Canandaigua report 97-06-05

Herrera's Canandaigua Victory Climaxes NY Tour By Richard Day CANANDAIGUA, NY (June 5) - Johnny Herrera became the sixth different winner in the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' last six events Thursday when he ...

Herrera's Canandaigua Victory Climaxes NY Tour By Richard Day CANANDAIGUA, NY (June 5) - Johnny Herrera became the sixth different winner in the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' last six events Thursday when he recorded a flag-to-flag victory at Canandaigua Speedway. "We've been struggling all year, trying to get the Casey's General Stores Maxim to the front," Herrera said following his first "A" Feature victory of the year. "We've had all kinds of motor problems. We put a new motor in two nights ago, and you can see the results. We ran fourth last night (at Rolling Wheels) and we finally got one tonight." Herrera's $7,000 victory spoiled an otherwise perfect performance by Jac Haudenschild. "The Wild Child" earned his 10th Channellock Fast-Time Award of the year by circling Canandaigua's semi-banked, 1/2-mile oval in a track-record time of 14.773 seconds. He also passed five cars to win the First Heat Race and earned the right to start the 25-lap "A" Feature on the pole by winning the Vivarin Dash. Haudenschild and Herrera started the main event on the front row and raced side-by-side through most of the first lap before Herrera surged ahead in turn four. "The Wild Child" challenged Johnny for the lead until Third Heat Race winner Sammy Swindell started battling him for second place four laps into the race. Herrera was four car-lengths ahead of his closest pursuers when he entered lapped traffic during lap five. Johnny was lengthening his lead when a mechanical problem caused Dion Hindi to stop in the second corner two laps later. Herrera quickly opened a three-car-length advantage as Sammy challenged Haudenschild for the runner-up spot when the green flag replaced the yellow. Johnny caught the backmarkers again with a five car-length lead during the 12th lap. Swindell steered his #1 Channellock Gambler deep into turn four to pass Haudenschild for second place as Herrera maneuvered through dense lapped traffic with 10 laps remaining. Steve Kinser, winner of four World of Outlaws main events at Canandaigua, stopped on the back straightaway with a blown engine late in lap 17. Unable to continue racing, "The King of the Outlaws" was forced to settle for a 17th-place finish. After Swindell made a run at Herrera on the ensuing restart, Haudenschild drove the #22 Pennzoil Maxim past Sammy deep in the fourth corner. "The Wild Child" slid out of the low groove and over the cushion, however. Seeing that Haudenschild had lost traction, Swindell stood on the throttle and lifted the front of his #1 off the ground as he roared down the front straightaway to regain the runner-up spot. Haudenschild threaded the #22 between Swindell and the berm in turn two and won a back-straightaway drag race to regain second place the next time around. Herrera enjoyed a comfortable advantage during the final six laps and took the checkered flag with four car-lengths to spare. "This has been a long time coming," Herrera said. "Hopefully, this is a sign of better things to come. "I have to thank Gilly (car owner and crew chief Gil Sonner) and the whole crew. They've been working really hard. We've all been working hard, and now it's paying off." Swindell increased his lead in the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series drivers point standings with a third-place run. Dave Blaney finished fourth, ahead of Stevie Smith, Danny Lasoski, Greg Hodnett, Billy Pauch, 15th-starting Andy Hillenburg and Mark Kinser. Donny Schatz regained the lead in the World of Outlaws Rookie of the Year race when he finished 12th and Paul McMahan failed to qualify for the main event. A rear-end malfunction took McMahan out of the lead in the First Heat Race and he was running second in the "B" Feature when another mechanical problem forced him into the pits. WoO 1997 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Canandaigua Speedway, Canandaigua, NY Thursday, June 5, Feature Program #27 Qualifications: 1. