Calistoga Speedway, 9/1-2 report

'Wild Child' Wins First Harvest Classic Prelim By Richard Day CALISTOGA, CA (September 2) -- There's something about California that brings out the best in Jac Haudenschild. "The Wild Child," who has...

'Wild Child' Wins First Harvest Classic Prelim
By Richard Day CALISTOGA, CA (September 2) -- There's something about California that brings out the best in Jac Haudenschild. "The Wild Child," who has recorded nine of his 37 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series "A" Feature victories in the Golden State, drove the #22 fetchOmatic Maxim past Joey Saldana late in the 13th lap Saturday to win the rain-delayed First Preliminary Feature at Calistoga Speedway. The Vivarin qualifying session, four NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Races, the CHANNELLOCK Dash and the "B" Feature were completed Friday before rain forced officials to postpone the 20-lap Preliminary Feature to Saturday. The $5,000 victory was Haudenschild's first in a Preliminary Feature this season. He won a Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series main event at Calistoga's semi-banked, 1/2-mile oval on September 10, 1989. Haudenschild, the 10th-fastest qualifier in the 33-car field, followed Stevie Smith across the finish line in the Second NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race and earned the right to start the Preliminary Feature outside the fifth row by finishing 10th in the CHANNELLOCK Dash. Saldana drove his #17 HEM Saw Eagle around pole-sitter Daryn Pittman in the fourth corner as the green flag fell in the Preliminary Feature. Smith, who started outside the second row, passed First NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race winner Greg Hodnett and Pittman to take over second place late in the opening lap. Haudenschild started making his way to the front from the beginning of the race, passing Andy Hillenburg, Danny Lasoski, Dale Blaney and Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner Mark Kinser during the first 1 1/2 laps. "The Wild Child" took the high line through turns three and four to pass defending Harvest Classic champion Sammy Swindell for fifth place late in the second lap. Lasoski relegated Swindell to seventh before Tim Shaffer took the #11H Vivarin Eagle for a spin in the second corner early in lap four. Haudenschild took advantage of the early caution period, passing Pittman for third place deep in turn four on the ensuing restart. Hodnett followed "The Wild Child" past Pittman for fourth. Hillenburg steered his #2 Luxaire J&J into the high groove one lap later and raced toward the front of the field during the next five. He passed Swindell in the second corner, then raced into fifth place with identical moves between turns three and four to pass Pittman and Hodnett. "The Wild Child" caught Saldana in lapped traffic early in lap 13 and passed him for the lead high in the fourth corner several seconds later. Saldana and Smith exchanged second place during the next three laps and raced nose-to-tail with Lasoski and Hillenburg throughout the 17th lap. Dean Jacobs' fourth-corner spin late in lap 19 set up a two-lap dash to the checkered flag. Hillenburg took the low line into turn two to pass Smith for fourth place as the green flag replaced the yellow. The leaders were less than half a lap from the finish line when Pittman spun in the second corner and collected Swindell, giving Saldana another chance to regain first place. Saldana was unable to keep pace with "The Wild Child" in the final restart, however, and was six car-lengths behind at the checkered flag. Saldana's runner-up run pushed him past Dale Blaney into sixth place in the point standings. Lasoski held off Hillenburg for third place. Smith finished fifth, ahead of 12th-starting Brian Paulus, Hodnett, Donny Schatz, Johnny Herrera and Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series points leader Steve Kinser. Kinser, who has won five "A" Features at Calistoga Speedway in his incomparable career, drove his #11 Quaker State Maxim past eight cars to finish in 10th place. Mark Kinser, Steve's second cousin, sliced .041 seconds off the qualifying standard he set at Calistoga Speedway three years ago. He received his series-leading 17th Vivarin Fast-Time Award for pacing the 38-car qualifying session with a 112.388 m.p.h. lap. Steve Kent won the "B" Feature, then raced into 14th place from outside the 11th row. WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Tim Shaffer , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Sammy Swindell , Brian Paulus , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Jac Haudenschild