2006 Brad Doty Classic will have new look

World of Outlaws Invading Limaland Motorsports Park for Brad Doty Classic Norman, OK -- Feb. 4, 2006 -- The Brad Doty Classic honors one of sprint car racing's legendary drivers. A huge fan favorite and a commentator during World of Outlaws...

World of Outlaws Invading Limaland Motorsports Park for Brad Doty Classic

Norman, OK -- Feb. 4, 2006 -- The Brad Doty Classic honors one of sprint car racing's legendary drivers. A huge fan favorite and a commentator during World of Outlaws events on The Outdoor Channel, Doty has dedicated his life to the sport of sprint car racing.

In 2006, the 18th annual running of his race will have a whole new look. For the second consecutive year, the World of Outlaws Sprint Series will sanction the July 12 event featuring a $51,600 purse, but for the first time Limaland Motorsports Park in Lima, Ohio, will be the host facility and an autograph session at 4:30 p.m. featuring several Mean 15 racers will get the night rolling. Advance ticket information for the event will be available Feb. 10 at http://www.limaland.com.

Doty will be busy that night, too. He'll be making an attempt to meet and greet as many fans as possible before calling the action on the quarter-mile oval with John Gibson for The Outdoor Channel broadcast of the event later in July.

"When Brad contacted us about the possibility of moving the race to Limaland Motorsports Park we were truly honored," said Dr. Jeff Jarvis, President of Limaland Motorsports Park. "The fact that the World of Outlaws have not competed at Limaland Motorsports Park in more than 20 years, and that The Outdoor Channel will be televising the event nationally, makes the Brad Doty Classic our premier event for our 2006 season."

The team Jarvis has assembled at Limaland and the facility's avenues for marketing and promotion were major reasons Doty decided to move his race there in 2006.

"Gene Frankhart was one of the original groups of promoters from the early days when Attica Raceway Park opened and when the Brad Doty Classic started back in 1989," said Doty, who was the runner-up in the 1987 World of Outlaws championship and had 11 main-event victories in his career with the Outlaws. "He continued to promote Attica Raceway Park and the Brad Doty Classic throughout the years and even after he sold the track he stayed involved with the race in one way or another. Frankhart was recently hired by Limaland Motorsports Park to oversee track preparations and with Gene's history and involvement in the Brad Doty Classic, along with the management changes at Attica Raceway Park, meant that moving the race to Limaland Motorsports Park would also allow him to stay involved. Because of scheduling and sponsorship negotiations the decision to move the race had to be made within a short time frame and Limaland Motorsports Park promoter Dr. Jeff Jarvis, General Manager Bob Fricke and I agreed to continue the race in 2006 at Limaland Motorsports Park.

"The folks at Limaland Motorsports Park have great marketing and promotional capabilities, not only through the racetrack but through the University of Northwestern Ohio as well. I am excited and looking forward to working with them. They have totally revitalized the facility and for those who have never been there or haven't seen it in many years like myself, they won't believe the improvements. With those high banks on that tight quarter-mile track, I know it will be one heck of a race."

The impressive lineup of drivers competing in the 2006 World of Outlaws Sprint Series Mean 15 includes 2005 top-10 racers Craig Dollansky, Donny Schatz, Daryn Pittman, Terry McCarl and Brooke Tatnell, along with returning Outlaws stars Jac Haudenschild, Randy Hannagan and Dion Hindi as well as the Woodring Racing team featuring long-time sprint car star Kenny Jacobs and rookie Becca Anderson.

Many of sprint car racing's newest stars also are featured in the 2006 Mean 15, including Jeremy Campbell, who comes to the Outlaws after a successful run with the All Star Circuit of Champions series; Brian Carlson, who is a respected long-time racer and former World of Outlaws competitor; Justin Henderson, who has starred as a weekly racer at historic Knoxville Raceway and Huset's Speedway; Chad Kemenah, who earned his first Outlaws victory in 2005 while also capturing his fourth consecutive All Star title; and Jason Martin, who is only 23 but already has 57 wins in his career with several series.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Donny Schatz , Craig Dollansky , Kenny Jacobs , Brian Carlson , Brooke Tatnell , Daryn Pittman , Randy Hannagan , Becca Anderson , Jac Haudenschild , Chad Kemenah , John Gibson