2014 World of Outlaws sprint car season: Numbers tell the story

Record-breaking performance by Donny Schatz headlines the year.

The 2014 World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series season drew to a close at World Finals. Daryn Pittman and Brian Brown scored the final two wins of the year as Donny Schatz (in photo) wrapped up his sixth series championship.

From the end of full-time Outlaws competition for two legends, Steve Kinser and Sammy Swindell, to the first wins of seven different drivers, the 2014 season is defined in part by the numbers.

--11,236 - the number of points Steve Kinser scored during his 1991 championship run - the previous record for the most points ever scored in a single season. In 2014, Donny Schatz broke that record with 12,427 points.

--173 - the total number of career World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series wins for Donny Schatz.

--98 - the percentage of events completed during the 2014 World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series season. There were only two rainouts all season.

--88 - the number of features completed during the 2014 season.

--49 - the car number for Brad Sweet, the 2014 Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year

--26 - the number of wins Donny Schatz has accumulated throughout the season. It is the winningest single season of his career.

--24 - the number of quick times Joey Saldana has scored during the 2014 season

--24 - the number of different winners during the 2014 season - a record for the series.

--20 - This season was the first since Steve Kinser's 2002 and 2003 seasons that the series has seen a driver score back-to-back 20+ win seasons.

--6 - the number of World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series championships Donny Schatz has accumulated throughout his career.

--7 - the number of first-time winners during the 2014 season (Rico Abreu, Christopher Bell, Ryan Smith, Carson Macedo, Roger Crockett, Jonathan Allard and Brian Brown).

--3 - Donny Schatz's position on the list of winningest drivers in series history

--2 - the number of high-profile retirements this season. The two winningest drivers in the series history, Steve Kinser and Sammy Swindell wrapped up their full-time driving careers in 2014.

--.005 - Kerry Madsen's win margin over Kyle Hirst at Antioch Speedway - the closest finish in Outlaw history.

SEASON WINNERS: Donny Schatz - 26 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 15, The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 6, Devil's Bowl Speedway on April 19, Lawrenceburg Speedway on May 27, I-96 Speedway on May 31, River Cities Speedway on June 20, 34 Raceway on June 27, Cedar Lake Speedway on June 29, Lernerville Speedway on July 15, Autodrome Drummond on July 26, Cornwall Motor Speedway on July 27, Ohsweken Speedway on July 29, Knoxville Raceway on Aug. 9, Junction Motor Speedway on Aug. 12, Nodak Speedway on Aug. 17, Castrol Raceway on Aug. 22 and Aug. 23, Skagit Speedway on Aug. 29 and Aug. 30, Grays Harbor Raceway on Sept. 1, Kokomo Speedway on Sept. 16, Terre Haute Action Track on Sept. 17, Bloomington Speedway on Sept. 26, Berlin Raceway on Sept. 27, Rolling Wheels Raceway Park on Oct. 12, Fremont Speedway on Oct. 19); Daryn Pittman - 14 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 14, Calistoga Speedway on April 6, Devil's Bowl Speedway on April 19, Williams Grove Speedway on May 16 and May 17, Orange County Fair Speedway, May 18, New Egypt Speedway, May 20, Dodge City Raceway Park on July 4 and 5, Lincoln Speedway on July 17, Fulton Speedway on July 23, River Cities Speedway on Aug. 15, Southern Oregon Speedway on Sept. 3 and The Dirt Track at Charlotte on Nov. 7); Joey Saldana - 7 (Perris Auto Speedway on April 12, Salina Highbanks on April 25, The Dirt Track at Charlotte on May 23, I-80 Speedway on June 6, Jackson Speedway on June 13, Eldora Speedway on Sept. 19 and Lernerville Speedway on Sept. 20); Kerry Madsen - 6 (Stockton Dirt track on March 22, El Paso Speedway Park on April 15, Lakeside Speedway on June 7, Eldora Speedway on July 12 and Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 on Aug. 3 and Antioch Speedway on Sept. 8); David Gravel - 5 (Merced Speedway on March 28, Eldora Speedway on May 3, Wilmot Raceway on May 9, Lebanon Valley Speedway on July 20 and Williams Grove Speedway on Oct. 5); Paul McMahan - 5 (The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 5, Tri-State Speedway on May 10, Limaland Motorsports Park on July 9, Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 on Aug. 1 and Deer Creek Speedway on Sept. 13); Brad Sweet - 5 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 14, Tucson International Raceway on March 8, Calistoga Speedway on April 5, Knoxville Raceway on June 14 and Beaver Dam Raceway on June 28); Cody Darrah - 2 (Kings Speedway on April 11 and Lernerville Speedway on July 15); Shane Stewart - 2 (Eldora Speedway on May 2 and Willamette Speedway on Sept. 2);Sammy Swindell - 2 (Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 on April 26 and Eldora Speedway on July 11);Rico Abreu - 1 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 15); Jonathan Allard - 1 (Silver Dollar Speedway, Sept. 6); Christopher Bell - 1 (Jacksonville Speedway on May 7); Brian Brown - 1 (The Dirt Track at Charlotte on Nov. 9); Dale Blaney - 1 (Attica Raceway Park on May 30); Roger Crockett - 1 (I-94 Speedway on June 21); Lance Dewease - 1 (July 20 at Williams Grove Speedway); Greg Hodnett - 1 (July 18 at Williams Grove Speedway); Mark Dobmeier - 1 (Huset's Speedway on July 2); Kraig Kinser - 1 (Clay County Fair Speedway on Sept. 12);Steve Kinser - 1 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 16); Carson Macedo - 1 (Silver Dollar Speedway on Sept. 5); Ryan Smith - 1 (Port Royal Speedway on Oct. 25); Stevie Smith - 1 (Lincoln Speedway on May 14).


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Brian Brown , Daryn Pittman , Joey Saldana , Jonathan Allard , Kerry Madsen , Kraig Kinser , Paul McMahan , Shane Stewart , Ryan Spencer-Smith , Brad Sweet , Rico Abreu , Christopher Bell , Cody Darrah , Kyle Hirst , Roger Crockett , David Gravel
Teams Williams
Article type Race report
Tags sprint car, world of outlaws