25 Jun
Event finished
12 Jul
Event finished
08 Aug
Practice 1 in
2 days
Hidden Valley II
15 Aug
Next event in
9 days
28 Aug
Next event in
22 days
18 Sep
Next event in
43 days
08 Oct
Next event in
63 days
30 Oct
Next event in
85 days
Symmons Plains
20 Nov
Next event in
106 days
11 Dec
Next event in
127 days

Winton Supercars: McLaughlin dominates Sunday race

Winton Supercars: McLaughlin dominates Sunday race
May 26, 2019, 5:36 AM

Supercars points leader Scott McLaughlin made it a Winton clean sweep with an emphatic win over teammate Fabian Coulthard on Sunday.

As expected based on his half-second advantage in qualifying, it was a straightforward win for the defending series champion.

Having beaten teammate Fabian Coulthard to the first corner, McLaughlin had more than a second up his sleeve within the first three laps.

He then eased the advantage over Coulthard out to around 4s across the first stint, before Coulthard made his first stop on Lap 16.

McLaughlin came in three laps later, returning with an almost identical lead. It stayed that way until the second round of stops, too, Coulthard 4.1s down when he stopped again on Lap 37.

Six laps later McLaughlin made his second service, after which the lead really started to blow out. It grew to as much as 8s during the final stint, only for a Lap 58 Safety Car – to recover Will Davison's broken Mustang – to close the top two right back up.

The five-lap dash to the finish was easy enough for McLaughlin to deal with, though, his winning margin just under a second.

“It’s been an amazing weekend, two wins for our team, a pole and a one-two,” said McLaughlin.

“Our cars were just ridiculously good and I’m excited for the future and the rest of the year.

“We battle hard, we had a little kerfuffle yesterday, we got our butts kicked and came back here today.”

The battle for third was a little more spirited, with Holden drivers Jamie Whincup and David Reynolds scrapping over the final spot on the podium.

For the first two stints it was Reynolds running in third, however that all changed when Triple Eight went for the undercut by bringing Whincup in for a second stop on Lap 33.

Erebus responded by pitting Reynolds a lap later, the Penrite Holden coming out just in front of Whincup. But the seven-time champ wasn't content with slotting in behind, running side-by-side with Reynolds through the first two corners before barging by on the way into Turn 3.

This all played out well behind the Penske Mustangs, however, with Whincup around 20s behind McLaughlin before that late Safety Car.

Lee Holdsworth finished fifth, helped by a strategic gamble gone wrong for Nick Percat in the closing stages of the race.

The Brad Jones Racing driver had been running ahead of Holdsworth, but elected to pit for fresh rubber when the Safety Car came out with nine laps left.

That dumped him back to 12th, with just five laps after the restart to try and make an impact on better tyres. It wasn't quite enough, though, Percat only recovering to ninth.

Cam Waters and Shane van Gisbergen finished sixth and seventh, Scott Pye holding off a hard-charging Percat for eighth.

Fresh from a second place on Saturday, Chaz Mostert had an action-packed Sunday. It started when he sprayed his Tickford Mustang at Turn 7 on the first lap while running sixth, rejoining way behind the pack.

He quickly ran down wildcard driver Jack Smith, but had a second excursion while trying  to pass the Brad Jones Racing Holden at Turn 3 on the second lap.

His then copped a 15s penalty for contact on James Courtney midway through the race, but, like Percat, gambled on a new set of rubber during the Safety Car and charged his way to 10th.

After the Winton round, McLaughlin leads the standings with an extended margin of 242 points over Coulthard.

Race results:

Cla Driver Car Gap
1 New Zealand Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT  
2 New Zealand Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT  
3 Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB  
4 Australia David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB  
5 Australia Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT  
6 Australia Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT  
7 New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB  
8 Australia Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB  
9 Australia Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB  
10 Australia Chaz Mostert Ford Mustang GT  
11 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima  
12 Australia Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB  
13 Australia James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB  
14 New Zealand Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB  
15 Australia Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB  
16 Australia Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB  
17 Australia Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB  
18 Australia Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima  
19 Australia James Golding Holden Commodore ZB  
20 Australia Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB  
21 United States Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB  
22 Australia Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB  
23 Switzerland Simona de Silvestro Nissan Altima  
  Australia Will Davison Ford Mustang GT  
  Australia Rick Kelly Nissan Altima  
Winton Supercars: McLaughlin seals pole with record lap

Previous article

Winton Supercars: McLaughlin seals pole with record lap

Next article

Percat argued against risky pit call

Percat argued against risky pit call
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Event Winton
Drivers Scott McLaughlin
Teams DJR Team Penske
Author Andrew van Leeuwen