TBE Hidden Valley race one report

Paul Radisich excelled today by qualifying Car 65, the Team Betta Electrical Falcon in 9th position with a lap time of 1:08,69. With the Top Ten Shoot out being conducted in a reverse grid format, Radisich was the second car out recording...

Paul Radisich excelled today by qualifying Car 65, the Team Betta Electrical Falcon in 9th position with a lap time of 1:08,69.

With the Top Ten Shoot out being conducted in a reverse grid format, Radisich was the second car out recording a time of 1:09.5238,placing him as 8th fastest in the shoot out. Mark Skaife posted the fastest time of 1:08.6282,securing pole position for Race One. Marcos Ambros in the Pirtek Falcon only .0129 second behind &securing 2nd place followed him on the grid. The second Team Betta Electrical Falcon driven by Dean Canto qualified 27th with a time of 1:09.5559. The series is extremely close with only 1.3 seconds separating the entire field in qualifying.

Race One:

Race One was run in perfect conditions of 30 degrees with blue skies and sunshine at the picturesque circuit at Darwin's Hidden Valley, just 20 kilometres South of the Northern Territory's capital.

A large crowd attended the second day of Round 6 in the V8 Supercar Series. Race One got off to a blistering start with a major incident occurring before the first corner involving Russell Ingall in the second Stone Brothers Falcon and the K-Mart Commodore, with Ingall spinning across the circuit and into the wall. The safety car was not needed as Ingall managed to limp around to the Pit entry with a broken steering arm.

The rest of the field managed to avoid the incident continuing at a rapid pace.

The next casualty was Craig Lowndes who suffered body damage at the rear of the vehicle causing the body to rub on the rear tyre and forcing Lowndes to pit to change a tyre.

The balance of the 17 Lap race was run in an orderly fashion with few further incidents to report.

Radisich's 5th place gave him his best position since his podium finish in 2002 at Phillip Island. Radisich's previous best result for Hidden Valley was in 2001, achieving 6th position in Race One.

Mark Skaife won the race in his HRT Commodore closely followed by Marcos Ambros in the Pirtek Falcon, Jason Bright in the Team Brock Commodore and Garth Tander in the Garry Rogers Motorsport Commodore in 4th position.

Radisich commented, "it was a typical sprint event and it is pleasing to experience the difference we have made to the car's performance. We have spent a considerable amount of time reviewing the cars set-up and we have now made noticeable headway in this area, he said. "I look forward to the second and third races tomorrow with our package. Radisich concluded.

Dean Canto also made impressive gains in today's race. After starting on the grid in 27th position, Canto in Team Betta Electrical, Car 66 was able to force his way through the field to make up a significant 9 places and finish a credible 18th position.

<pre> Top 10 Shootout Results 1. Mark Skaife - HRT Commodore VY 2. Marcos Ambrose - Pirtek Falcon BA 3. Greg Murphy - Kmart Commodore VX 4. Jason Bright - Team Brock Commodore VX 5. Russell Ingall - Caltex Havoline Falcon BA 6. Garth Tander - Repco Valvoline Cummins Commodore V Y 7. Craig Lowndes - CAT FPR Falcon BA 8. Paul Radisich - Betta Electrical Falcon BA 9. John Bowe - OzEmail Falcon BA 10. Todd Kelly - HRT Commodore VY

Race One Results Pos Car Entrant Driver Vehicle Fastest Time 1 1 Holden Racing Team Mark Skaife Holden Commodore VY 1:09.4464 2 4 Pirtek Racing Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon BA 1:09.4432 3 50 Team Brock Jason Bright Holden Commodore VX 1:09.8446 4 34 Garry Rogers Motorsport Garth Tander Holden Commodore VY 1:09.8296 5 65 Betta Electrical Paul Radisich Ford Falcon BA 1:10.0440 6 51 K-Mart Racing Team Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VX 1:10.2041 7 2 Holden Racing Team Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VY 1:10.0951 8 31 Super Cheap Auto Racing Steve Ellery Ford Falcon BA 1:10.4725 9 11 Castrol Perkins Racing Team Steven Richards Holden Commodore 1:10.3273 10 888 OzEmail Racing Team John Bowe Ford Falcon BA 1:10.2909 11 44 Team Dynamik Simon Wills Holden Commodore VY 1:10.2907 12 16 Team Brock Paul Weel Holden Commodore VX 1:10.5621 13 17 Shell Helix Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon BA 1:10.5760 14 15 K-Mart Racing Team Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VX 1:10.4080 15 21 OzEmail Racing Team Brad Jones Ford Falcon BA 1:10.6295 16 45 Team Dynamik Jason Richards Holden Commodore VY 1:10.4615 17 20 Orrcon Racing Jason Bargwanna Ford Falcon AU 1:10.7709 18 66 Betta Electrical Dean Canto Ford Falcon BA 1:10.7224 19 23 ICS Team Ford Mark Noske Ford Falcon AU 1:10.9264 20 33 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VX 1:11.1069

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Drivers Steven Johnson , Garth Tander , Marcos Ambrose , Jason Bright , Greg Murphy , Russell Ingall , Rick Kelly , Brad Jones , Dean Canto , Mark Skaife , Paul Weel , Craig Lowndes , Jason Bargwanna , Jason Richards , Paul Radisich , John Bowe , Jamie Whincup , Mark Noske , Todd Kelly , Simon Wills , Garry Rogers , Steven Richards , Phillip Island
Teams Holden Racing Team , Garry Rogers Motorsport