V8 Supercars Albert Park Race 2 Report

Albert Park

Garth Tander Wins Second Race of Albert Park 400

Toll Holden Racing Team’s Garth Tander has won the second race of the Albert Park 400 today, but all eyes were on Jason Richards’ emotional second place finish.

Richards has stepped back into his #14 Team BOC Commodore this weekend while on a break for treatment for adrenal cortical carcinoma (ACC).

It was a remarkable result for Richards and Team BOC, and is Richards’ best race result since his runner-up finish at the 2009 Bathurst 1000 with Cameron McConville.

Today’s win is Tander’s seventh race win at the Albert Park circuit, drawing him to within one win of Russell Ingall’s record for V8 Supercar wins at the circuit, and puts him back in contention for the half a million dollar prize pool on offer.

Alex Davison led the race early on the soft tyre, but could not hold off a charging Tander after his pit stop for the harder tyre set, eventually finishing third.

It is the IRWIN Racing driver’s best race result at the Albert Park Grand Prix circuit, and his second top five finish in two days.

Yesterday’s Race 1 winner and Race 2 pole sitter Jamie Whincup was handed a 10-second penalty for jumping the start. He battled closely with Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly in the closing laps, clinching fourth place on the finish line.

His teammate Craig Lowndes fought back from the rear of the grid to finish sixth, with Tim Slade (Lucky 7 Racing) seventh after starting from 23rd.

Fabian Coulthard (Bundaberg Racing), Jason Bright (Team BOC) and Shane van Gisbergen (SP Tools Racing) rounded out the top 10.

Steve Johnson, James Courtney and Shane van Gisbergen made contact during a frantic opening lap, sending both Johnson and Courtney to the garage without completing a lap.

The winner of the Albert Park 400 will be the driver with the highest number of points across the three races. With one race remaining, Whincup is the overall Albert Park 400 points leader from Tander and Rick Kelly.

The finishing order of Race 2 sets the grid for the third and final race, which starts at 1.10pm local time tomorrow (Sunday).

-source: v8 supercars

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Drivers James Courtney , Garth Tander , Jason Bright , Cameron McConville , Russell Ingall , Rick Kelly , Fabian Coulthard , Craig Lowndes , Jason Richards , Jamie Whincup , Alex Davison , Steve Johnson , Tim Slade , Shane van Gisbergen
Teams Holden Racing Team
Tags albert park, ausv8ss