Gold Cup day 3 results

HILLENBURG WINS GOLD CUP RACE OF CHAMPIONS By Richard Day CHICO, CA (September 17) - Andy Hillenburg has won 14 World of Outlaws "A" Features, but none of them compare to Saturday's $20,000...

HILLENBURG WINS GOLD CUP RACE OF CHAMPIONS By Richard Day CHICO, CA (September 17) - Andy Hillenburg has won 14 World of Outlaws "A" Features, but none of them compare to Saturday's $20,000 victory in the Gold Cup Race of Champions. Hillenburg steered his #2 STP J&J deep into the second corner to pass Jeff Swindell, and led the final 10 1/2 laps for the biggest victory of his career. "Just like last night, second was the place to be in traffic," Hillenburg told the standing-room-only crowd from victory lane. "With Jeff and Steve (Kinser), sometimes second is the place to be." Starting the championship feature inside the third row, Hillenburg blew by Sammy Swindell and defending Gold Cup champion Stevie Smith as Jeff Swindell took the lead from the outside pole. Jeff was five car-lengths ahead of the 24-car field when brother Sammy stopped on the back straightaway when the right front brake caliper on the #1 Bull & Hannah's Jenkins became locked. Sammy was credited with a 24th- place finish when his crew was unable to repair his brakes. Kinser, the nine-time Gold Cup champion, pressured Jeff for the lead immediately after the green flag replaced the yellow. Only six car-lengths separated Swindell, Kinser, Hillenburg and Smith when Randy Hannagan hooked the cushion in turn three and flipped late in the 10th lap. The caution flag was flying again within seconds after the race resumed as a fourth-corner collision sent Greg Hodnett flipping. With the #8TW Kele & Associates Maxim sustaining only a broken shock in the crash, Hodnett was at the back of the pack on the ensuing restart. "The King of the Outlaws" was still pressuring Swindell for first place during the 19th lap as the leaders entered lapped traffic. Hillenburg and Smith raced past him, however, when Kinser tried to take the lead with a high move between turns one and two. Hodnett and Two Winners Racing teammate Joe Gaerte were battling for position midway through the race when their collision sent Greg bouncing over the bank in the third corner. At the same time, Paul McMahan took the #3 Tri-C Machine sprinter for a spin in turn two. Hillenburg challenged Swindell for 11 laps before taking the lead in turn two early in lap 30. He immediately ran away from the field, opening a 10-car-length comfort zone within three laps. Andy was 12 car-lengths ahead of Swindell when a blown engine caused Danny Burton to stop in the fourth corner with seven laps remaining. While the caution flag was still waving, Kinser discovered the #11 Valvoline Maxim's right rear tire losing air pressure. He surrendered fourth place as his crew replaced the damaged tire. The leaders were racing toward the white flag when Kinser and "The King of California," Brent Kaeding, collided, breaking the front end on BK's #69 J.W. Hunt Gambler. Kaeding managed to steer his damaged sprinter into the infield, averting a 39th-lap caution. A similar incident almost cost Hillenburg the victory the next time around. He was attempting to ride the rim around "B" Feature winner Marc Zieske in the fourth corner when he bounced off the fourth-corner wall. Andy somehow managed to keep the #2 under control, and took the checkered flag as Jeff raced through turn four. "I was going to get to the checkered flag, whether it was on all four wheels or upside down," Hillenburg said. Dave Blaney, who started behind Hillenburg on the fourth row, threaded the #10 Vivarin J&J between Swindell and the berm in turn four late in the final lap, but was unable to complete the pass for second place. Rounding out the top 10 in the championship feature were Smith, Randy Tiner, Jason McMillen, 16th-starting Kevin Pylant, Jac Haudenschild, Greg DeCaires and Kinser. WoO 1994 WORLD OF OUTLAWS/COPENHAGEN-SKOAL SHOOTOUT Gold Cup Race of Champions, Silver Dollar Speedway, Chico, CA Saturday, September 17, Feature Program #60 E Feature (12 laps): 1. John Allard, 2. C.J. Humphries, 3. Joey Delisle ($100); 4. Brian Lawson ($75); 5. Mark McKay ($50); 6. Jack Clark ($50); 7. Jamie Hood ($50); 8. Tom Esposito ($50); 9. Erik Folger ($50); 10. David Vertullo ($50); 11. Michael Zvono ($50); 12. Paul Purcell ($50); 13. Mike McCreary ($50); 14. Larry Lightfoot ($50); 15. Kevin Cory ($50); 16. Gary Matranga ($50); 17. Jim Richardson ($50). (first two qualified for the "D" Feature) D Feature (12 laps): 1. George Koerber, 2. Dale Smith, 3. Mark Monico ($100); 4. Ryan Bailey ($75); 5. Jimmy Trulli ($75); 6. Gary Willey ($50); 7. Shawna Hogg ($50); 8. C.J. Humphries ($100); 9. Alan Bradway ($50); 10. Marty Wilcox ($50); 11. Dale Cross ($50); 12. Bob Walker ($50); 13. Alan Howell ($50); 14. Bill Nutter ($50); 15. Jay Follman ($50); 16. David McCreary ($50); 17. John Allard ($100). (first two qualified for the "C" Feature) C Feature (15 laps): 1. Jason Statler, 2. Jamie Cavagnaro, 3. Brian Hodges, 4. Eric Rossi ($300); 5. Greg Blevins ($250); 6. Darren Howard ($200); 7. Brian Crockett ($175); 8. Sean Finn ($150); 9. Greg Brown ($125); 10. Ray Rust ($100); 11. Ron McBride ($100); 12. Dale Smith ($150); 13. George Koerber ($150); 14. Graydon Cross ($100); 15. Monte Faccinto ($100); 16. Kevin Urton ($100). (first three qualified for the "B" Feature) B Feature (20 laps): 1. Marc Zieske, 2. Kenny Jacobs, 3. Johnny Herrera, 4. Jimmy Sills, 5. Darrell Hanestad ($500); 6. Bryan Bullard ($450); 7. Keith Kauffman ($400); 8. Lindsey Casto ($350); 9. Garry Lee Maier ($300); 10. Kyle Schild ($250); 11. Brian Hodges ($250); 12. Jamie Cavagnaro ($225); 13. Gary Morgan ($175); 14. Steve Coelho ($150); 15. Shane Scott ($150); 16. Jason Statler ($175); 17. Robert Farr ($150); 18. Mike Hubert, Jr. ($150). (first four qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (40 laps): 1. Andy Hillenburg ($20,000); 2. Jeff Swindell ($9,000); 3. Dave Blaney ($5,000); 4. Stevie Smith ($4,000); 5. Randy Tiner ($3,000); 6. Jason McMillen ($2,500); 7. Kevin Pylant ($2,000); 8. Jac Haudenschild ($1,900); 9. Greg DeCaires ($1,800); 10. Steve Kinser ($1,750); 11. Johnny Herrera ($1,625); 12. Steve Kent ($1,500); 13. Kenny Jacobs ($1,325); 14. Jimmy Sills ($1,225); 15. Bobby McMahan ($1,100); 16. Marc Zieske ($1,025); 17. Tim Green ($800); 18. Greg Hodnett ($600); 19. Brent Kaeding ($500); 20. Danny Burton ($500); 21. Paul McMahan ($500); 22. Joe Gaerte ($500); 23. Randy Hannagan ($500); 24. Sammy Swindell ($500). Lap leaders: Jeff Swindell 1-29, Andy Hillenburg 30-40 WoO *eof

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Jim Richards , Kenny Jacobs , Paul McMahan , Randy Hannagan , Jimmy Sills , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jason Statler , Bobby McMahan , Jeff Swindell , Tim Green