Sydney Supercars: McLaughlin grabs seventh consecutive pole

Scott McLaughlin took his seventh pole in a row and 12th for the season with a stunning effort in qualifying at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The DJR Team Penske driver was second quickest after the first green tyre runs, a tenth behind teammate Fabian Coulthard with a 1m28.690s. He then made his second set of greens count in a big way, charging to another pole with a 1m28.320s on his final run.

With his 12th pole from the 17 races so far this season, McLaughlin has already wrapped up the 2017 pole award – and he says it’s got a lot to do with his engineer Ludo Lacroix.

“I’m really enjoying my relationship with Ludo,” he said. “He’s pushing me a lot. Last night I went back home, it wasn’t the perfect lap [yesterday] and he made me think about it and go through it.

“He’s really guiding me in a good direction and making me push harder than I ever have. It’s really cool, I’m excited.”

Mark Winterbottom will start on the outside of the front row after finding three tenths on his final run, which knocked Shane van Gisbergen – who had gone momentarily quickest with his 1m28.593s – back to third.

Coulthard paid the price for not improving on his second run and slipped back to fourth, while Jamie Whincup and Tim Slade were fifth and sixth.

Chaz Mostert made up 10 spots on his second run to qualify seventh, having run wide at the last corner on his first run. David Reynolds was next, while Scott Pye gave the HSV Racing squad a rare Top 10 grid spot with ninth, ahead of Craig Lowndes.

1 12 new_zealand  Fabian Coulthard  Ford Falcon FG/X  
2 55 australia  Chaz Mostert  Ford Falcon FG-X 3.984
3 88 australia  Jamie Whincup  Holden Commodore VF 7.448
4 5 australia  Mark Winterbottom  Ford Falcon FG-X 8.782
5 2 australia  Scott Pye  Holden Commodore VF 9.324
6 23 australia  Michael Caruso  Nissan Altima 10.187
7 888 australia  Craig Lowndes  Holden Commodore VF 10.381
8 9 australia  David Reynolds  Holden Commodore VF 17.039
9 33 australia  Garth Tander  Holden Commodore VF 17.456
10 17 new_zealand  Scott McLaughlin  Ford Falcon FG-X 18.458
11 21 australia  Tim Blanchard  Holden Commodore VF 19.078
12 15 australia  Rick Kelly  Nissan Altima 19.379
13 95 australia  Will Davison  Holden Commodore VF 21.488
14 56 australia  Jason Bright  Ford Falcon FG-X 21.933
15 97 new_zealand  Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 22.163
16 34 australia  James Moffat  Holden Commodore VF 23.870
17 22 australia  James Courtney  Holden Commodore VF 25.277
18 18 australia  Lee Holdsworth  Holden Commodore VF 25.740
19 99 australia  Dale Wood  Holden Commodore VF 26.106
20 6 australia  Cameron Waters  Ford Falcon FG-X 27.220
21 14 australia  Tim Slade  Holden Commodore VF 27.537
22 78 switzerland  Simona de Silvestro  Nissan Altima 28.106
23 3 australia  Alex Davison  Holden Commodore VF 29.889
24 62 australia  Alex Rullo  Holden Commodore VF 41.303
25 8 australia  Nick Percat  Holden Commodore VF 1'29.211
26 7 australia  Todd Kelly  Nissan Altima 1 lap 


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Event Sydney
Track Sydney Motorsport Park
Article type Qualifying report