Elite Racing 2010 season review

2010: An Elite Season The dynamics it takes to win a championship are sometimes hard to explain. Sometimes you can be a force like the New York Yankees and win the pennant four years in a row, then fail to make the play offs the following year.

2010: An Elite Season

The dynamics it takes to win a championship are sometimes hard to explain. Sometimes you can be a force like the New York Yankees and win the pennant four years in a row, then fail to make the play offs the following year. The single word that leads to championships is - chemistry. This year Elite Racing was able to combine the right chemistry with a little luck to win the 2010 World of Outlaws Championship. Along the way there were some bumps in the road, but after two consecutive wins to end the season Jason Meyers and his Elite Racing team showed who was in command.

After finishing just 19 points shy of a title in 2009, which marked the third time in his career he was the runner-up, Jason Meyers had one goal this year and that was to win his first World of Outlaws title.

A strong stretch run that began during the Gold Rush Tour helped propel Meyers into the record books this season as he became just the eighth driver in the 30-plus year history of the World of Outlaws to claim a title and the first-ever from the state of California.

"It's unbelievable," said Meyers. "Being the first from California and just the eighth ever is incredible. To be able to put your name on that list, that's why you do this. You work at it every day because that's what you strive to achieve. I'm looking forward to coming back and defending it next year."

He and his entire Elite Racing team worked hard all off-season to put themselves in position again to contend for the championship and that showed from the first drop of the green flag of the year during the Florida DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia, as the native of Clovis, California finished among the Top-10 in each of the first 10 races of the season to firmly establish himself among the Top-Three in the standings.

Meyers took the point lead following after a win at Volunteer Speedway in March in the second round of the Showdown for the Bud Crown, Kasey's King of Bulls Gap. Meyers would hold the top spot for the next six races and would go on to claim a $9,000 bonus for winning the overall title of the Showdown for the Bud Crown four-race mini-series which was promoted by Kasey Kahne and the World Racing Group.

Meyers scored his first win of the season in late February at Las Vegas, coming all the way from the 18th starting spot to score the victory. He would make it back-to-back wins the following week at his home track of Thunderbowl Raceway in Tulare, California. Another pair of back-to-back wins would follow at Virginia Motor Speedway in May and I-96 Speedway in Michigan, as he won at each of those facilities for the second time in his career.

Meyers celebrated the Fourth of July Weekend with a win at North Central Speedway in Minnesota. He wrapped up the Month of Money with a $20,000 triumph in the finale of the Second Annual Ironman 55 at I-55 Raceway in Pevely, Missouri, winning a thriller over Lucas Wolfe by a mere 92-thousandths-of-a-second., which was the second closest finish of the season.

He picked up a win at Castrol Raceway early in the Gold Rush Tour and capped off the mini-series with the biggest win of his career, taking the $50,000 Gold Cup Race of Champions at Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico, California. Meyers finished ninth or better in nine of the 10 races that comprised the Gold Rush Tour and erased a nearly 70 point deficit in the standings, turning the fast lap in qualifying six times during that span to gain valuable bonus points as well.

"It's been a tough year when you look at it," Meyers commented. T"here were moments we would like forget, but there were so many great moments. Winning the Gold Cup was certainly one of them and to win the title in the same year being the first California driver to do it was pretty special."

He would take the point lead at Clay County Fair Speedway in Iowa the following race and would hold it for the rest of the season en route to winning the title aboard the GLR Investments/DDNi KPC for Elite Racing, which he is one of the owners of along with Chris Luck and Guy Stockbridge.

"Consistency is where the points come from," Meyers explained. "The better average finish you have, the better point average you have. That's absolutely what wins championships. The last few years we had always been close, but seemed to have a lull at some point of the season and it would end up being too long of a lull. We had a little lull this year and everyone does at some point with how many races we have. This year we were able to turn it around quicker and I think that's what ultimately led to the championship."

Meyers wound up leading the series in fast times honors in 2010 and earned the most qualifying bonus points of any driver on the circuit, which helped propel him to the title. He won a career high number of races with 12 A mains and was the only driver on the series to win back-to-back races during 2010, accomplishing that feat three separate times. He had just one DNF (Did not finish) on the year, the least of any driver on the circuit, with that being a flat tire in the Kings Royal. He has now finished in the Top-Five in points six times in his career.

"Words can't describe how excited we are for this team and everybody involved," expressed Meyers. "We have been working at this a long, long time. Everyone talked all week about where we needed to finish to win the championship and we finally just told them we needed to go out and win just like we always try to. To come out and win both was unbelievable. Everyone worked so hard this weekend and all year long. Everyone works hard every single day, no matter what. It's just really, really incredible. I couldn't be happier for this entire team."

-source: er

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Kasey Kahne , Jason Meyers , Lucas Wolfe