26 Jun
28 Jun
Event finished
17 Jul
19 Jul
Event finished
07 Aug
09 Aug
Event finished
Hidden Valley II
15 Aug
16 Aug
Next event in
11 days
28 Aug
30 Aug
Next event in
24 days
18 Sep
20 Sep
Next event in
45 days
08 Oct
11 Oct
Next event in
65 days
30 Oct
01 Nov
Next event in
87 days
Symmons Plains
20 Nov
22 Nov
Next event in
108 days
11 Dec
13 Dec
Next event in
129 days

Sydney Supercars: McLaughlin takes night race pole

Sydney Supercars: McLaughlin takes night race pole
Jul 18, 2020, 6:47 AM

Scott McLaughlin grabbed pole for tonight's first Sydney Motorsport Park race with a record-breaking Shootout lap.

The DJR Team Penske driver opted to roll the dice on getting through Q1 and Q2 without using the soft compound Dunlop, which meant he was just 11th fastest heading into the Top 15 Shootout.

However once on a set of green softs he was remarkably quick, McLaughlin breaking his own lap record – set just three weeks ago – to grab pole with a 1m27.742s.

"You always feel like this is happy hour, you can go really fast in these conditions," he said. 

"The car felt really good, I'm really comfortable with it on soft tyres. We need to make it a little bit better on the hard [tyres], but overall I'm really happy with it."

Shane van Gisbergen made a similar gain, making up eight spots compared to this Q2 effort. However he fell two-tenths short of fierce rival McLaughlin.

Cam Waters was the biggest improver in the Shootout, the Tickford driver going from 15th to third, while Jamie Whincup made up 10 spots on his way to fourth.

Lee Holdsworth qualified fifth followed by provisional pole-sitter Fabian Coulthard, who actually dropped five spots thanks to a Q2 run on his set of softs. 

Mark Winterbottom effectively broke even, ending the Shootout in seventh, ahead of Anton De Pasquale, Macauley Jones, Bryce Fullwood, Nick Percat and David Reynolds.

Chaz Mostert was the best of the drivers to run the hard compound in the Shootout, the Walkinshaw Andretti United driver qualifying 13th, followed by Chris Pither and Todd Hazelwood.

Qualifying results:

Cla Driver Car Time Gap
1 New Zealand Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 1'27.742  
2 New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1'28.018 0.275
3 Australia Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1'28.059 0.316
4 Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1'28.137 0.394
5 Australia Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1'28.160 0.417
6 New Zealand Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 1'28.385 0.643
7 Australia Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1'28.513 0.770
8 Australia Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1'28.790 1.047
9 Australia Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1'28.802 1.059
10 Australia Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1'28.846 1.103
11 Australia Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.010 1.267
12 Australia David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.038 1.295
13 Australia Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.488 1.745
14 New Zealand Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 1'30.453 2.711
15 Australia Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1'30.879 3.136
16 Australia Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.891 2.149
17 Australia James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1'30.020 2.277
18 Australia Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 1'30.205 2.462
19 Australia Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 1'30.735 2.993
20 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 1'30.739 2.997
21 Australia Rick Kelly Ford Mustang GT 1'30.552 2.810
22 Australia Alex Davison Holden Commodore ZB 1'30.731 2.988
23 Australia Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1'31.339 3.596
24 Australia Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB 1'31.558 3.815
Darwin to host next two Supercars rounds

Previous article

Darwin to host next two Supercars rounds

Next article

Sydney Supercars: McLaughlin triumphs under lights

Sydney Supercars: McLaughlin triumphs under lights
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Event Sydney II
Drivers Scott McLaughlin
Teams DJR Team Penske
Author Andrew van Leeuwen