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 14.773 (new one-lap record); 2. Johnny Herrera, Sonner 47, 14.943; 3. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 14.974; 4. Danny Lasoski, Wahlie 1W, 15.096; 5. Stevie Smith, Smith 19, 15.102; 6. Dave Blaney, Blaney/Hylton 10, 15.118; 7. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 15.120; 8. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 15.168; 9. Greg Hodnett, Helm 11H, 15.235; 10. Joe Gaerte, Gaerte 3G, 15.290; 11. Donnie Kreitz, Jr., Kreitz 69K, 15.310; 12. Billy Pauch, Zemaitis 1Z, 15.311; 13. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 15.335; 14. Todd Shaffer, Beam 88, 15.421; 15. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 15.475; 16. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 15.559; 17. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21, 15.658; 18. Tim Kuhn, Kuhn 2C, 15.739; 19. Dion Hindi, Hindi 11D, 15.750; 20. Craig Keel, Keel 8x, 15.814; 21. Paul McMahan, Stanton 75, 15.872; 22. Dave Ely, Ely 77E, 15.708; 23. Mike Woodring, Woodring 19W, 16.027; 24. Bob Bennett, Mickle 3, 16.142; 25. George Ely, Ely 7, 16.296; 26. Chuck Roan, Roan 22R, 16.378; 27. Mike Lauterborn, Lauterborn 41, 16.517; 28. Bobby Parrow, Parrow 9, 16.692; 29. Lee Sanders, Sanders 26, 16.698; 30. Lance Yonge, Yonge 17, 16.762; 31. Rob Hart, Hart 86, 16.930; 32. Christine Karns, Karns 65.5, 16.974; 33. Barry Knause, Knause 8, 17.491; 34. George Schuldt, Schuldt 03, 17.962. First Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Lance Blevins, 4. Stevie Smith, 5. Donny Schatz, 6. Lee Sanders, 7. George Ely, 8. Barry Knause, 9. Paul McMahan. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Joe Gaerte, 2. Dave Blaney, 3. Dave Ely, 4. Johnny Herrera, 5. Todd Shaffer, 6. Tim Kuhn, 7. Chuck Roan, 8. Lance Yonge, 9. George Schuldt. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Sammy Swindell, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Dion Hindi, 4. Donnie Kreitz, Jr., 5. Mike Woodring, 6. Andy Hillenburg, 7. Mike Lauterborn, 8. Rob Hart. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Fourth Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Jeff Swindell, 2. Billy Pauch, 3. Danny Lasoski, 4. Mark Kinser, 5. Craig Keel, 6. Bob Bennett, 7. Bobby Parrow, 8. Christine Karns. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild, 2. Johnny Herrera, 3. Danny Lasoski, 4. Sammy Swindell, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Dave Blaney, 7. Steve Kinser, 8. Mark Kinser. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Andy Hillenburg, 2. Bob Bennett, 3. Mike Lauterborn, 4. Tim Kuhn, 5. Lee Sanders ($200); 6. Lance Yonge ($180); 7. Bobby Parrow ($150); 8. Chuck Roan ($110); 9. Rob Hart ($90); 10. Barry Knause ($80); 11. Christine Karns ($60); 12. George Schuldt ($50); 13. Paul McMahan ($50); 14. George Ely ($50). (first four qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (25 laps): 1. Johnny Herrera ($7,000); 2. Jac Haudenschild ($4,000); 3. Sammy Swindell ($3,000); 4. Dave Blaney ($2,500); 5. Stevie Smith ($2,300); 6. Danny Lasoski ($2,200); 7. Greg Hodnett ($2,100); 8. Billy Pauch ($2,000); 9. Andy Hillenburg ($1,720); 10. Mark Kinser ($1,600); 11. Joe Gaerte ($1,200); 12. Donny Schatz ($1,150); 13. Lance Blevins ($1,100); 14. Todd Shaffer ($1,050); 15. Jeff Swindell ($1,000); 16. Tim Kuhn ($720); 17. Steve Kinser ($600); 18. Mike Lauterborn ($520); 19. Donnie Kreitz, Jr. ($500); 20. Dion Hindi ($500); 21. Dave Ely ($500); 22. Mike Woodring ($500); 23. Bob Bennett ($520); 24. Craig Keel ($500). Lap leader: Johnny Herrera 1-25 Channellock Fast-Time Award winner: Jac Haudenschild WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Paul McMahan , Billy Pauch , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell