennett 2344; 10. Brian Carlson 2239; 11. Kraig Kinser 1669; 12. Jimmy Carter 1546; 13. Jason Statler 605.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Warren Johnson , Brad Furr , Craig Dollansky , Brian Carlson , Jason Meyers , Kraig Kinser , Paul McMahan , Shane Stewart , Jason Statler , Peter Murphy
Teams Williams