Greenwood Friday report

MARK KINSER WINS I-80 FEATURE, HIS THIRD VICTORY OF THE YEAR By Richard Day GREENWOOD, NE (May 5) - Mark Kinser won his third "A" Feature of the year Friday night at I-80 Speedway to move past Danny...

MARK KINSER WINS I-80 FEATURE, HIS THIRD VICTORY OF THE YEAR By Richard Day GREENWOOD, NE (May 5) - Mark Kinser won his third "A" Feature of the year Friday night at I-80 Speedway to move past Danny Lasoski into third place in the Skoal Outlaw Series point standings. The heavy thunderstorms that caused Thursday's preliminary program to be cancelled didn't dampen the spirits of the record crowd which welcomed the World of Outlaws to I-80 for the first time. Friday's crowd more than doubled the previous high for Greenwood's semi-banked, 4/10-mile oval. "I can't say enough about the crew here at I-80 and the World of Outlaws," Kinser said in victory lane. "The track was in great shape considering all the rain that's fallen here the last few days. The track was racy all night long." Kinser opened the festivities by setting I-80's one-lap record with a 14.495-second qualifying run. The record-setting lap earned him his first Ecowater Fast-Time Award of the season. Less than a second separated the 30 cars taking time trials. Following Lasoski, Johnny Herrera and Aaron Berryhill across the finish line in the Vivarin Dash put Kinser outside the second row in the "A" Feature lineup. As the green flag fell in the 30-lap main event, "The Dude" burst into the lead while Kinser passed Berryhill for third place. Mark took the runner-up spot a lap later, steering the #5M Wirtgen Maxim deep into the second corner to pass Herrera. Kinser caught Lasoski early in the third lap, and tried to take the lead in the second corner. Mark executed his second attempt to perfection, passing "The Dude" deep in turn four. With Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race winner Jac Haudenschild pressuring Lasoski for second place, Kinser entered lapped traffic with a 10-car- length advantage during the sixth lap. Mark slowed in heavy lapped traffic early in lap 11, allowing "The Dude" to narrow the gap. Haudenschild made it a three-car battle for the lead two laps later. As the leaders searched for a path around Craig Dollansky and Randy Hannagan, the left side board on the #47 Casey's General Stores Maxim shifted, and caused Lasoski handling problems during the final 17 laps. "The Wild Child" passed him for the runner-up spot deep in turn four midway through the race. Kinser made his way through the backmarkers the next time around, and quickly opened a half-straightaway lead on his closest pursuers. Hannagan spun into the infield just off the back straightaway two laps later, however, bringing out the caution flag and tightening the field. Joe Gaerte drove the #77 Cornwell Tools J&J past Herrera in the third corner as the race resumed, only to have Johnny pass him back the next time around. The caution flag was flying again with 10 laps remaining when Dave Blaney stopped the #10 Vivarin J&J on the front straightaway with a flat left rear tire. Two laps after the green flag replaced the yellow, Berryhill spun to a stop in the second corner. With several backmarkers restarting between him and "The Wild Child," Kinser quickly reopened his 10-car-length comfort zone. As Blaney raced back through the field, Mark entered lapped traffic again with three laps remaining. Mark took the white flag with Haudenschild gaining on him and Ray Lipsey dead ahead. As he steered the #5M high into turn one to pass Lipsey, "The Wild Child" took the low road and almost caught him in the second corner. Kinser held on to win by four car-lengths. "I messed up in lapped traffic the last five laps, so I figured somebody was close to me," Mark admitted in victory lane. "I knew I had to get by that lapped car at the end to win." Rounding out the top 10 in the main event were "The Dude," Herrera, Gaerte, Greg Hodnett, Andy Hillenburg, Stevie Smith, Blaney and Rickey Hood. Smith drove the #71M Ecowater Systems Maxim past seven sprinters from his eighth-row starting position to earn his third Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award of the year. WoO 1995 WORLD OF OUTLAWS/SKOAL OUTLAW SERIES I-80 Speedway, Greenwood, NE, Friday, May 5, Feature Program #10 Qualifications: 1. