26 Jun
28 Jun
Event finished
17 Jul
19 Jul
Event finished
07 Aug
09 Aug
Practice 1 in
3 days
Hidden Valley II
15 Aug
16 Aug
Next event in
10 days
28 Aug
30 Aug
Next event in
23 days
18 Sep
20 Sep
Next event in
44 days
08 Oct
11 Oct
Next event in
64 days
30 Oct
01 Nov
Next event in
86 days
Symmons Plains
20 Nov
22 Nov
Next event in
107 days
11 Dec
13 Dec
Next event in
128 days

Tailem Bend Supercars: Whincup wins, Van Gisbergen takes points lead

Tailem Bend Supercars: Whincup wins, Van Gisbergen takes points lead
Aug 26, 2018, 5:46 AM

Jamie Whincup took a dominant win in the final race of the weekend from The Bend Motorsport Park, capturing his fourth victory of the 2018 Supercars season.

At lights out, Whincup got away while Van Gisbergen was forced into the middle of a three-wide situation with Tim Slade and Craig Lowndes splitting him.

It was Slade who came out on top, but Whincup was long gone after a clean start.

Andre Heimgartner clobbered the rear of another car (Garth Tander), while entering the pits. Soon after, another Nissan driver in Simona de Silvestro was penalized for an unsafe pit release.

Whincup did not pit early however, leading the first 11 laps before making his first stop emerging 3.7 seconds ahead of Van Gisbergen, who got around Caruso after he went wide.

Lee Holdsworth would retire from the race on Lap 20 with apparent mechanical issues, pulling off into the infield.

Whincup extended his advantage to over five seconds until Van Gisbergen made his second stop of the race at the halfway point at Lap 21. A couple laps later, Whincup followed suit. He now held nine seconds over his teammate, but didn’t reclaim the lead until Mark Winterbottom pitted on Lap 30.

In the closing laps, a mistake in Turn 1 by Slade allowed David Reynolds to sneak through.

But up front, it was all Whincup as he pulled out to an 11.2 second lead at the checkered flag in a dominant showing. Van Gisbergen and Reynolds filled out the other two positions on the podium.

“Yeah, big thanks to all the engineers at Red Bull,” said Whincup. “They worked tirelessly throughout the weekend to make sure we had two fast cars.

“I know it’s cliche but full credit to the team, they worked hard behind the scenes.”

Slade was forced to settle for fourth, followed by Nick Percat, Scott Pye, Will Davison, Craig Lowndes, Michael Caruso and Scott McLaughlin rounded out the top-ten.

The title fight has tightened up considerably with Van Gisbergen actually eclipsing McLaughlin and seizing control of the championship standings.

“Yeah that’s pretty awesome, but such a long way to go,” said Van Gisbergen. “We need to keep our heads down.”

There’s now just a 19-point split between the title rival.

Race 2 Results:

Cla # Driver Car Gap
1 1 Australia Jamie Whincup  Holden Commodore ZB  
2 97 New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen  Holden Commodore ZB 11.289
3 9 Australia David Reynolds  Holden Commodore ZB 13.457
4 14 Australia Tim Slade  Holden Commodore ZB 20.544
5 8 Australia Nick Percat  Holden Commodore ZB 22.064
6 2 Australia Scott Pye  Holden Commodore ZB 24.688
7 230 Australia Will Davison  Ford Falcon FG X 26.372
8 888 Australia Craig Lowndes  Holden Commodore ZB 30.594
9 23 Australia Michael Caruso  Nissan Altima 32.414
10 17 New Zealand Scott McLaughlin  Ford Falcon FG X 34.966
11 99 Anton de  Holden Commodore ZB 43.585
12 55 Australia Chaz Mostert  Ford Falcon FG X 44.419
13 25 Australia James Courtney  Holden Commodore ZB 47.099
14 12 New Zealand Fabian Coulthard  Ford Falcon FG X 47.378
15 6 Australia Cameron Waters  Ford Falcon FG X 47.784
16 5 Australia Mark Winterbottom  Ford Falcon FG X 49.080
17 15 Australia Rick Kelly  Nissan Altima 53.534
18 19 Australia Jack Le Brocq  Holden Commodore ZB 1'09.267
19 4 Australia Macauley Jones  Holden Commodore ZB 1'13.297
20 33 Australia Garth Tander  Holden Commodore ZB 1'13.881
21 21 Australia Tim Blanchard  Holden Commodore ZB 1'22.058
22 56 New Zealand Richie Stanaway  Ford Falcon FG X 1'36.088
23 78 Switzerland Simona de Silvestro  Nissan Altima 1'45.007
24 34 Australia James Golding  Holden Commodore ZB 1'45.587
25 35 Australia Todd Hazelwood  Ford Falcon FG X 1 Lap
  18 Australia Lee Holdsworth 
Australia Jason Bright 
Holden Commodore ZB  
  7 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner  Nissan Altima  
  42 Australia Kurt Kostecki  Holden Commodore ZB  
Tailem Bend Supercars: Whincup completes weekend pole sweep

Previous article

Tailem Bend Supercars: Whincup completes weekend pole sweep

Next article

Tekno to run new backing for Supercars enduros

Tekno to run new backing for Supercars enduros
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Event Bend Motorsport
Drivers Jamie Whincup
Teams Triple Eight Racing
Author Nick DeGroot