Cedar Lake report 96-07-10

Mark Kinser Wins EcoWater Event at Cedar Lake By Richard Day SOMERSET, WI (July 9) - Although the fans who packed Cedar Lake Speedway Tuesday had to wait an extra 24 hours for the Skoal Outlaw Series' "EcoWater Night...

Mark Kinser Wins EcoWater Event at Cedar Lake By Richard Day SOMERSET, WI (July 9) - Although the fans who packed Cedar Lake Speedway Tuesday had to wait an extra 24 hours for the Skoal Outlaw Series' "EcoWater Night at the Races," they were treated to one of the most exciting races of the season. Four lead changes by three drivers kept the $6,000 first prize in doubt throughout the final 20 laps before World of Outlaws points leader Mark Kinser emerged the winner for the 13th time this year. Mark had the #5M Wirtgen Maxim ahead of the 24-car field three different times and exchanged first place with cousin Steve Kinser and Sammy Swindell, a five-time winner at Cedar Lake. The $34,485 event, originally scheduled for Monday, was postponed due to inclement weather. Steve opened the festivities by slicing .036 seconds off Sammy's four-year-old qualifying record, circling Cedar Lake's high-banked, 3/8-mile oval in 11.716 seconds. The effort earned "The King of the Outlaws" his sixth EcoWater Quick-Time Award of the year. Mark won the Vivarin Dash for the right to start the "A" Feature on the pole, and burst into the lead as the green flag fell in the main event. He opened a five-car-length advantage within two laps, and caught the backmarkers three laps later. Swindell challenged Mark for the lead while Steve and Andy Hillenburg exchanged third place during the first eight laps. Mark was 10 car-lengths ahead of his closest pursuers when Steve passed Sammy for the runner-up spot midway through lap 18. Then Steve caught Mark in dense lapped traffic the next time around. Steve was ready to take over first place with a low move into the third corner four laps later when Mark pulled a wheelstand and maintained the lead. "The King of the Outlaws," winner of four World of Outlaws main events at Cedar Lake, steered his #11 Quaker State Maxim high in turn four to pass Mark for first place late in lap 24. Steve was six car-lengths ahead of his cousin when Jeff Swindell stopped the #7TW Gold Eagle Maxim in the first corner with a flat right rear tire two laps later. Out came the caution flag, tightening the field. Mark and Sammy challenged Steve for the lead until Mark regained first place with the same move Steve used to pass him four laps earlier. The leaders entered lapped traffic again during the 29th lap. Sammy roared back in the 30th and 31st laps, driving his #1 ChannelLock Gambler past Steve in turn two and taking the lead with a low move in the fourth corner. After making a run at the leader late in lap 33, Mark took the high line into turn three and jerked the #5M into the low groove in the fourth corner to regain the lead the next time around. The #15 Petro Truck Stores Gambler driven by Donny Schatz suffered a flat right rear tire early in the 39th lap. He stopped in turn two, bringing out the caution flag and setting up a two- lap dash to the checkered flag. Steve Kinser, Third Quaker State Heat Race winner Jac Haudenschild and Jim Carr also surrendered their running positions when their crews replaced their right rear tires during the caution period. The leaders were taking the checkered flag when a back- straightaway collision involving Steve and Second Quaker State Heat Race winner Stevie Smith sent the #71M EcoWater Maxim into a 360 spin. Both continued racing, with Steve finishing seventh and Smith coasting across the finish line in 12th place. The #47 Casey's General Stores Maxim suffered a flat tire during the final lap, forcing Johnny Herrera to stop on the back stretch. He was credited with a 13th-place finish. Following Mark and Sammy under the checkered flag in the "A" Feature were 13th-starting Dave Blaney, Hillenburg, Danny Lasoski, Joe Gaerte, Steve Kinser, Terry McCarl, Haudenschild and Jeff Swindell. Sammy's fifth runner-up run of the year pushed him from sixth to third place in the Skoal Outlaw Series point standings. WoO 1996 World of Outlaws/Skoal Outlaw Series "EcoWater Night at the Races" Cedar Lake Speedway, Somerset, WI Tuesday, July 9, Feature Program #34 Qualifications: 1. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 11.716 (new one- lap record); 2. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 11.766; 3. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 11.820; 4. Jim Carr, McCarr 7M, 11.928; 5. Terry McCarl, Gray 51, 12.003; 6. Joe Gaerte, Gaerte 3G, 12.033; 7. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 12.044; 8. Danny Lasoski, Forbrook 5, 12.045; 9. Johnny Herrera, Sonner 47, 12.056; 10. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 12.123; 11. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 12.142; 12. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 12.192; 13. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 12.260; 14. Joey Saldana, Stanton 75, 12.263; 15. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 12.393; 16. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21, 12.436; 17. Rich Bubak, Bubak 9, 12.544; 18. Brett Geldner, Geldner 1B, 12.587; 19. Jim Kouba, Kouba 2x, 12.922; 20. Jim Bruggeman, Bruggeman 54, 12.924; 21. Al Hargrave, Hargrave 8H, 13.104; 22. Cliff Koidahl, Botzek 10K, 13.138; 23. Matt Wasmund, Wasmund 4W, 13.173; 24. Tim Sernett, Sernett 5S, 13.227; 25. Brian Paulus, P&P Motorsports 28, 13.238; 26. Tony Normen, Sibet 45, 13.421; 27. Travis Whitney, Whitney 7S, 13.575; 28. Chuck Swenson, Swenson X, 13.590; 29. Butch Koziol, Koziol 3D, 13.858; 30. Glen Spooner, Spooner 31, 14.084; 31. Rich Sorem, Wertz 6x, 14.325. First Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Dave Blaney, 2. Lance Blevins, 3. Jeff Swindell, 4. Steve Kinser, 5. Andy Hillenburg, 6. Jim Carr, 7. Brian Paulus, 8. Chuck Swenson, 9. Jim Kouba, 10. Cliff Koidahl, 11. Rick Sorem. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Stevie Smith, 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Joey Saldana, 4. Rich Bubak, 5. Sammy Swindell, 6. Terry McCarl, 7. Tony Normen, 8. Jim Bruggeman, 9. Butch Koziol, 10. Matt Wasmund. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild, 2. Donny Schatz, 3. Joe Gaerte, 4. Mark Kinser, 5. Johnny Herrera, 6. Brett Geldner, 7. Travis Whitney, 8. Al Hargrave, 9. Glen Spooner, 10. Tim Sernett. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (seven laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Sammy Swindell, 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Andy Hillenburg, 5. Joe Gaerte, 6. Danny Lasoski, 7. Terry McCarl, 8. Jim Carr. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Jim Bruggeman, 2. Al Hargrave, 3. Matt Wasmund, 4. Brian Paulus, 5. Tony Normen, 6. Jim Kouba, 7. Cliff Koidahl ($210); 8. Travis Whitney ($185); 9. Butch Koziol ($160); 10. Chuck Swenson ($110); 11. Glen Spooner ($100); 12. Tim Sernett ($90); 13. Rick Sorem ($70). (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Mark Kinser ($6,010); 2. Sammy Swindell ($3,510); 3. Dave Blaney ($2,510); 4. Andy Hillenburg ($2,210); 5. Danny Lasoski ($2,110); 6. Joe Gaerte ($2,010); 7. Steve Kinser ($1,610); 8. Terry McCarl ($1,510); 9. Jac Haudenschild ($1,410); 10. Jeff Swindell ($1,310); 11. Jim Carr ($1,160); 12. Stevie Smith ($1,110); 13. Johnny Herrera ($1,060); 14. Joey Saldana ($1,010); 15. Rich Bubak ($710); 16. Lance Blevins ($510); 17. Donny Schatz ($410); 18. Jim Bruggeman ($430); 19. Matt Wasmund ($430); 20. Brett Geldner ($410); 21. Jim Kouba ($430); 22. Al Hargrave ($430); 23. Brian Paulus ($430); 24. Tony Normen ($430). Lap leaders: Mark Kinser 1-23, 28-30, 34-40; Steve Kinser 24-27; Sammy Swindell 31-33 EcoWater Quick-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Brian Paulus , Joey Saldana , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell