Porsche Rennsport Reunion II report

Largest Group of Porsche Racecars at Rennsport Reunion II Akin, Elford, Ickx, Minter Receive Awards At Daytona Event ATLANTA, GA, May 2 -- The largest gathering of Porsche racecars -- more than 550 from around the world -- last weekend descended...

Largest Group of Porsche Racecars at Rennsport Reunion II
Akin, Elford, Ickx, Minter Receive Awards At Daytona Event

ATLANTA, GA, May 2 -- The largest gathering of Porsche racecars -- more than 550 from around the world -- last weekend descended on Daytona International Speedway for the Porsche Rennsport Reunion II.

Drivers fired up the engines and raced more than 400 of these racecars in one of five classes organized by Brian Redman's Intercontinental Events; many of the cars participated in the unique race-car-only concours d'elegance.

As popular as the 24 Hours of Daytona and 24 Hours of Le Mans-winning cars were among those who attended the event, the stars of the show were the collectors and famous race drivers who thrilled Porsche enthusiasts with their appearance.

In addition to the almost continuous stream of on-track activities, the weekend was punctuated by several very special dinners. More than 1,000 thrilled diners attended the Competitors Dinner which featured addresses by the Rennsport Reunion II's Co-Grand Marshalls, Peter Schwarzenbauer, President and CEO of Porsche Cars North America and Chris Economaki, founder of the National Speed Sport News. The evening was capped off by the introduction of all the legendary Porsche racing drivers in attendance.

At the special "Reunion" dinner held Saturday at Daytona USA, Porsche presented the Vasek Polak Award to six-time Le Mans champion Jacky Ickx for his performance on the track and his contribution to motorsports. The award is named for the famous racecar e ntrant, driver "talent spotter," Porsche dealer and philanthropist.

Vic Elford and Milt Minter, a former Vasek Polak racer, were also honored for their contributions to Porsche's racing heritage. The overall weekend was dedicated to the late Bob Akin, whose Porsche racing participation spanned more than two decades of 935 , 962 and vintage racing.

Spectators were thrilled by the rare appearance of Porsche racecars from the Porsche Museum, the Brumos Porsche collection, the Collier Museum, Gunnar Racing, G & W Motorsports, Joest Racing and a host of other Porsche racecar collectors.

There were several activities in the paddock during the weekend which raised more than $12,000 for Speediatrics, the Betty Jane France Pediatric Center at Halifax Medical Center. These activities included a Porsche Cayenne off-road experience, an autograp h session with the celebrity drivers, on-track parade laps for Porsche owners in their own cars, and a slot car racing contest.

The celebrity drivers who returned to the Daytona speedway to participate in the event included Dan Gurney, Jacky Ickx, Vic Elford, Richard Attwood, Hurley Haywood, Brian Redman, Derek Bell, Bobby Rahal, Chip Robinson, John Andretti, Dave Helmick, Reinhold Joest, John Paul Jr., Kevin Buckler, Vern Schuppan, Herbert Linge, Price Cobb, Kees Nierop, Joe Buzzetta, Doc Bundy, Bruce Leven, George Drolsom, John O'Steen, Dick Barbour, Dennis Aase, Milt Minter, Howard Meister, Elliott Forbes-Robinson, Dave White, Ri ck Bye, Bill Adam, David Donohue, David Murry, Sasha Maassen, Lucas Luhr, Darren Law and Mike Fitzgerald.

In the races themselves, veteran IMSA and SCCA racer Larry Schumacher, from West Chester, Ohio, won the Continental Trophy in his 1997 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo GT2; vintage car collector and racer Wayne Jackson, from Columbia, Maryland, won the Gmund Cup in his 1971 Porsche 914/6; IMSA GTU champion Dave White from Tampa, FL, took the Eifel Trophy in his 1975 Porsche 911 RSR; the Salzburg Cup was won by Stewart Tetreault, from Franconia, NH, in his 1972 Porsche 911 RSR; and Jim Oppenheimer, from Chicago, Illin ois, won the Weissach Cup in his 1988 Porsche 962.

The concours also had winners, led by Best in Show, the New Man Porsche 956, owned by Reinhold Joest. The class winners included:

1964 Porsche 356C Carrera 2 Cabriolet, Nashville, TN

550'S TO RS61'S
1959 Porsche RSK Spyder, Miles Collier, Collier Collection, Naples, FL

904'S TO 910'S
1965 Porsche 904/6 (#906001),Klaus Frers, Dellbruck, Germany

907'S TO 917-30'S
1972 Sunoco Porsche 917-30K, Matt Drendel, Hickory, NC

911'S TO RSR'S
1973 Martini & Rossi Porsche Carrera RSR, Peter Kitchak, Minneapolis, MN

934'S, 935'S, "MOBY DICK"
1986 Porsche 934, Matt Drendel, Hickory, NC

2004 Porsche GT3 RSR, Alex Job, Tavares, FL

936'S, 956'S, 962'S
1984 New Man Porsche 956, Reinhold Joest, Hopsteiner, Germany

914'S TO 928'S
1973 Porsche 914-6GT, Mark Allin, Topsfield, MA

1983 Porsche-March GTP, Rasim Tugbert, Fairfax, VA

The initial Speed Channel telecast of Porsche Rennsport Reunion II will be on Friday, July 9, at 10 PM EDT.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Vintage
Drivers John Andretti , Bobby Rahal , David Murry , Vic Elford , Elliott Forbes-Robinson , Lucas Luhr , Dan Gurney , Kevin Buckler , Hurley Haywood , Darren Law , David Donohue , Dick Barbour , Jacky Ickx , Vern Schuppan , Derek Bell , Price Cobb , Brian Redman , Wayne Jackson , Stewart Tetreault , Peter Kitchak , Milt Minter , Dave White , Joe Buzzetta , John Paul , Reinhold Joest , Bob Akin , Doc Bundy , Chip Robinson , Richard Attwood , Alex Job , Bruce Leven , Klaus Frers , Dennis Aase , Kees Nierop , Bill Adam