Reynolds tops record-breaking V8 practice

Prodrive Racing Australia driver David Reynolds comfortably topped a first V8 Supercars practice session in Darwin which saw unofficial lap records fall.

Reynolds best of a 1m07.289s – set a minute from the end of the hour-long session – was not only well underneath the existing lap record, but also more than six-tenths quicker than the qualifying lap record that Jason Bright set back in 2002.

With a brand new surface, it didn’t take long for the times to tumble in Darwin. It took just nine minutes for someone to go under last year’s pole time, Will Davison dipping into the 1m08s as soon as he hit the track.

The circuit continued to get quicker and quicker as the session evolved, with Reynolds waiting until literally the last minute to bolt on a set of soft Dunlops and rocket to the top of the times.

“It’s good to have good pace,” he said.

“We were tuning for hard tyre and I think we found a good soft tyre platform. So we put some softs on and went really fast at the end.”

DJR Team Penske driver Scott Pye was second fastest, setting a 1m07.818s right as the flag fell. The youngster had spent the first part of the session on the sidelines, while Marcos Ambrose had his first laps in a V8 Supercar since the Australian Grand Prix.

Jason Bright was another late improver, going third on his very last lap, while Michael Caruso was the best-placed Nissan in fourth, having been the first driver to dip into the 1m07s bracket.

Tim Slade was fifth, while title contenders Craig Lowndes and Mark Winterbottom was sixth and seventh respectively.

Davison ended up best of the Erebus cars in 12th, while it was another tough session for GRM Volvo, Scott McLaughlin just 18th fastest.

Surprisingly, Holden Racing Team star Garth Tander was 25th and last.

Pos Driver   Car    Time   Gap 
David Reynolds Ford 1'07.2893  
Scott Pye Ford 1'07.8184 0.5291
Jason Bright Holden 1'07.8597 0.5704
Michael Caruso Nissan 1'07.9278 0.6385
Tim Slade Holden 1'07.9777 0.6884
Craig Lowndes Holden 1'08.0056 0.7163
M.Winterbottom Ford 1'08.0059 0.7166
S.van Gisbergen Holden 1'08.0424 0.7531
Dale Wood Holden 1'08.1161 0.8268
10  Chaz Mostert Ford 1'08.1464 0.8571
11  James Courtney Holden 1'08.1944 0.9051
12  Will Davison Mercedes 1'08.2014 0.9121
13  Nick Percat Holden 1'08.3140 1.0247
14  James Moffat Nissan 1'08.3358 1.0465
15  Jamie Whincup Holden 1'08.3693 1.0800
16  Rick Kelly Nissan 1'08.4251 1.1358
17  A.Heimgartner Ford 1'08.4845 1.1952
18  Scott McLaughlin Volvo 1'08.4916 1.2023
19  Fabian Coulthard Holden 1'08.6858 1.3965
20  Ashley Walsh Mercedes 1'08.7165 1.4272
21  Lee Holdsworth Holden 1'08.7551 1.4658
22  Todd Kelly Nissan 1'08.7609 1.4716
23  David Wall Volvo 1'09.2059 1.9166
24  Tim Blanchard Holden 1'09.4161 2.1268
25  Garth Tander Holden 1'09.5844 2.2951


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Event Darwin
Track Hidden Valley Raceway
Drivers David Reynolds
Teams Tickford Racing
Article type Practice report