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 14.495 (new one-lap record); 2. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 14.566; 3. Aaron Berryhill, Berryhill 97, 14.622; 4. Joe Gaerte, Hamilton 77, 14.626; 5. Danny Lasoski, Sonner 47, 14.699; 6. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 14.759; 7. Johnny Herrera, Forbrook 5, 14.766; 8. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 14.770; 9. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 14.775; 10. Ray Lipsey, Lipsey 45, 14.790; 11. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 14.790; 12. Marlon Jones, Oswalt D1, 14.834; 13. Rickey Hood, Herrera 45x, 14.843; 14. Randy Hannagan, Hannagan 1x, 14.845; 15. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 14.848; 16. Gary Wright, White 9, 14.850; 17. Tommie Estes, Jr., Gray 51, 14.861; 18. Don Droud, Jr., Kormack 1BK, 14.924; 19. Tim Engler, Engler 73, 14.970; 20. Craig Dollansky, Serace 55, 14.976; 21. Chad Mellenberndt, Mellenberndt 97M, 14.978; 22. Steve Beitler, Beitler 21, 14.982; 23. Shane Carson, Helms 12$, 14.985; 24. Skip Jackson, VanderEcken 10V, 15.019; 25. Tim Monson, Monson 6M, 15.089; 26. Mike Reinke, Cowman 02, 15.099; 27. Jaymie Moyle, Moyle 4, 15.106; 28. Tim Lewis, Lewis 3, 15.327; 29. Rich Bubak, Bubak 9B, 15.337; 30. Chuck Swenson, Swenson X, 15.413; 31. Todd Splain, Splain 1KT, no time. First Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Gary Wright, 2. Mark Kinser, 3. Rickey Hood, 4. Johnny Herrera, 5. Joe Gaerte, 6. Ray Lipsey, 7. Tim Engler, 8. Tim Monson, 9. Steve Beitler, 10. Tim Lewis, 11. Todd Splain. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild, 2. Randy Hannagan, 3. Jeff Swindell, 4. Tommie Estes, Jr., 5. Greg Hodnett, 6. Danny Lasoski, 7. Craig Dollansky, 8. Mike Reinke, 9. Shane Carson, 10. Rich Bubak. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Stevie Smith, 2. Don Droud, Jr., 3. Dave Blaney, 4. Marlon Jones, 5. Skip Jackson, 6. Aaron Berryhill, 7. Chad Mellenberndt, 8. Andy Hillenburg, 9. Jaymie Moyle, 10. Chuck Swenson. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Danny Lasoski, 2. Johnny Herrera, 3. Aaron Berryhill, 4. Mark Kinser, 5. Joe Gaerte, 6. Jac Haudenschild, 7. Dave Blaney, 8. Jeff Swindell. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Craig Dollansky, 2. Andy Hillenburg, 3. Chad Mellenberndt, 4. Tim Engler, 5. Tim Lewis, 6. Mike Reinke 7. Chuck Swenson ($210); 8. Jaymie Moyle ($185); 9. Rich Bubak ($160); 10. Tim Monson ($110); 11. Steve Beitler ($100); 12. Shane Carson ($90); 13. Todd Splain ($70). (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Mark Kinser ($6,010); 2. Jac Haudenschild ($3,510); 3. Danny Lasoski ($2,510); 4. Johnny Herrera ($2,210); 5. Joe Gaerte ($2,110); 6. Greg Hodnett ($2,010); 7. Andy Hillenburg ($1,630); 8. Stevie Smith ($1,510); 9. Dave Blaney ($1,410); 10. Rickey Hood ($1,310); 11. Jeff Swindell ($1,160); 12. Gary Wright ($1,110); 13. Ray Lipsey ($1,060); 14. Aaron Berryhill ($1,010); 15. Don Droud, Jr. ($710); 16. Craig Dollansky ($530); 17. Chad Mellenberndt ($430); 18. Tim Engler ($430); 19. Marlon Jones ($410); 20. Randy Hannagan ($410); 21. Tim Lewis ($430); 22. Skip Jackson ($410); 23. Mike Reinke ($430); 24. Tommie Estes, Jr. ($410). Lap leaders: Danny Lasoski 1-2, Mark Kinser 3-30 Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner: Stevie Smith Ecowater Fast-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser WoO*eot

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Craig Dollansky , Aaron Berryhill , Randy Hannagan , Tim Lewis , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell