KCMG disqualified from Spa qualifying

KCMG had qualified second in the LMP2 class.

The KCMG ORECA 05-Nissan which set second fastest time in LMP2 at Spa has been disqualified from the session after failing post-session scrutineering.

The Hong Kong entered LMP2 coupe prototype was deemed to have contravened a rule concerning the plank of their ORECA designed car, which is based on the monocoque of the LMP1 design which was raced by Rebellion Racing in 2014.

The penalty meted out to the team is a severe one with their times annulled and a start from the pitlane stipulated. The organisers also have the power to inflict an additional 30-second penalty on the team during the race.

KCMG have Matt Howson, Richard Bradley and Toyota LMP1 refugee Nicolas Lapierre racing for them this weekend. This trio will also drive the car at Le Mans next month.

The disqualification means that the Team SARD Morand Morgan of Oliver Webb, Zoel Amberg and Pierre Ragues moves up to second place, while the pole sitting G-Drive Racing team see their second car of Pipo Derani, Gustavo Yacaman and Ricardo Gonzalez bumped up to third position.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WEC
Event Spa-Francorchamps
Sub-event Friday qualifying
Track Spa-Francorchamps
Drivers Nicolas Lapierre , Matthew Howson , Richard Bradley
Article type Breaking news
Tags kcmg