Bahrain WEC: Audi fights back in second practice

Audi fought back in the second free practice session at the Bahrain International Circuit as Marcel Fassler set the fastest ever LMP time with a stunning 1m42.133s effort.

Under the glare of the powerful Bahrain floodlights, the Swiss ace lapped some 1.1s faster than the sister No.8 Audi R18 e-tron quattro.

Porsche appeared to be working on double stinting tyres during the session rather than going for an outright quick lap. This accounted for the 1.2s deficit to the No.7 Audi’s ultimate best.

The title leading No.17 entry of Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard placed third, ahead of the sister machine of Neel Jani, Romian Dumas and Marc Lieb.

Toyota were again fifth and sixth, albeit closer to the pace than in the earlier session. Alex Wurz's best in the No.2 Toyota TS 040 HYBRID was just 0.4s off the last of the Porsches.

In the LMP2 class, Pipo Derani’s early best of 1m50.029s was never beaten. The rookie Brazilian put in another impressive performance in the No.28 G-Drive Racing Ligier-Nissan on his very first visit to the Bahrain International Circuit.

The other G-Drive Racing Ligier of Sam Bird, Roman Rusinov and Julien Canal placed fourth as they look to protect their 16-point lead and seal the LMP2 title this weekend.

There was trouble for the KCMG ORECA 05-Nissan that currently lies 16 points adrift of the No.26 G-Drive crew in the title fight. Matt Howson was forced to pull off the track in the final stages of the session with an apparent technical issue.

The LMGTE classes saw Ferrari rule the roost in each, with the No.51 AF Corse Ferrari 458 driven by Toni Vilander and the No.72 SMP example driven by Andrea Bertolini setting the times of 1m59.402s and 2m00.866s respectively.

The evening session saw just a single Full Course Yellow after 10 minutes, when Khaled Al Qubaisi beached his Proton Porsche 911 RSR in the gravel at Turn 3.

Several cars were shown the black and white warning flag for persistent abuses of track limits at turn four. Among them were both of the Toyotas, the No.7 Audi and the KCMG ORECA.

Results: WEC 2015 Bahrain FP2

Andre Lotterer 
Benoit Tréluyer 
Marcel Fassler 
Audi Sport Team Joest  Audi R18 e-tron quattro '15  1:42.133  1:42.133  37 
Loic Duval 
Oliver Jarvis 
Lucas di Grassi 
Audi Sport Team Joest  Audi R18 e-tron quattro '15  1:43.291  +1.158  39 
Mark Webber 
Brendon Hartley 
Timo Bernhard 
Porsche Team  Porsche 919 Hybrid  1:43.360  +1.227  44 
Marc Lieb 
Romain Dumas 
Neel Jani 
Porsche Team  Porsche 919 Hybrid  1:43.529  +1.396  47 
Alexander Wurz 
Mike Conway 
Stéphane Sarrazin 
Toyota Racing  Toyota TS040 Hybrid  1:43.931  +1.798  47 
Anthony Davidson 
Kazuki Nakajima 
Sébastien Buemi 
Toyota Racing  Toyota TS040 Hybrid  1:44.288  +2.155  42 
Mathias Beche 
Nicolas Prost 
Rebellion Racing  Rebellion R-One  1:48.385  +6.252  29 
Pierre Kaffer 
Simon Trummer 
Team ByKolles  CLM P1/01  1:49.200  +7.067  29 
Alexandre Imperatori 
Mathéo Tuscher  
Dominik Kraihamer 
Rebellion Racing  Rebellion R-One  1:49.685  +7.552  20 
10  Pipo Derani 
Gustavo Yacaman 
Ricardo Gonzalez 
G-Drive Racing  Ligier JS P2  1:50.029  +7.896  36 
11  Matthew Howson 
Nick Tandy 
Richard Bradley 
KCMG  ORECA 05  1:50.774  +8.641  29 
12  Nelson Panciatici 
Paul-Loup Chatin 
Tom Dillmann 
Signatech Alpine  Alpine A450b  1:51.354  +9.221  36 
13  Roman Rusinov 
Sam Bird 
Julien Canal 
G-Drive Racing  Ligier JS P2  1:51.546  +9.413  34 
14  Oliver Webb 
Chris Cumming 
Pierre Ragues 
Team SARD Morand  Morgan LMP2 Evo '15  1:51.725  +9.592  36 
15  Jonny Kane 
Nick Leventis 
Danny Watts 
Strakka Racing  Gibson 015S  1:52.315  +10.182  38 
16  Devi Markozov  
Nicolas Minassian 
Mikhail Aleshin 
AF Racing  BR Engineering BR01  1:52.662  +10.529  36 
17  David Heinemeier Hansson
Ryan Dalziel 
Scott Sharp 
Extreme Speed Motorsports  Ligier JS P2  1:52.873  +10.740  31 
18  Ed Brown 
Jon Fogarty 
Johannes van Overbeek 
Extreme Speed Motorsports  Ligier JS P2  1:53.510  +11.377  36 
19  Toni Vilander 
Gianmaria Bruni 
AF Corse  Ferrari F458 Italia  1:59.402  +17.269  37 
20  Davide Rigon 
James Calado 
AF Corse  Ferrari F458 Italia  1:59.486  +17.353  37 
21  Frédéric Makowiecki 
Patrick Pilet 
Porsche Team Manthey  Porsche 911 RSR  1:59.618  +17.485  37 
22  Nicki Thiim 
Christoffer Nygaard 
Marco Sørensen  
Aston Martin Racing  Aston Martin Vantage V8  2:00.349  +18.216  34 
23  Alex MacDowall 
Richie Stanaway 
Fernando Rees 
Aston Martin Racing  Aston Martin Vantage V8  2:00.396  +18.263  34 
24  Aleksey Basov 
Andrea Bertolini 
Viktor Shaitar 
SMP Racing  Ferrari F458 Italia  2:00.866  +18.733  34 
25  Christian Ried 
Patrick Long 
Marco Seefried 
Dempsey Racing - Proton  Porsche 911 RSR  2:00.939  +18.806  27 
26  Richard Lietz 
Michael Christensen 
Porsche Team Manthey  Porsche 911 RSR  2:01.019  +18.886  33 
27  Gianluca Roda 
Kristian Poulsen 
Paolo Ruberti 
Larbre Compétition  Chevrolet Corvette C7.R  2:01.369  +19.236  34 
28  Jonathan Adam 
Darren Turner 
Aston Martin Racing  Aston Martin Vantage V8  2:01.405  +19.272  36 
29  Roald Goethe 
Francesco Castellacci 
Stuart Hall 
Aston Martin Racing  Aston Martin Vantage V8  2:02.116  +19.983  37 
30  Pedro Lamy 
Paul Dalla Lana 
Mathias Lauda 
Aston Martin Racing  Aston Martin Vantage V8  2:02.672  +20.539  36 
31  Khaled Al Qubaisi 
Klaus Bachler 
Marco Mapelli 
Abu Dhabi-Proton Racing  Porsche 911 RSR  2:03.103  +20.970  28 
32  Emmanuel Collard 
Matteo Cressoni 
François Perrodo 
AF Corse  Ferrari F458 Italia  2:03.525  +21.392  26 
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WEC
Event Bahrain
Track Bahrain International Circuit
Drivers Marcel Fassler
Teams Team Joest
Article type Practice report