2005 "Mean 15 Racers" announced

DIRT MotorSports Unveils the 2005 World of Outlaws Sprint Series Mean 15 Racers Bakersfield, CA -- February 26, 2005 -- By Chris Dolack, World of Outlaws Senior Writer The World of Outlaws Sprint Series has represented the best of dirt track...

DIRT MotorSports Unveils the 2005 World of Outlaws Sprint Series Mean 15 Racers

Bakersfield, CA -- February 26, 2005 -- By Chris Dolack, World of Outlaws Senior Writer

The World of Outlaws Sprint Series has represented the best of dirt track sprint car racing since 1978. For years, racers measured themselves and their equipment by competing against many of the legends and rising stars of the sport that competed under the World of Outlaws banner.

This season will be no different. DIRT MotorSports has reached agreements with an impressive collection of 15 racers to comprise the second year of its Mean 15 that will drive in more than 90 races by the time the season concludes in late October. From former champions such as Steve Kinser and Danny Lasoski to Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year contender Brandon Wimmer, the 2005 Mean 15 will no doubt thrill packed grandstands as it has since the series was founded.

"I think DIRT has done a wonderful job overcoming the adversity of trying to take the series over and getting through some of the problems that were there," said Craig Dollansky, who is second in points after four features this season. "I see nothing but positives. I think they've done a great job and I look forward to being a part of the Mean 15 once again."

Therefore, the Mean 15 for 2005 will feature the following racers:

* Craig Dollansky. A Minnesota native driving for Karavan Motorsports, Dollansky returned from a serious injury in 2003 to finish fourth in points in 2004.

* Tim Kaeding. A veteran California racer, Kaeding joins the Mean 15 this year by virtue of his success last year for owner Dennis Roth.

* Kraig Kinser. Driving a car owned by his father, Steve, Kraig Kinser earned his first career Outlaws victory Aug. 31, 2004, before winning the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award.

* Mark Kinser. A two-time series champion from Oolitic, Ind., Mark Kinser takes over the Rick Wright-owned machine in 2005.

* Steve Kinser. A 19-time champion from Bloomington, Ind., simply known as the King of the Outlaws, owner-driver Steve Kinser earned his 500th career "A" Feature victory in March 2004 and won a feature earlier this month at Volusia Speedway Park.

* Danny Lasoski. The 2001 champion, Lasoski was the runner-up to Steve Kinser last season in a car owned by NASCAR star Tony Stewart. Lasoski has become the master of the Knoxville Nationals, having won the prestigious event the past two years and four times since 1998.

* Paul McMahan. A Californian now living in Nashville, Tenn., McMahan is a proven winner on the circuit in his David Helm-owned car.

* Jason Meyers. A Californian destined to be a force with the Outlaws, Meyers has consistently climbed through the ranks to finish fifth in points last season while driving for Elite Racing.

* Brian Paulus. A Pennsylvanian, Paulus scored five top-five finishes last season, including a fourth-place run the Kings Royal and a third in the 1/3-mile Short Track Nationals, in a car owned by P & P Motorsports.

* Daryn Pittman. An Oklahoman who has enjoyed success with the Outlaws through the years, Pittman is racing for Australian car owner Reeve Kruck in 2005.

* Joey Saladana. A Brownsburg, Ind., racer, Saladana is consistently a top performer with the Outlaws, having won three "A" Features in 2004 in his Larry Woodward-owned car.

* Donny Schatz. A Fargo, N.D., star and former series top rookie, Schatz pushed Kinser and Lasoski last year to finish third in points in his family-owned car. He won the 2004 finale at Las Vegas and captured the 2005 season-opening Outlaws Down Under II.

* Tim Shaffer. An Aliquippa, Pa., native and a former top rookie who switched teams in midseason last year is in his first full year behind the wheel of the Lonny Parsons-owned machine, which he put in Victory Lane Friday night at Thunderbowl Raceway.

* Jason Sides. A Bartlett, Tenn., racer who won the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award in 2003, Sides took the checkered flag in the Kings Royal at Eldora Speedway last season in his Sides Motorsports machine.

* Brandon Wimmer. An 18-year-old Fairmount, Ind., native, Wimmer joins the Mean 15 in his Wimmer-Luck Motorsports machine even though he won't graduate from high school until May. The grandson of legendary owner Tom Wimmer, Brandon already is an experienced sprint car racer, having set the single-lap record last summer at La Salle Speedway.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tony Stewart , Tim Shaffer , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Craig Dollansky , Brian Paulus , Daryn Pittman , Jason Meyers , Jason Sides , Kraig Kinser , Paul McMahan , Tim Kaeding