Calistoga report 96-08-31

Smith Wins Second Harvest Classic Prelim By Richard Day CALISTOGA, CA (August 31) - Three years ago, Stevie Smith ruled California. He won four of the five Skoal Outlaw Series events during its annual tour...

Smith Wins Second Harvest Classic Prelim By Richard Day CALISTOGA, CA (August 31) - Three years ago, Stevie Smith ruled California. He won four of the five Skoal Outlaw Series events during its annual tour of the West Coast. The only race to escape him was Calistoga Speedway's Harvest Classic. Smith started making preparations to capture the Fourth Annual Harvest Classic Saturday when a near-capacity crowd returned to Calistoga. He dominated the World of Outlaws' second preliminary feature, leading all 20 laps from the pole and taking the checkered flag 10 car-lengths ahead of Steve Kinser, a five- time winner at Calistoga Speedway. "I'd like to thank 'Banzai' (Dean Bruns) and the rest of my crew for giving me such a good car tonight," Smith said. "The EcoWater Systems Maxim sure did run nice." The $4,000 victory was Stevie's first in a Skoal Outlaw Series preliminary feature since opening night at the Inaugural Iowa Ethanol Classic at Knoxville Raceway on June 21st. He last visited victory lane at Davenport Speedway following the Second Annual Big Muddy Classic on July 10th. World of Outlaws points leader Mark Kinser gave Smith the luxury of starting the Vivarin Dash outside the front row after earning his 35th EcoWater Quick-Time Award of the year. Kinser paced the 32-car field with a 16.353-second qualifying lap. Stevie took full advantage of the opportunity, beating polesitter Jeff Swindell across the finish line in the Vivarin Dash for the right to start the preliminary feature inside the front row. Smith burst into the lead as the green flag fell in the 20- lap feature. Sammy Swindell, who won a World of Outlaws main event at Calistoga in 1990, took the high line around Mark in turn one to take over fourth place early in the opening lap. Stevie had the #71M EcoWater Systems Maxim 10 car-lengths ahead of his closest pursuers as Steve Kinser challenged Jeff for the runner-up spot during lap three. He was entering lapped traffic with a half-straightaway advantage three laps later when Third Quaker State Heat Race winner Greg Hodnett and the #11H Selma Shell Maxim flipped in the second corner. Smith was on the move again when the green flag replaced the red, opening a six-car-length advantage within a lap. He returned to his half-straightaway comfort zone midway through the race, and caught the backmarkers again the next time around. Jeff, the 1994 Harvest Classic champion, narrowed the gap to eight car-lengths in dense lapped traffic while Sammy and the Kinser cousins battled for third place during lap 12. Two laps later, Andy Hillenburg's second flat tire in as many nights halted his run toward the front of the field. After surrendering eighth place, he raced back through the pack during the final six laps to finish 16th. "The King of the Outlaws" drove his #11 Quaker State Maxim past Jeff to take over the runner-up spot early in lap 16. Although he was a full straightaway behind Smith with two laps remaining, Kinser narrowed the gap in lapped traffic. Sammy passed brother Jeff during the final lap to claim third place, while Stevie maintained a comfortable advantage to the checkered flag. Although Jeff crossed the finish line in fourth place, he was disqualified when Skoal Outlaw Series officials determined the muffler on the #7TW Gold Eagle Maxim to be broken and separated from the header, making it illegal. He was credited with a 24th- place finish. Mark Kinser held off Dave Blaney to finish fourth, while Paul McMahan claimed sixth place for the second straight night. Completing the top 10 in the preliminary feature were Johnny Herrera, Jac Haudenschild, 14th-starting Lance Blevins and Bobby McMahan. WoO 1996 World of Outlaws/Skoal Outlaw Series Fourth Annual Harvest Classic Calistoga Speedway, Calistoga, CA Saturday, August 31, Preliminary Program #2 Qualifications: 1. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 16.353; 2. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 16.577; 3. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 16.662; 4. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 16.680; 5. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 16.693; 6. Paul McMahan, Roth 83, 16.762; 7. Johnny Herrera, Sonner 47, 16.802; 8. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 16.819; 9. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 16.859; 10. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 16.903; 11. Joe Gaerte, Gaerte 3G, 16.959; 12. Bobby McMahan, Lamar 3, 17.012; 13. Randy Hannagan, M&M Racing 2M, 17.026; 14. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21, 17.067; 15. Kevin Pylant, Pylant 14P, 17.079; 16. Tyler Walker, Walker 35, 17.133; 17. Joey Saldana, Stanton 75, 17.171; 18. Greg Hodnett, Helm 11H, 17.267; 19. Toni Lutar, Lutar 16, 17.334; 20. Sean Fenn, Fenn 36, 17.385; 21. Steve Coelho, Coelho 6C, 17.413; 22. Steve Kent, Toledo Brothers 3T, 17.416; 23. Jason Lund, Lund 8L, 17.420; 24. Johnny Rodriguez, Orth 24, 17.525; 25. Greg DeCaires, Williams 0, 17.609; 26. Keith Nafzger, B&N Motorsports 98, 17.674; 27. Jamie Cobbe, McMillan 2C, 17.684; 28. Brian Paulus, P&P Motorsports 28, 17.768; 29. Brian Coelho, Coelho 5C, 17.789; 30. Rob Johnson, Johnson 2D, 18.069. First Quaker State Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Randy Hannagan, 2. Jac Haudenschild, 3. Tyler Walker, 4. Johnny Herrera, 5. Mark Kinser, 6. Jeff Swindell, 7. Steve Kent, 8. Greg DeCaires, 9. Toni Lutar, 10. Brian Paulus. (first six qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Second Quaker State Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Joey Saldana, 2. Sammy Swindell, 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Dave Blaney, 5. Lance Blevins, 6. Joe Gaerte, 7. Jason Lund, 8. Sean Fenn, 9. Brian Coelho, 10. Keith Nafzger. (first six qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Third Quaker State Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Andy Hillenburg, 3. Kevin Pylant, 4. Bobby McMahan, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Paul McMahan, 7. Steve Coelho, 8. Johnny Rodriguez, 9. Jamie Cobbe, 10. Rob Johnson. (first six qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Stevie Smith, 2. Jeff Swindell, 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Mark Kinser, 5. Sammy Swindell, 6. Dave Blaney, 7. Paul McMahan, 8. Johnny Herrera. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the Preliminary Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Steve Coelho, 2. Sean Fenn, 3. Jason Lund, 4. Greg DeCaires, 5. Johnny Rodriguez, 6. Jamie Cobbe, 7. Toni Lutar ($160); 8. Keith Nafzger ($135); 9. Steve Kent ($110); 10. Brian Coelho ($85); 11. Brian Paulus ($70); 12. Rob Johnson ($60). (first six qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Preliminary Feature (20 laps): 1. Stevie Smith ($4,010); 2. Steve Kinser ($2,310); 3. Sammy Swindell ($1,610); 4. Mark Kinser ($1,410); 5. Dave Blaney ($1,260); 6. Paul McMahan ($1,160); 7. Johnny Herrera ($1,110); 8. Jac Haudenschild ($1,060); 9. Lance Blevins ($1,035); 10. Bobby McMahan ($1,010); 11. Joe Gaerte ($910); 12. Tyler Walker ($710); 13. Steve Coelho ($630); 14. Greg DeCaires ($530); 15. Kevin Pylant ($310); 16. Andy Hillenburg ($310); 17. Joey Saldana ($260); 18. Johnny Rodriguez ($280); 19. Randy Hannagan ($260); 20. Jason Lund ($280); 21. Jamie Cobbe ($280); 22. Sean Fenn ($280); 23. Greg Hodnett ($260); 24. Jeff Swindell ($260). Lap leader: Stevie Smith 1-20 EcoWater Quick-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Johnny Rodriguez , Tyler Walker , Brian Paulus , Joey Saldana , Paul McMahan , Randy Hannagan , Toni Lutar , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Bobby McMahan , Jeff Swindell
Teams Williams