Finale at Hagerstown Speedway, Sunday, May 30

'Dude' Wins Hagerstown Finale With Last-Lap Pass By Richard Day HAGERSTOWN, MD (May 30) - Danny Lasoski has been on the winning and losing end of several Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series races ...

'Dude' Wins Hagerstown Finale With Last-Lap Pass By Richard Day HAGERSTOWN, MD (May 30) - Danny Lasoski has been on the winning and losing end of several Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series races featuring last-lap passes in the last year. "The Dude" lost to Jac Haudenschild by inches at Knoxville Raceway last July 22nd, then came back with a pass for the ages to win the Amoco Knoxville Nationals three weeks later. Lasoski chased Stevie Smith for 29 3/4 laps Sunday before pulling off a fourth-corner pass to win the "A" Feature before a sellout crowd at Hagerstown Speedway. "We just kept tracking him down," Danny said. "I saw get hung up a little bit in the traffic and I knew I had a shot. "I can't say enough about my guys Jack Hickman, Mark Ellis, Craig Stevens and my good buddy Jimmy Carr. They gave me an awesome car to drive tonight. "I like the bigger tracks, probably because I grew up at Knoxville. You couldn't ask for any better surface than we had here tonight." Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series points leader Mark Kinser definitely found the racing surface to his liking during time trials, lowering the single-lap record by .022 seconds with a 118.095-m.p.h. lap around the semi-banked, 1/2-mile oval. Kinser received his 11th Vivarin Fast-Time Award of the season for his record-setting effort. Second-quick Tyler Walker was more than a half-second off Mark's pace. Smith, who won Saturday's Preliminary Feature, earned the right to start the main event on the pole by winning the Channellock Dash. He burst into the lead as the green flag fell in the 30-lap race. Sammy Swindell and Fred Rahmer collided on the front straightaway early in the second lap. Although no other cars hit Rahmer as he spun, the severe damage to the #77 kept him from restarting. Swindell kept his #1 Channellock Stealth moving, so he maintained seventh place. Greg Hodnett took the high line through turns three and four to pass Lasoski for second as the green flag replaced the yellow. Smith was 1.7 seconds ahead of Hodnett when he entered lapped traffic three laps later. Walker started making his way toward the front early in the 12th lap. He steered his family's #35 Air Sep Maxim into the high groove in the first corner to pass Jeff Shepard, then took fourth place from Kinser with an inside move between turns three and four seconds later. Swindell, a four-time winner at Hagerstown, suffered his second mechanical failure in as many nights and dropped out during lap 15. Lasoski returned to second place by steering the #83 Beef Packers Eagle into the low groove between the first and second corners to pass Hodnett two laps later. Walker relegated Hodnett to fourth place late in the 21st lap with an inside move into turn four. Smith enjoyed a 2.7-second lead in traffic during lap 25, only to have Lasoski close to within 1.1 seconds within three laps. "The Dude" caught Stevie in turn three, then brought the crowd to its feet when he cut inside Stevie and slid in front of him in the fourth corner as they headed for the finish line. Danny beat Stevie under the checkered flag by inches. "We've been struggling the last few weeks," Lasoski admitted. "Our goal was to be consistent and give the #5M (Mark Kinser) a run for the title." Lasoski gained 20 points on Kinser, who finished 10th in the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' 25th "A" Feature of the year. Danny trailed Mark by 34 points as the series headed to Lebanon Valley Speedway Monday to open a three-race tour in New York. Walker finished third, ahead of Hodnett, Shepard, Third NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race winner Steve Kinser, Donny Schatz, Kevin Gobrecht and 18th-starting Jeff Swindell. It definitely wasn't a good night to be an Oklahoma driver. Broken Arrow natives Andy Hillenburg and Lance Blevins finished 20th and 21st, while Daryn Pittman of Tulsa finished in 22nd place. Tim Shaffer moved into a tie with Pittman for first place in the Manufacturers' Rookie of the Year standings when he drove the #11H Vivarin Maxim past nine cars to finish 12th. WoO

1999 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown, MD Sunday, May 30, Feature Program #25 Vivarin qualifications: 1. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 15.242 (new single-lap record); 2. Tyler Walker, Walker 35, 15.755; 3. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 15.844; 4. Fred Rahmer, Hamilton 77, 15.857; 5. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 15.862; 6. Kevin Gobrecht, Hylton/Blaney 93, 15.868; 7. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21, 15.870; 8. Travis Whitney, Whitney 7S, 15.935; 9. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 15.949; 10. Ed Lynch, Jr., Lynch 2L, 16.011; 11. Johnny Herrera, DOCC Motorsports 1BK, 16.035; 12. Joe Gaerte, Holbrook 8H, 16.037; 13. Brian Paulus, P&P Motorsports 28, 16.099; 14. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 104+, 16.099; 15. Don Kreitz, Jr., Kreitz 69, 16.125; 16. Daryn Pittman, Sonner 47, 16.126; 17. Tim Shaffer, Helm 11H, 16.184; 18. Brooke Tatnell, Tatnell 7K, 16.244; 19. Dale Blaney, Hughes 94, 16.342; 20. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 16.413; 21. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 16.415; 22. Rick Kaylor, Kaylor 13K, 17.305; 23. Dan Shetler, Shetler 7x, 19.121. First NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Lance Blevins, 3. Joe Gaerte, 4. Kevin Gobrecht, 5. Brian Paulus, 6. Daryn Pittman, 7. Dale Blaney, 8. Rick Kaylor. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Second NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Tyler Walker, 2. Sammy Swindell, 3. Johnny Herrera, 4. Travis Whitney, 5. Tim Shaffer, 6. Jac Haudenschild, 7. Jeff Swindell, 8. Dan Shetler. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Third NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Steve Kinser, 2. Donny Schatz, 3. Ed Lynch, Jr., 4. Fred Rahmer, 5. Don Kreitz, Jr., 6. Brooke Tatnell, 7. Andy Hillenburg. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Finishing 1-4 in Saturday's Preliminary Feature automatically qualified Stevie Smith, Danny Lasoski, Greg Hodnett and Jeff Shepard for the first four starting positions in the Channellock Dash. Channellock Dash (five laps): 1. Stevie Smith, 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Mark Kinser, 5. Tyler Walker, 6. Jeff Shepard. (finish determined the first six starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Jeff Swindell, 2. Andy Hillenburg, 3. Dale Blaney, 4. Daryn Pittman, 5. Brooke Tatnell, 6. Jac Haudenschild ($200); 7. Rick Kaylor ($175); 8. Dan Shetler ($150). (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Danny Lasoski ($10,000); 2. Stevie Smith ($6,000); 3. Tyler Walker ($3,500); 4. Greg Hodnett ($3,200); 5. Jeff Shepard ($3,000); 6. Steve Kinser ($2,500); 7. Donny Schatz ($2,300); 8. Kevin Gobrecht ($2,200); 9. Jeff Swindell ($2,120); 10. Mark Kinser ($2,050); 11. Johnny Herrera ($2,000); 12. Tim Shaffer ($1,600); 13. Ed Lynch, Jr. ($1,500); 14. Brooke Tatnell ($1,220); 15. Travis Whitney ($1,100); 16. Dale Blaney ($1,020); 17. Joe Gaerte ($900); 18. Brian Paulus ($700); 19. Sammy Swindell ($700); 20. Andy Hillenburg ($720); 21. Lance Blevins ($700); 22. Daryn Pittman ($720); 23. Don Kreitz, Jr. ($700); 24. Fred Rahmer ($700). Lap leaders: Stevie Smith 1-29, Danny Lasoski 30 Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser WoO

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Tim Shaffer , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Tyler Walker , Brian Paulus , Brooke Tatnell , Daryn Pittman , Mark Ellis , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell