Chico Gold Cup finale at Silver Dollar Results

Haudenschild Wins Second Straight Gold Cup By Richard Day CHICO, CA (September 18) - What a difference a year can make. A year ago, Jac Haudenschild was enjoying the most successful year of his ...

Haudenschild Wins Second Straight Gold Cup By Richard Day CHICO, CA (September 18) - What a difference a year can make. A year ago, Jac Haudenschild was enjoying the most successful year of his sprint car racing career when he won his first Gold Cup Race of Champions title. Elden Racing has encountered many obstacles since - the #22 Maxim isn't even a regular with the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series this season - but that couldn't keep "The Wild Child" from defending the prestigious championship Saturday at Silver Dollar Speedway. "I have to congratulate my crew guys (Dave Kinnard, Dean "Bonzai" Bruns, and Ryan Krikke)," Jac said following his third "A" Feature victory of the year. "They got the car running good." Haudenschild, who led the final 33 laps to claim the $20,000 first prize a year ago, took the lead with 1 2/3 laps remaining when Jeff Swindell dodged a spinning Tim Kaeding between turns one and two. Finishing 11th in preliminary points put Haudenschild inside the sixth row at the start of the 40-lap main event. A collision involving front-row starters Andy Hillenburg and Sammy Swindell sent the #2 Luxaire J&J flipping down the front straightaway within seconds after the green flag fell, however. Jason Statler also flipped, while Tommy Tarlton, Brad Furr, Danny Lasoski, Stevie Smith and Johnny Herrera were also involved in the crash. Hillenburg and Smith were unable to restart, while Swindell took one lap and coasted into the pit area. The incident pushed Haudenschild up two rows into the seventh starting position. He moved up another row when Donny Schatz took the #15 Parker Stores Maxim for a spin in turn one on the ensuing restart. Brent Kaeding, the Gold Cup runner-up in 1997 and 1998, burst into the lead from the pole when the green flag replaced the yellow. "The Wild Child" passed Dale Blaney for fifth with an inside move between the first and second corners two laps later. Kaeding was approaching lapped traffic when Daryn Pittman stopped in turn two with a flat left front tire. Kevin Gobrecht challenged Kaeding for the lead as the race resumed, just seconds before Jeff Swindell passed him for the runner-up spot on the back stretch. "The King of California" was one car-length ahead of Swindell when he entered lapped traffic 12 laps into the race. Jeff caught Kaeding late in the 13th lap, and steered the #104+ Octane Boost J&J into the low groove in the second corner to take the lead the next time around. Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series points leader Mark Kinser, who led Danny Lasoski by only 22 points when the Gold Cup championship program started, exchanged 13th place with "The Dude" three times during the race's middle stages. Haudenschild passed Kaeding for the runner-up spot in turn one just seconds before Randy Tiner stopped in the second corner early in lap 27. Steve Kinser, who started inside the 11th row, drove his #11 Quaker State Maxim into the high groove in turn four to pass Brad Furr for fifth place one lap later. Statler spun over the bank in the fourth corner after colliding with Tiner late in the 30th lap. Dale Blaney hit an infield tire in turn one while Herrera spun in the third corner during the restart. Kinser was battling Kaeding when Schatz took the low line into turn two to take over fourth place early in lap 33. Swindell was three car-lengths ahead of Haudenschild when he caught the backmarkers again with five laps remaining. Tim Kaeding, who won Thursday's preliminary feature, turned a 360 ahead of Swindell between the first and second corners three laps later, and "The Wild Child" raced into the lead as Jeff took evasive action. "The wreck there at the beginning helped us out," Jac admitted. "It would have been a little tougher from 11th, but we got to start in the third row there when it was all sorted out. It was pretty close there going into (turns) one and two, then that lapped car (Kaeding) did a 360 and drove Jeff over the hill and about took us out too. I'm just glad to be here." Swindell held off Brent Kaeding for the runner-up spot, while Schatz beat Steve Kinser under the checkered flag by inches for fourth place. Completing the top 10 were Mark Kinser, Tim Shaffer, Jason Meyers, Lasoski and Gobrecht. Mark Kinser will take a 28-point lead over Lasoski into Tuesday's $42,100 event at Sweetwater Speedway in Rock Springs, WY. The Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series will sanction the Channellock Fall Classic at NAPA I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, NE, Friday and Saturday. TNN Motorsports will televise Saturday's race live starting at 9 p.m.eastern time. WoO

1999 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series 46th Annual Gold Cup Race of Champions Silver Dollar Speedway, Chico, CA Saturday, September 18, Feature Program #60 E Feature (10 laps): 1. Shane Scott, 2. Keith Collins, 3. Dave Clarke ($100); 4. Jimmy Trulli ($75); 5. Chris Scott ($50); 6. Chris Carter ($50); 7. Daniel Hood ($50); 8. Pat Desbiens ($50); 9. Dennis Harvey ($50); 10. Butch Bahr ($50); 11. Jim Marsh ($50); 12. Carl Enns ($50); 13. Dennis Farr ($50); 14. Mike Saber ($50). DNS - Pat Harvey. (first two qualified for the Vivarin D Feature) Vivarin D Feature (12 laps): 1. Kevin Cory, 2. Mark Cooper, 3. Mark Mackay ($100); 4. Danny Ochs ($75); 5. Kevin Lovell ($50); 6. Shane Scott ($75); 7. John McDonald ($50); 8. Korey Lovell ($50); 9. Jerry Bonnema ($50); 10. Roy Rasmussen ($50); 11. Beau Perkins ($50); 12. Ron Nicholson ($50); 13. Tim Sherman ($50); 14. Tony Souza ($50); 15. Eric Hopkins ($50); 16. Keith Collins ($75). (first two qualified for the NAPA Auto Parts C Feature) NAPA Auto Parts C Feature (15 laps): 1. Todd Bammer, 2. Jim Skinner, 3. Kyle Schild, 4. Andy Forsberg ($300); 5. Steve Fehrman ($250); 6. Lowell Moural, Jr. ($200); 7. Chad Hillier ($175); 8. Billy Wallace ($150); 9. Colby Weisz ($125); 10. Gary Willy ($100); 11. Steve Osbourne ($100); 12. Jeff Hallieb ($100); 13. Bryan Bullard ($100); 14. Kevin Cory ($150); 15. Mark Cooper ($150); 16. Jeff Young ($100). (first three qualified for the Channellock B Feature) Channellock B Feature (20 laps): 1. Steve Kinser, 2. Mark Kinser, 3. Greg DeCaires, 4. Randy Tiner, 5. Peter Murphy ($500); 6. Brooke Tatnell ($450); 7. Lee Brewer, Jr. ($400); 8. Lance Blevins ($350); 9. Eric Rossi ($325); 10. Jason York ($250); 11. Jason Solwold ($225); 12. Todd Bammer ($275); 13. Toni Lutar ($200); 14. Jim Skinner ($200); 15. Kyle Schild ($200); 16. Graydon Cross ($150); 17. Scooter Lambert ($150); 18. Johnny Rodriguez ($150). (first four qualified for the Championship Feature) Championship Feature (40 laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild ($20,000); 2. Jeff Swindell ($10,000); 3. Brent Kaeding ($5,500); 4. Donny Schatz ($4,600); 5. Steve Kinser ($3,520); 6. Mark Kinser ($2,780); 7. Tim Shaffer ($2,300); 8. Jason Meyers ($2,200); 9. Danny Lasoski ($2,150); 10. Kevin Gobrecht ($2,050); 11. Johnny Herrera ($2,025); 12. Kevin Pylant ($2,000); 13. Randy Hannagan ($1,500); 14. Dale Blaney ($1,400); 15. Tim Kaeding ($1,200); 16. Brad Furr ($1,100); 17. Daryn Pittman ($1,050); 18. Randy Tiner ($820); 19. Jason Statler ($700); 20. Greg DeCaires ($720); 21. Tommy Tarlton ($700); 22. Sammy Swindell ($700); 23. Andy Hillenburg ($700); 24. Stevie Smith ($700). Lap leaders: Brent Kaeding 1-13, Jeff Swindell 14-38, Jac Haudenschild 39-40 WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Tim Shaffer , Brad Furr , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Brooke Tatnell , Daryn Pittman , Jason Meyers , Randy Hannagan , Toni Lutar , Kevin Love , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Tim Kaeding , Jason Statler , Peter Murphy , Jason York , Andy Forsberg , Jeff Swindell