Eagle Nationals Friday report

'WILD CHILD' TAKES EAGLE NATIONALS OPENER By Richard Day EAGLE, NE (June 30) - Drivers show their true colors when they're battling in a points race. Take Jac Haudenschild and Dave Blaney. While...

'WILD CHILD' TAKES EAGLE NATIONALS OPENER By Richard Day EAGLE, NE (June 30) - Drivers show their true colors when they're battling in a points race. Take Jac Haudenschild and Dave Blaney. While taking their turns leading the Skoal Outlaw Series point standings, they're enjoying the best year in their careers. Haudenschild won his second straight Preliminary Feature Friday when Eagle Raceway welcomed the World of Outlaws to the 12th Annual Eagle Nationals. Had the 25-lap race been extended, many of the fans in the near-capacity crowd believed Blaney might have passed runner-up Mark Kinser and "The Wild Child" for the $4,000 victory. "The track was in great shape," Haudenschild said of Eagle's high-banked, 1/3-mile oval. "It might have been too good, because it was hard to pass." The finely manicured racing surface was definitely an equalizer, as only 1.224 seconds separated fast-qualifier Mark Kinser and 23rd- quick Dwight Carter in time trials. Once he took the lead, however, "The Wild Child" was in control, lapping half of the 24-car field. Haudenschild, the fourth-fastest qualifier, received the luxury of starting the Vivarin Dash on the pole when Mark picked the #4 inversion pill after receiving his 13th EcoWater Fast-Time Award of the year. He beat Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race winner Andy Hillenburg across the finish line in the seven-lap race for the right to start the Preliminary Feature on the pole. "The Wild Child" burst into the lead as the green flag fell in the evening's main event. Andy caught him in turn one, and passed him in the second corner, however. Within three laps, Hillenburg entered lapped traffic, which proved to be his undoing. He was attempting to pass Don Droud, Jr., deep in the first corner the next time around when his #2 STP J&J bicycled up the bank, allowing Haudenschild to pass him for first place. Hillenburg kept racing with a damaged left front suspension, and Kinser passed him for the runner-up spot early in the fifth lap. The suspension problem worsened, forcing Hillenburg to stop in the second corner two laps later. Unable to continue, Andy was credited with a 17th-place finish. Blaney, who qualified a disappointing 10th-quick, started the Preliminary Feature on the fifth row. He blew into sixth place during the seventh-lap restart, however, and passed Greg Hodnett for fifth place late in lap nine. Haudenschild, the 1989 Eagle Nationals champion, was five car- lengths ahead of Kinser when he caught the backmarkers again midway through the race. He increased his advantage to 10 car-lengths by the 17th lap, only to have Mark catch him in heavy lapped traffic two laps later. "The Buckeye Bullet" was on the move, too, racing into third place by passing Joe Gaerte during the 15th lap and Jeff Swindell five laps later. He caught Mark with three laps remaining. As the white flag fell, Haudenschild, Kinser and Blaney raced into the first corner bumper-to-bumper. It was anybody's race before "The Wild Child" executed a daring move around Jeff Griffis in turn three to seal the victory. Mark and Blaney were three car-lengths behind when Haudenschild took the checkered flag. "We're starting to get things going again," Haudenschild said in victory lane. "We struggled for a while, but we're getting back to the way we ran earlier in the year." Swindell earned the final automatic starting position in Saturday's Snap-on Tools Dash by finishing in fourth place. Rounding out the top 10 in the Preliminary Feature were Gaerte, Steve Kinser, Hodnett, Lance Blevins, Stevie Smith and Danny Lasoski. Steve Kinser, a seven-time winner at Eagle Raceway, wasn't expected to compete in the Eagle Nationals after crashing his #11 Quaker State Maxim Wednesday at Huset's Speedway. When asked about the car's surprising appearance, crew chief Scott Gerken said, "The driver sent the car home, but the owner told us to come on back." TNN: The Nashville Network is televising the Amoco Knoxville Nationals "Live in '95." Be sure to tune in for the August 19th telecast between 10 p.m. and midnight (EDT). WoO 1995 WORLD OF OUTLAWS/SKOAL OUTLAW SERIES 12th Annual Eagle Nationals, Eagle Raceway, Eagle, NE Friday, June 30, Preliminary Program Qualifications: 1. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 11.391; 2. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 11.564; 3. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 11.573; 4. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 11.630; 5. Danny Lasoski, Sonner 47, 11.633; 6. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 11.655; 7. Joe Gaerte, Hamilton 77, 11.688; 8. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 11.736; 9. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21L, 11.738; 10. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 11.758; 11. Randy Hannagan, Hannagan 1x, 11.808; 12. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 11.877; 13. Chad Mellenberndt, Mellenberndt 97M, 11.956; 14. Don Droud, Jr., Kormack 1BK, 12.000; 15. Gus Wasson, Wasson 4G, 12.008; 16. Marlon Jones, Oswalt D1, 12.063; 17. Pat Bourke, B&B Excavating 27, 12.513; 18. Doug Martens, Martens 51, 12.540; 19. Jeff Griffis, Morris 91, 12.625; 20. Tim Baker, Baker 29, 12.790; 21. Mark Finnell, Finnell 1XT, 12.856; 22. Dennis Parker, Parker 3BK, 12.869; 23. Dwight Carter, Carter 4U, 14.615; 24. Rodney Droud, Droud 2T, no time. First Snap-on Tools Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Marlon Jones, 2. Chad Mellenberndt, 3. Jac Haudenschild, 4. Joe Gaerte, 5. Mark Kinser, 6. Dave Blaney, 7. Jeff Griffis, 8. Dennis Parker. (first eight qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Don Droud, Jr., 2. Jeff Swindell, 3. Randy Hannagan, 4. Pat Bourke, 5. Danny Lasoski, 6. Greg Hodnett, 7. Tim Baker, 8. Dwight Carter. (first eight qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Andy Hillenburg, 2. Stevie Smith, 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Gus Wasson, 5. Lance Blevins, 6. Doug Martens, 7. Rodney Droud, 8. Mark Finnell. (first eight qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Vivarin Dash (seven laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild, 2. Andy Hillenburg, 3. Mark Kinser, 4. Jeff Swindell, 5. Joe Gaerte, 6. Greg Hodnett, 7. Steve Kinser, 8. Danny Lasoski. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the Preliminary Feature) Preliminary Feature (25 laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild ($4,010); 2. Mark Kinser ($2,310); 3. Dave Blaney ($1,610); 4. Jeff Swindell ($1,410); 5. Joe Gaerte ($1,260); 6. Steve Kinser ($1,160); 7. Greg Hodnett ($1,110); 8. Lance Blevins ($1,060); 9. Stevie Smith ($1,035); 10. Danny Lasoski ($1,010); 11. Chad Mellenberndt ($910); 12. Randy Hannagan ($710); 13. Don Droud, Jr. ($610); 14. Marlon Jones ($510); 15. Tim Baker ($310); 16. Jeff Griffis ($310); 17. Andy Hillenburg ($260); 18. Rodney Droud ($260); 19. Mark Finnell ($260); 20. Dennis Parker ($260); 21. Pat Bourke ($260); 22. Gus Wasson ($260); 23. Dwight Carter ($260); 24. Doug Martens ($260). Lap leaders: Andy Hillenburg 1-3, Jac Haudenschild 4-25 EcoWater Fast-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tim Baker , Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Gus Wasson , Randy Hannagan , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Jeff Swindell