Eagle Nationals Saturday report

STEVE KINSER CLAIMS 12TH ANNUAL EAGLE NATIONALS By Richard Day EAGLE, NE (July 1) - Steve Kinser knew he would have more decisions to make when he returned to the World of Outlaws and formed his own ...


EAGLE, NE (July 1) - Steve Kinser knew he would have more decisions to make when he returned to the World of Outlaws and formed his own sprint car racing team. So far, "The King of the Outlaws" has made all the right moves, including his decision to race in the Eagle Nationals. "After crashing at Huset's (Wednesday), we were going home," Kinser admitted after winning the Eagle Nationals' championship feature Saturday. "We drove 50 miles toward Indiana and figured, 'we've got a two-day show coming up, we're already here and we always run well at Eagle.' So we stuck around. It was sure worth the wait." Kinser, an eight-time winner at Eagle Raceway, waited until the 22nd lap to take the lead in the 40-lap feature. He passed Skoal Outlaw Series point standings leader Jac Haudenschild deep in the fourth corner and led the final 19 laps for his ninth victory of the year. Haudenschild, Friday's Preliminary Feature winner, started on the front row next to Snap-on Tools Dash winner Mark Kinser. Mark took the low road into the lead as the green flag fell in the "A" Feature, and kept the #5M Wirtgen Maxim ahead of the 24-car field during the first two laps. "The Wild Child" steered the #22 Pennzoil Maxim into the high groove in the second corner to pass Mark for first place midway through lap three, and caught the backmarkers two laps later. Steve passed Mark for the runner-up spot in turn three late in the fifth lap. Steve tried to pass Haudenschild for the lead in the first corner during the ninth and 10th laps, and Mark made it a three-car battle for first place the next time around. Andy Hillenburg and Dave Blaney joined the leaders during lap 13. With his pursuers battling for position in lapped traffic, "The Wild Child" opened an eight-car-length advantage late in the 15th lap. Blaney and Hillenburg relegated Mark to fifth place early in lap 17 as he slid out of the low groove to pass a backmarker. Mark came back the next time around and passed Hillenburg for fourth. Steve caught Haudenschild midway through the race, and steered his #11 Quaker State Maxim deep into the fourth corner to take the lead two laps later. "The Buckeye Bullet" brought out the first caution flag in the race early in lap 23 when oil leaking onto a header ignited a small fire in the #10 Vivarin J&J, forcing him to stop in turn two. As the race resumed, Mark hit the restart cone, forcing another restart and allowing Blaney to return to the race. Blaney raced two more laps before retiring to the pit area with a 19th-place finish. The 12 laps of green-flag racing following the caution featured Kinser, Haudenschild and Hillenburg racing less than two car-lengths apart. "The Wild Child" and Andy passed each other for the runner-up spot eight times before Hillenburg raced wheel-to-wheel with Kinser down the back straightaway midway through the 35th lap. Steve, Hillenburg and Chad Mellenberndt raced three-abreast through turn four, with Kinser retaining the lead by half a car-length with five laps remaining. Miles Grein stopped in turn four the next time around, setting up a four-lap dash to the checkered flag. As the race resumed, Kinser took the low line into the third corner, while Hillenburg steered his #2 STP J&J into the high groove. He slid too high, however, and Steve quickly put three car-lengths between them. Haudenschild passed Andy for second place in turn two with two laps remaining while Kinser increased his lead. "The Wild Child" was 10 car-lengths behind when Steve took the checkered flag. Hillenburg's third-place finish earned him his second Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award of the year. Rounding out the top 10 in the main event were Danny Lasoski, Jeff Swindell, Stevie Smith, Mark Kinser, Lance Blevins, Mellenberndt and Greg Hodnett. TNN: The Nashville Network is televising the Amoco Knoxville Nationals "Live in '95." Be sure to tune in for the August 19th telecast between 10 p.m. and midnight (EDT). WoO 1995 WORLD OF OUTLAWS/SKOAL OUTLAW SERIES 12th Annual Eagle Nationals, Eagle Raceway, Eagle, NE Saturday, July 1, Feature Program #36 Qualifications: 1. Randy Hannagan, Hannagan Racing 1x, 11.666; 2. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 11.677; 3. Danny Lasoski, Sonner 47, 11.725; 4. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 11.780; 5. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 11.791; 6. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 11.841; 7. Joe Gaerte, Hamilton 77, 11.913; 8. Chad Mellenberndt, Mellenberndt 97M, 11.953; 9. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21L, 12.001; 10. Don Droud Jr., Kormack 1BK, 12.108; 11. Tim Baker, Baker 29, 12.193; 12. Gus Wasson, Wasson 4G, 12.383; 13. Pat Bourke, B&B Excavating 27, 12.513; 14. Rich Brahmer, R&R Racing 26, 12.774; 15. Jeff Griffis, Morris 91, 12.821; 16. Todd Splain, Splain 1XT, 13.057; 17. Doug Martens, Martens 51, 13.077; 18. Rodney Droud, Droud 2T, 13.603; 19. Dan Marsh, 80, 14.324; 20. Rick Halverstadt, Halverstadt 69, 14.514; 21. Dwight Carter, Carter 4U, 14.774; 22. Miles Grein, Grein 38, 24.000; 23. Dennis Parker, Parker 3BK, no time; 24. Dan Kage Jr., Kage 26K, no time. First Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Joe Gaerte, 2. Randy Hannagan, 3. Stevie Smith, 4. Don Droud Jr., 5. Pat Bourke, 6. Rodney Droud, 7. Todd Splain, 8. Dwight Carter. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Andy Hillenburg, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Tim Baker, 4. Chad Mellenberndt, 5. Rich Brahmer, 6. Dennis Parker, 7. Doug Martens, 8. Dan Marsh. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Lance Blevins, 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Gus Wasson, 5. Jeff Griffis, 6. Miles Grein, 7. Rick Halverstadt, 8. Dan Kage, Jr. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Finishing 1-4 in Friday's Preliminary Feature automatically qualified Jac Haudenschild, Mark Kinser, Dave Blaney and Jeff Swindell for the first four starting positions in the Snap-on Tools Dash.

Snap-on Tools Dash (seven laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Jac Haudenschild, 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Dave Blaney, 5. Jeff Swindell, 6. Randy Hannagan. (finish determined the first six starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Doug Martens, 2. Rodney Droud, 3. Dennis Parker, 4. Todd Splain, 5. Miles Grein, 6. Dan Marsh ($210); 7. Dwight Carter ($185). (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (40 laps): 1. Steve Kinser ($9,010); 2. Jac Haudenschild ($5,000); 3. Andy Hillenburg ($3,310); 4. Danny Lasoski ($3,010); 5. Jeff Swindell ($2,250); 6. Stevie Smith ($2,085); 7. Mark Kinser ($1,800); 8. Lance Blevins ($1,710); 9. Chad Mellenberndt ($1,510); 10. Greg Hodnett ($1,410); 11. Randy Hannagan ($1,210); 12. Joe Gaerte ($1,110); 13. Tim Baker ($1,060); 14. Don Droud, Jr. ($1,010); 15. Jeff Griffis ($710); 16. Gus Wasson ($610); 17. Pat Bourke ($510); 18. Miles Grein ($530); 19. Dave Blaney ($500); 20. Rich Brahmer ($510); 21. Rodney Droud ($530); 22. Todd Splain ($530); 23. Dennis Parker ($530); 24. Doug Martens ($530). Lap leaders: Mark Kinser 1-2, Jac Haudenschild 3-21, Steve Kinser 22-40 Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner: Andy Hillenburg

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tim Baker , Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Gus Wasson , Randy Hannagan , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Jeff Swindell