Granite City Saturday report

'WILD CHILD' PASSES LASOSKI LATE TO WIN AT TRI-CITY By Richard Day GRANITE CITY, IL (May 13) - Jac Haudenschild won a 30-lap battle with Danny Lasoski Saturday night to win the World of Outlaws' "A"...

'WILD CHILD' PASSES LASOSKI LATE TO WIN AT TRI-CITY By Richard Day GRANITE CITY, IL (May 13) - Jac Haudenschild won a 30-lap battle with Danny Lasoski Saturday night to win the World of Outlaws' "A" Feature at Tri-City Speedway and pad his lead in the Skoal Outlaw Series point standings. "Mark (Kinser) and Lasoski have been quicker than us on some nights, but we're picking it up," Haudenschild told the capacity crowd from victory lane. "We feel like we're going to be right up there all year." Entering the Tri-City event, Kinser had won four consecutive "A" Features and Lasoski had earned five Ecowater Fast-Time Awards, but it was "The Wild Child" who led the points race. After Mark broke his second one-lap record in as many events with a 17.035-second qualifying run at Tri-City, Haudenschild and "The Dude" earned the front-row starting positions in the "A" Feature by finishing 1-2 in the Vivarin Dash. The main event's first lap featured "The Wild Child" and Lasoski racing wheel-to-wheel around Tri-City's semi-banked, 1/2-mile oval before "The Dude" inched ahead entering the third corner. The race stopped abruptly late in the third lap when Tim Engler hit the turn-three guard rail and flipped into Bobby Hawks. As the green flag replaced the red, "The Wild Child" made his first of many attempts to take the lead, but Lasoski kept the #47 Casey's General Stores Maxim in front. "The Dude" was three car-lengths ahead when he led Haudenschild into lapped traffic seven laps into the race. He increased his advantage to 15 car-lengths the next time around as "The Wild Child" was unable to pass Matt Rogerson quickly in turn three. Lasoski lost his comfort zone during the ninth lap when Kinser took the #5M Wirtgen Maxim for a spin in the third corner while Hawks stopped in turn two, bringing out the caution flag. The green flag flew for less than a lap before Joe Gaerte and Andy Hillenburg collided in the second corner and flipped. "The Dude" was eight car-lengths ahead of Haudenschild when he caught the backmarkers again late in lap 12. Three laps later, Dean Jacobs stopped on the track with a collapsed top wing. Out came the caution flag, taking Lasoski out of lapped traffic and tightening the field. Within three laps after the green flag replaced the yellow, "The Dude" entered lapped traffic with a 10-car-length advantage. But by the 20th lap, "The Wild Child" was threatening to take the lead as Lasoski labored behind Jim Carr. Haudenschild made two runs at "The Dude" in heavy lapped traffic on successive laps, then steered the #22 Pennzoil Maxim high into the fourth corner to take the lead late in lap 25. As Lasoski battled the backmarkers in the low groove, "The Wild Child" took the high road and never slowed during the final six laps on his way to the 15-car-length victory. "Danny got through traffic better than I did early in the race, but he got boxed in in traffic," Haudenschild explained. "The lapped cars were messing me up early, but they helped me out later in the race." Lasoski now has three second-place finishes to go with a pair of "A" Feature victories. "When the race track is narrow, you have to commit yourself and stay with it," he said. "I'm just glad to come in second." First Snap-on Tools Heat Race winner Dave Blaney drove the #10 Vivarin J&J into fifth place from his fifth-row starting position during the first 15 laps. He raced past Steve Kinser and Joey Saldana with nine laps remaining to finish third. Former World of Outlaws Rookies of the Year Aaron Berryhill (1992), Stevie Smith (1990), Mark Kinser (1984), Greg Hodnett (1993) and Jeff Swindell (1981) rounded out the top 10. Smith received his fourth Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award of the season after steering the #71M Ecowater Systems Maxim around 11 sprinters on his way to a seventh-place finish. WoO 1995 WORLD OF OUTLAWS/SKOAL OUTLAW SERIES Tri-City Speedway, Granite City, IL, Saturday, May 13, Feature Program #13 Qualifications: 1. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 17.035 (new one-lap record); 2. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 17.253; 3. Joey Saldana, Wendt 77W, 17.265; 4. Aaron Berryhill, Berryhill 97, 17.349; 5. Danny Lasoski, Sonner 47, 17.403; 6. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 17.405; 7. Bobby Davis, Jr., Davis 4, 17.481; 8. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 17.614; 9. Rickey Hood, Herrera 45x, 17.622; 10. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 17.633; 11. Jim Carr, Black 1, 17.649; 12. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 17.661; 13. Joe Gaerte, Hamilton 77, 17.676; 14. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 17.895; 15. Randy Hannagan, Hannagan 1x, 17.904; 16. Craig Keel, Keel 8, 17.912; 17. Dean Jacobs, Davis 1F, 17.981; 18. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 17.985; 19. Kevin Huntley, Stanton 40, 17.990; 20. Tim Engler, Engler 73, 18.133; 21. Gus Wasson, Wasson 4G, 18.439; 22. Bobby Hawks, Hawks 58, 18.993; 23. Matt Rogerson, Rogerson 91, 19.191; 24. Randy Combs, Stark 2C, 19.265; 25. Bruce Donaldson, Donaldson 4D, 19.623; 26. Babes Rowland, Richardson 24, 19.654. First Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Dave Blaney, 2. Joe Gaerte, 3. Bobby Davis, Jr., 4. Craig Keel, 5. Aaron Berryhill, 6. Bobby Hawks, 7. Bruce Donaldson, 8. Kevin Huntley, 9. Mark Kinser. (first nine qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Jeff Swindell, 3. Danny Lasoski, 4. Jim Carr, 5. Dean Jacobs, 6. Tim Engler, 7. Babes Rowland, 8. Matt Rogerson, 9. Steve Kinser. (first nine qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Andy Hillenburg, 2. Stevie Smith, 3. Jac Haudenschild, 4. Rickey Hood, 5. Joey Saldana, 6. Gus Wasson, 7. Randy Combs, 8. Randy Hannagan. (first eight qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild, 2. Danny Lasoski. 3. Joey Saldana, 4. Mark Kinser, 5. Steve Kinser, 6. Aaron Berryhill, 7. Jeff Swindell, 8. Bobby Davis, Jr. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild ($6,010); 2. Danny Lasoski ($3,510); 3. Dave Blaney ($2,510); 4. Steve Kinser ($2,210); 5. Joey Saldana ($2,110); 6. Aaron Berryhill ($2,010); 7. Stevie Smith ($1,610); 8. Mark Kinser ($1,510); 9. Greg Hodnett ($1,410); 10. Jeff Swindell ($1,310); 11. Randy Hannagan ($1,160); 12. Craig Keel ($1,110); 13. Bobby Davis, Jr. ($1,060); 14. Gus Wasson ($1,010); 15. Jim Carr ($710); 16. Randy Combs ($510); 17. Babes Rowland ($410); 18. Bruce Donaldson ($410); 19. Dean Jacobs ($410); 20. Kevin Huntley ($410); 21. Rickey Hood ($410); 22. Andy Hillenburg ($410); 23. Joe Gaerte ($410); 24. Bobby Hawks ($410); 25. Matt Rogerson ($410); 26. Tim Engler ($410). Lap leaders: Danny Lasoski 1-24, Jac Haudenschild 25-30 Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner: Stevie Smith Ecowater Fast-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser WoO*eot

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Gus Wasson , Aaron Berryhill , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Randy Hannagan , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Jeff Swindell