Porsches on front row in Sao Paulo

Aston Martin dominates GT qualifying for FIA World Endurance Cup finale.

To no one’s surprise, Porsche took the top two qualifying spots for the Six Hours of Sao Paulo at Interlagos in Brazil, after being consistently fastest in qualifying for the FIA World Endurance Championship finale.

Quickest was the number 20 Porsche 919 Hybrid driven by Timo Bernard, Mark Webber and Brendan Hartley with an average of 1 minute, 17.676 seconds, a tick faster than the number 14 LMP1 team Porsche at 1:17.783. That car is piloted by Neel Jani, Romain Dumas and Marc Leib.

Close behind in third was the number 8 Toyota TS 40 Hybrid of Anthony Davidson and Sebastein Buemi at 1:18.070, followed by the number 2 Audi e-tron Quattro of Marcel Fassler, André Lotterer and Benoit Treluyer at 1:18.889. Next was the number 7 Toyota, then the number 1 Audi.

The Rebellion R1 Toyota of Nicolas Prost, Nick Heidfeld and Mathias Beche qualified seventh as the fastest LMP1-L entry.

In LMP2, the Ligier Nissan JS P2 of Roman Rusinov, Olivier Pla and Julien Cana had a time of 1:24.463, beating out three Oreca 03R Nissans.

Astons up front in GT

In LMGTE Pro, again the result was not surprising based on practice times: The number 97 Aston Martin Vantage V8 of Darren Turner and Stefan Mucke clocked an average of 1:30.111. A close second was the number 92 Porsche 911 RSR of Patrick Pilet and Frédéric Makowiecki.

In LMGTE Am, it was another Aston: The number 98 of Paul Dalla Lana, Pedro Lamy and Christoffer Nygaard with an average of 1:30.401. Close behind was the number 95 team Aston Martin. The balance of the GTE class was made up of Ferraris and Porsches.

Qualifying 23rd was the LMGTE Am Ferrari 458 Italia of Jeff Segal, Alessandro Pier Guidi, and making his comeback from retirement, Emerson Fittipaldi. Their time was 1:31.057.

Twenty-six cars took time in the 25-minute session in preparation for Sunday’s 1 p.m. race.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WEC
Event Sao Paulo
Track Autódromo José Carlos Pace
Drivers Mark Webber , Nick Heidfeld , Andre Lotterer , Anthony Davidson , Darren Turner , Pedro Lamy , Marcel Fassler , Timo Bernhard , Benoit Tréluyer , Emerson Fittipaldi , Romain Dumas , Neel Jani , Olivier Pla , Jeff Segal , Roman Rusinov , Stefan Mücke , Patrick Pilet , Frédéric Makowiecki , Alessandro Pier Guidi , Nicolas Prost , Paul Dalla Lana , Christoffer Nygaard , Mathias Beche
Teams Nissan Motorsport
Article type Qualifying report
Tags interlagos, sao paulo, wec fia