Calistoga: Harvest Classic second prelim report

'Dude' records clean sweep in Calistoga Preliminary CALISTOGA, CA (August 30) -- Danny Lasoski recorded the first preliminary clean sweep in O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series history Saturday at Calistoga Speedway while winning Second ...

'Dude' records clean sweep in Calistoga Preliminary

CALISTOGA, CA (August 30) -- Danny Lasoski recorded the first preliminary clean sweep in O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series history Saturday at Calistoga Speedway while winning Second Preliminary Feature at the 11th Annual Harvest Classic.

Sammy Swindell and Steve Kinser have set quick time while winning a heat race, a dash race and an "A" Feature in single-program events, but "The Dude" is the first in the series 25 ½-year history to sweep a preliminary program. Lasoski's second straight preliminary victory pushed him to within two points of Kinser in the O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series point standings as "The King of the Outlaws" finished 23rd for the second straight time.

"I can't remember the last time we had a clean sweep, but I owe everything to (car owner) Tony Stewart and (crew chief) Jimmy Carr," Lasoski said. "Jimmy chose the tires for us tonight, and then we think we broke a rocker arm during the heat race. My guys did a great job getting us back up and running for the dash. We put a little harder Hoosier tire on for the feature, and it did the job for us.

"That 11 team (Kinser) has been tough to beat the whole year. I'd be lying if I said I didn't look at the points, but I try not to. We just try to come out and win every race, and hope that the points take care of themselves. Tony told me to call him tonight no matter what time it is, and so we'll have to call him and tell him that we got another one at his favorite California track."

Lasoski paced the qualifying session with a 109.376-M.P.H. lap around Calistoga's semi-banked, ½-mile oval, then passed five cars to win the First Heat Race. His crew replaced the engine in the #20 J.D. Byrider Eagle following the heat race, then "The Dude" led all five laps in the First Dash Race for the privilege of starting the 25-lap feature on the pole.

Lasoski, the 2000 Harvest Classic champion, burst into the lead as the green flag fell in the Preliminary Feature. Kinser passed Swindell on the front straightaway, but Sammy regained second place with a high move into turn two several seconds later.

"The Dude" was seven car-lengths ahead of Swindell when he entered lapped traffic during the seventh lap. Swindell, who has won three O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series main events at Calistoga Speedway, narrowed the gap to two car-lengths in dense lapped traffic late in lap 12.

Swindell stopped on the back straightaway two laps later, however, when the left side panel on the #1 Ore-Cal/Beef Packers J&J's top wing broke. His crew replaced the wing, and Sammy restarted at the rear of the field. Randy Hannagan surrendered sixth place during the caution period when his crew replaced his flat right rear tire.

Jason Meyers took the low line through the fourth corner to pass Kinser for second place late in the 16th lap. "The King of the Outlaws" was trying to catch Meyers the next time around when his right rear tire lost air pressure, sending his #11 Quaker State Maxim crashing into the retaining wall in turn three. Kinser was uninjured in the crash, but the severe damage to his car kept him from returning to the race.

Lasoski controlled the restart and was approaching lapped traffic again when Jac Haudenschild's nose wing collapsed, causing him to spin in the fourth corner late in lap 20.

Donny Schatz, who started inside the fifth row, drove his #15 Parker Stores J&J past Second Heat Race winner Tim Shaffer in the low groove between turns one and two as the race resumed to claim fourth place.

"The Dude" was 12 car-lengths ahead of Meyers when he took the checkered flag in his fourth Preliminary Feature victory of the season. The $5,000 victory gave Lasoski the preliminary points lead and the pole position in Sunday's Dash Race.

Joey Saldana and Schatz finished third and fourth for the second straight night. Shaffer finished in fifth place, ahead of Third Heat Race winner Paul McMahan, Daryn Pittman, Brad Furr, Johnny Herrera and Jonathan Allard.

Herrera was leading the First Heat Race when Guy Forbrook's #5 MPD Hand Controls/ Wirtgen America Maxim suffered a blown engine. Herrera won the "B" Feature, then passed nine cars to finish ninth in the evening's main event.

Mechanical problems in the #7S Aramark Maxim cost Jason Sides a transfer position in the Third Heat Race. The Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year candidate finished second in the "B" Feature and raced into 11th place from inside the ninth row in the Preliminary Feature.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tony Stewart , Tim Shaffer , Brad Furr , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Daryn Pittman , Jason Meyers , Jason Sides , Joey Saldana , Jonathan Allard , Paul McMahan , Randy Hannagan , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera