Whincup/Dumbrell win at the Gold Coast and take Enduro Cup victory

Whincup continues to edge closer and closer to his sixth V8SC championship.

Jamie Whincup and Paul Dumbrell put down a dominating performance to win the second race of the weekend at Surfers Paradise. The duo were untouchable for most of the day, further solidifying Whincup's place at the top of the championship standings. They also took the 2014  Pirtek Enduro Cup victory.

The other podium finishers

Race pole-sitters Scott McLaughlin/Alex Premat held on to take the runner-up position after a late attack from the Nissan of Michael Caruso, which he shared with Dean Fiore. This is Caruso's first podium result of the 2014 season.

Third through tenth

Tim Slade/Tony D' Alberto followed up an impressive third place finish yesterday with another solid fourth place run today. Race 1 winner Shane Van Gisbergen rounded out the top five with a spectacular comeback after a restart penalty took him out of contention.

The rest of the top ten was filled by Reynolds/Canto, Coulthard/Youlden, Ingall/Blanchard, RKelly/Russell, and Percat/Gavin.

Full-course cautions

The race was slowed by three Safety Cars. The first was for the stricken car of Dale Wood, the second for debris (the grille of a Ford), and the final came out for a massive impact that sent James Moffat out of the event. Those full-course cautions caused the race to be cut by two laps due to a time limit. 

Championship outlook

Jamie Whincup now leads the championship by a staggering 402 points over Mark Winterbottom, who finished 14th in today's race. Shane Van Gisbergen has moved into third, 478 points adrift of the top.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Event Surfers Paradise
Track Streets of Surfers Paradise
Drivers Jamie Whincup , Mark Winterbottom , Paul Dumbrell , Michael Caruso , Tim Slade , Dale Wood , James Moffat , Dean Fiore , Scott McLaughlin
Teams Nissan Motorsport
Article type Race report