Sydney: Utes: Series weekend summary

Elsegood Hustles to Series Title in Homebush V8 Ute Finale Coopers Pale Ale driver Jack "The Hustler" Elsegood claimed victory in the 2009 Yokohama V8 Ute Racing Series & ...

Elsegood Hustles to Series Title in Homebush V8 Ute Finale

Coopers Pale Ale driver Jack "The Hustler" Elsegood claimed victory in the 2009 Yokohama V8 Ute Racing Series –protected by Armor All while George Miedecke took out the final round at Sydney's Telstra 500 today.

Former NRL star Elsegood was sitting in a good position after Race 2, 35 points ahead of Hi-Tech motorsport teammate, Grant Johnson who made it home in second position for the round and in the Series.

Eight drives came into the final round with a chance at the title, however by Race 3, it was down to a Ford Vs Holden street fight with Elsegood and Johnson.

Elsegood just had to finish the race to win, however he was in the same position in 2007 when he had tyre issues half way through the final race and lost the title.

"I stayed out of trouble, I just wanted to have a clean race and get the car home. It's a great feeling to finally win the title. I've been with Coopers for 6 years now and it's a great result to finally bring this home to them," said the Sydneysider.

The top 16 reverse grid for Race 2 saw Steve Hodges on pole and from race start held his ground to take the win, his first in his V8 Ute racing Series career. Charlie Kovacs was hot on his heels and had to contend with second while, Nandi Kiss did well to finish in third for the race, his best result for the season.

Midrace, Craig Dontas came together with Ben Kavich, which forced the Workhorse Collisions Repair driver to retire and resulted in a driving infringement and rear of grid start in Race 3 for Dontas.

Brad Patton also hit the wall at turn 5 breaking the steering and the suspension and was unable to make it back on the track for the final race of the Series.

In Race 3, Lubrimaxx racings, George Miedecke started on Pole and didn't look back, however by now it was only Elsegood and Johnson in the title chase.

Grant Johnson was keen to make up some points but wasn't able to pass the young-gun after struggling with a lose piece of shroud from his handbrake that was floating around his pedals.

"I was coming out of the corners with no throttle. It's unfortunate as we may have had the pace to catch George but we are still happy with the result," said Grove Fruit Juice Racings, Grant Johnson.

Kim Jane was hot on Johnsons heels early in the race only 3 points behind him coming into the final race but it wasn't meant to be for the Bob Jane T-Marts driver who had to deal with a clutch issue and dropped down to finish in 11th crushing his podium chance.

Jesus All About Life Racings, Andrew Fisher glided into third position and held onto it for the rest of the race and also walked away with third in the Round.

RED Express Racings, Charlie Kovacs was the second Holden over the line in Race 3 and had Elsegood and Gary Baxter after him to claim 4th 5th and 6th consecutively.

Kurt Wimmer did well to move through the ranks and claim 7th from his 23rd place start, which also earned him the SS Inductions Hard Charger Award and $500 cash.

Nandi Kiss and Steve Hodges claimed 8thth and 9th respectively and Scott Jennings had a great race rounding out the top ten and the Armor All Best Presented Award for his Samboy Racings V8 Ute.

A few drivers were unable to complete the final race of the Series including Robert Jarvis who had to drop out due to a broken radiator hose, Craig Dontas threw a power steering, Gary MacDonald hit the tyre wall at turn eight and had extensive damage to the front of the car.

Denis Cribbin was unlucky to have a loose bolt in the engine mount, Ben Dunn who had a broken tail-shaft and Ryal Harris was struggling with overheating issues since his wall hit in practice.

GBF Underground Mining's, Paul Williams took out the Racer Industries Rookie of the Year Award by 25 points over Gary Carson. Carson and Williams were only two spots away from each other in the final race the Select TV driver finished in 16th and Williams in 14th. Steve McFadden was the one in between in 15th position and picked up the CI Performance Hole Shot Award and $500 cash.

The series pointscore is provisional due to ongoing appeals pending with CAMS regarding Layton Crambrook and Gary Baxter

To re-cap on the final round of the V8 Ute Series, tune into Network Seven, Saturday, 19th December at 1pm (EDST).

-credit: utes

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Drivers Denis Cribbin , Kurt Wimmer , Grant Johnson , Bob Jane , Charlie Kovacs , Layton Crambrook , Andrew Fisher , Ben Dunn , Brad Patton
Teams Williams