Porsche leads all in wet FP2

On a treacherous track, Porsche topped the time sheets in the second WEC free practice session for this weekend's 6 Hours of Spa.

As per the first session, the track was fully wet and times at the end of the session were over 10 seconds slower than the earlier 90-minute session, in which Porsche also came out on top.

The #19 Porsche 919 Hybrid of Nico Hulkenberg, Earl Bamber and Nick Tandy emerged fastest with a 2m25.495s lap as all the teams continued to tentatively explore wet set-ups. Earl Bamber set the best time in the third entered Porsche.

Timo Bernhard’s time of 2m25.984 in the #17 Porsche 919 Hybrid ensured a 1-2 for the Weissach-based manufacturer. Only Andre Lotterer in the #7 Audi R18 e-tron quattro denied Porsche a 1-2-3.

LMP2 leaders

Strakka Racing continued to use their superior Michelin wet tyres to maximum effect at Spa and again set the best LMP2 class time. Danny Watts completed a 2m34.370s lap to head the JOTA Sport Gibson-Nissan of Harry Tincknell, Mitch Evans and Simon Dolan by half a second.

GTE classes

Porsche again confirmed its superiority in wet conditions as they again topped the timing screens. This time it was the #92 Porsche Team Manthey 911 RSR fastest with Richard Lietz setting a 2m37.058s lap to beat the No.99 Aston Martin Racing entry driven by Kiwi racer Richie Stanaway.

The AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia of Emmanuel Collard, Francois Perrodo and Rui Aguas claimed honours in LMGTE Am, with Aguas completing the fastest time on a 2m41.645s.

Those not taking part

Several entries did not take part in the session, including both of the casualties from this morning’s incident between the #1 Toyota TS 040 HYBRID and the #8 Audi. Toyota face an all-night effort to ready a new while Audi is working on the rear of the car which took the brunt of the collision.

Joining these two on the sidelines were the #30 Tequila Patron ESM and #35 Oak Racing Ligiers.

A final 60-minute Free Practice session takes place tomorrow afternoon before qualifying at 18.00 local time.

Pos   Drivers  Car  Time/Gap 
Nico Hulkenberg
Earl Bamber
Nick Tandy
Porsche 2m25.495
Timo Bernhard
Mark Webber
Brendon Hartley
Porsche 0.489
Marcel Fassler
Andre Lotterer
Benoit Treluyer
Audi 0.688
Romain Dumas
Neel Jani
Marc Lieb
Porsche 1.226
Filipe Albuquerque
Marco Bonanomi
Rene Rast
Audi 2.561
Alexander Wurz
Stephane Sarrazin
Mike Conway
Toyota 3.237
Nick Leventis
Danny Watts
Jonny Kane
Dome/Nissan 8.875
Simon Dolan
Mitchell Evans
Harry Tincknell
Gibson/Nissan 9.352
Roman Rusinov
Julien Canal
Sam Bird
Ligier/Nissan 11.076
10  Gustavo Yacaman
Pipo Derani
Ricardo Gonzalez
Ligier/Nissan 11.143
11  Frederic Makowiecki
Richard Lietz
Porsche 11.563
12  Alex MacDowall
Fernando Rees
Richie Stanaway
Aston Martin 11.861
13  Darren Turner
Stefan Mucke
Rob Bell
Aston Martin 11.933
14  Gianmaria Bruni
Toni Vilander
Ferrari 12.222
15  Sven Muller
Kevin Estre
Porsche 12.722
16  Davide Rigon
James Calado
Ferrari 12.806
17  Christopher Nygaard
Marco Sorensen
Jonathan Adam
Aston Martin 12.974
18  Pierre Ragues
Oliver Webb
Zoel Amberg
Morgan/SARD 14.357
19  François Perrodo
Emmanuel Collard
Rui Aguas
Ferrari 16.150
20  Gianluca Roda
Paolo Ruberti
Kristian Poulsen
Chevrolet 16.303
21  Patrick Dempsey
Patrick Long
Marco Seefried
Porsche 16.454
22  Duncan Cameron
Matt Griffin
Alex Mortimer
Ferrari 17.056
23  Francesco Castellacci
Roald Goethe
Stuart Hall
Aston Martin 17.516
24  Simon Trummer
Vitantonio Liuzzi
Christian Klien
CLM/AER 17.662
25  Paul Dalla Lana
Pedro Lamy
Mathias Lauda
Aston Martin 17.838
26  Christian Ried
Khalid Al Qubaisi
Klaus Bachler
Porsche 19.527
27  Ed Brown
Johannes van Overbeek
Jon Fogarty
Ligier/HPD 20.327
28  Nelson Panciatici
Paul-Loup Chatin
Vincent Capillaire
Alpine/Nissan 21.000

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WEC
Event Spa-Francorchamps
Track Spa-Francorchamps
Article type Practice report