Whincup takes dominating victory in first Auckland sprint race

Race 28 went the way of poleman Jamie Whincup, who led from start to the finish in the first event of the weekend at Pukekohe Park Raceway.

4.38 seconds back of the race winner was Shane Van Gisbergen, who was able to take the runner-up spot from David Reynolds when the Ford driver had a lockup on the eighth lap of the race.

This is the fourth win of the season for the driver of the No. 1 and the 93rd of his career.

Scott Pye crossed the line in fourth position but blew the fifth corner on the penultimate lap. He did not relinquish the position to Craig Lowndes after it was deemed he gained an advantage. Lowndes was moved up to P4 after the checkered flag.

Trailing those five were Michael Caruso, Mark Winterbottom, James Courtney, Scott McLaughlin, and Garth Tander.

Whincup was able to protect his position at the front of the field at the start of the race, leading the pack off into the first set of corners.

Before the first lap was completed though, an accident broke out when Tim Slade got into the left-rear of Will Davison. The Erebus driver spun and made nose-to-nose contact with Fabian Coulthard, who had nowhere to go. Race officials will investigate the incident after the race.

Davison was able to limp his car back to the pit lane while Coulthard continued, dropping debris on the circuit that eventually forced a safety car intervention on the fifth lap.

Jason Bright stopped out of Turn 8 on the final lap, forcing a local yellow. 

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Event Auckland
Track Pukekohe Park Raceway
Drivers Jamie Whincup
Article type Race report