Whincup prevents Van Gisbergen from completing Auckland pole sweep

Shane van Gisbergen will start on pole for Race 26, but Jamie Whincup spoiled his party in Race 27 qualifying.

In the first qualifying session, DJR Team Penske rose to the occasion and threatened for pole position, but had to settle for second and third in the end.

Van Gisbergen's lap time of 1:02.9107 was just one-thousandths quicker than Scott Pye, earning himself his third straight pole of the weekend. Fabian Coulthard will line up third on the grid, right behind his teammate.

Mark Winterbottom timed in fourth and Jamie Whincup back in fifth. Chaz Mostert, Craig Lowndes, Scott McLaughlin, Will Davison, and Michael Caruso make up the rest of the top ten.

Whincup came back with a vengeance in the final ten-minute qualifying session, snatching the Race 27 pole with a lap of 1:02.6857. The margin back to his young teammate and title rival was just 0.0161, locking out the front row for Triple Eight.

McLaughlin and Mostert fill out the second row with Winterbottom rounding out the top five. Coulthard was sixth, followed by Davison, Pye, Lowndes, and James Moffat.

Both qualifying sessions were fairly clean, spotted by a few offs that are common at Pukekohe Park Raceway. Cam Waters did have a complete spin during Race 26 qualifying, but he managed not to hit anything.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Event Auckland
Track Pukekohe Park Raceway
Drivers Jamie Whincup , Shane van Gisbergen
Teams Triple Eight Race Engineering
Article type Qualifying report