Cedar Lake: race report

Sammy Swindell wins Cedar Lake feature SOMERSET, WI (July 8) -- Although many scoffed at his decision, Dennis Roth knew exactly what he was doing when he hired Sammy Swindell to drive his ...

Sammy Swindell wins Cedar Lake feature

SOMERSET, WI (July 8) -- Although many scoffed at his decision, Dennis Roth knew exactly what he was doing when he hired Sammy Swindell to drive his #83jr Beef Packers Eagle on a part-time basis with the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series.

Swindell, whose 30 years of experience is unsurpassed in sprint car racing, put his vast knowledge of tires to good use Monday at Cedar Lake Speedway and claimed his first "A" Feature victory of the season. The three-time Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series champion battled Stevie Smith for 26 laps, then held off Mark Kinser for the $10,000 victory.

"Stevie was running a little different tire than we were," said Swindell, who has won at least one "A" Feature during each of the series' 25 years. "I could see he probably wasn't going to have enough to go all the way, so I just settled in and tried some things to try to conserve my tires. I was pretty concerned the last few laps with all the cautions. I knew I'd have to go because I had an open track in front of me, and I guess we did enough -- just barely -- to keep the tire the whole 30 laps.

"We've been in kind of a slump lately, and I think most of that's been because we haven't been able to qualify good enough to start up closer to the front. We've been getting closer and closer, and we've been working with a new team and some new cars that we just came out with a couple of weeks ago. I think we're pretty close right now, and hopefully we'll win some pretty big races here in the next month."

Swindell, the fifth-fastest qualifier in the 27-car field, earned the right to start the 30-lap main event on the pole by winning his third O'Reilly Auto Parts Dash of the year, and burst into the lead as the green flag fell. Dollansky, who started outside the front row, passed Swindell in the low groove entering the second corner, only to have Sammy regain the lead high in turn four.

Smith, who passed Brad Furr during the opening lap, took the inside line past Dollansky between the third and fourth corners late in lap three. Smith was one car-length behind Swindell when the leaders entered lapped traffic two laps later.

Smith drove the #11H Vivarin Maxim past Swindell as they headed into turn two early in the seventh lap. Daryn Pittman rode the rim around Dollansky in the fourth corner to take over third place one lap later.

Smith, Swindell, Pittman and Kinser raced nose-to-tail through dense lapped traffic midway through the race.

Swindell regained the lead with a high move around Smith in turn four late in the 20th lap. The 1990 Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year award winner raced wheel-to-wheel with Swindell through the first and second corners the next time around, but was unable to surge ahead. Kinser drove the #5M Mopar Maxim through the low groove between the third and fourth corners to pass Pittman for third place several seconds later.

Brandon Wimmer hit the wall in turn four and flipped late in the 26th lap. Smith surrendered second place when he pitted to replace his flat right rear tire during the red period. "B" Feature winner Shane Stewart, Tim Shaffer, Danny Wood, Second Heat Race winner Jac Haudenschild, Don Droud, Jr., and Justin Henderson crashed on the back straightaway within seconds after the race resumed.

Dollansky was challenging Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series points leader Steve Kinser for fourth place when mechanical problems forced Stewart to stop on the front straightaway with three laps remaining. Front suspension damage on the #21 Hop & Sac J&J cost Pittman third place as he stopped in turn four.

Donny Schatz, who started inside the sixth row, passed Furr for sixth place with an inside move between the third and fourth corners with 1 1/3 laps remaining.

Mark Kinser was four car-lengths behind when Swindell took the checkered flag in the 258th "A" Feature victory of his Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series career. It was Swindell's sixth victory at Cedar Lake Speedway. Swindell is the 13th driver to win a Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series main event this season.

Steve Kinser raced into the top three for the 10th time in the last 11 races. Dollansky finished in fourth place, ahead of Joey Saldana, Schatz, Furr, 14th-starting Randy Hannagan, Danny Lasoski and P.J. Chesson.

Steve Kinser sliced .014 seconds off the qualifying standard Swindell set two years ago, circling the high-banked, 3/8-mile oval in 11.425 seconds.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Brad Furr , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Daryn Pittman , Joey Saldana , Shane Stewart , P.J. Chesson , Jac Haudenschild