Mostert, Lowndes share Queensland V8 poles

Chaz Mostert and Craig Lowndes split the V8 Supercars pole positions across two qualifying sessions at Queensland Raceway.

Mostert did it easy in the first session on the hard tyre, beating the entire field by 0.247s – quite remarkable given that the Top 17 was covered by less than a second.

“The guys have given me a brilliant car,” he said.

“When you start the first practice you know if you’re kind of on to a good thing. I didn’t want to get too sure, but I knew we had a pretty good car this weekend straight out the gate.

“We tuned it, and the thing is so quick over one lap. Now we just have to make it quick over 20 laps.”

Mostert’s team-mate and points leader Mark Winterbottom will start the first race second, ahead of the Super Black/Prodrive entry of Andre Heimgartner, who shocked the field to qualify third.

“I’m lost for words,” said the Kiwi. “The car was fantastic. It’s a great place to start from.”

Scott McLaughlin jumped Craig Lowndes on his last run to grab fourth, relegating Lowndes to fifth, while Shane van Gisbergen went from second last to sixth on his very last lap.

James Moffat was the best Nissan in seventh, while Ipswich local Ash Walsh out-qualified his Erebus team-mate Will Davison, the pair set to start 13th and 14th.

Jamie Whincup was just 11th fastest on the hard tyre, while title contender Fabian Coulthard was just 15th.

Lowndes leads the way on softs

When the field swapped to the softer Dunlop tyre for the second 10-minute session, it was Lowndes who secured pole for this afternoon’s second race.

Lowndes set his 1m09.310s fairly early into the second runs at the end of the session, but it was enough to hold off Prodrive pair Winterbottom and Mostert, who were second and third.

“Obviously the guys have been working hard,” said Lowndes.

“We made a change between the hard and the soft; it was encouraging on the hard, but the soft is where we like it. Now we have to turn that in to some kind of result.”

McLaughlin made it a pair of fourths, while Todd Kelly was a big improver, qualifying fifth on the soft.

David Reynolds rounded out the third row, while Walsh was again the best of the Erebus cars, this time in seventh.

Whincup was eighth, while Coulthard had another tough session, qualifying just 21st, a spot ahead of van Gisbergen.

Qualifying for Race 18

Pos   Driver   Car  Time   Delay 
Chaz Mostert Ford 1'09.7755  
M.Winterbottom Ford 1'10.0234 0.2479
A.Heimgartner Ford 1'10.0367 0.2612
Scott McLaughlin Volvo 1'10.0578 0.2823
Craig Lowndes Holden 1'10.0755 0.3000
S.van Gisbergen Holden 1'10.1366 0.3611
James Moffat Nissan 1'10.1369 0.3614
James Courtney Holden 1'10.1680 0.3925
Scott Pye Ford 1'10.1787 0.4032
10  David Reynolds Ford 1'10.1791 0.4036
11  Jamie Whincup Holden 1'10.1827 0.4072
12  Tim Slade Holden 1'10.1967 0.4212
13  Ashley Walsh Mercedes 1'10.2024 0.4269
14  Will Davison Mercedes 1'10.2276 0.4521
15  Fabian Coulthard Holden 1'10.2578 0.4823
16  Garth Tander Holden 1'10.2620 0.4865
17  Nick Percat Holden 1'10.2668 0.4913
18  Michael Caruso Nissan 1'10.3003 0.5248
19  Rick Kelly Nissan 1'10.3556 0.5801
20  Lee Holdsworth Holden 1'10.3973 0.6218
21  Dale Wood Holden 1'10.5132 0.7377
22  Todd Kelly Nissan 1'10.6476 0.8721
23  David Wall Volvo 1'10.6883 0.9128
24  Tim Blanchard Holden 1'10.8865 1.1110
25  Jason Bright Holden 1'11.1473 1.3718

Qualifying for Race 19

 Pos  Driver   Car  Time   Delay 
Craig Lowndes Holden 1'09.3102  
M.Winterbottom Ford 1'09.3229 0.0127
Chaz Mostert Ford 1'09.3308 0.0206
Scott McLaughlin Volvo 1'09.3510 0.0408
Todd Kelly Nissan 1'09.4155 0.1053
David Reynolds Ford 1'09.4319 0.1217
Ashley Walsh Mercedes 1'09.4657 0.1555
Jamie Whincup Holden 1'09.4863 0.1761
Will Davison Mercedes 1'09.4888 0.1786
10  A.Heimgartner Ford 1'09.5517 0.2415
11  Scott Pye Ford 1'09.5542 0.2440
12  James Courtney Holden 1'09.5837 0.2735
13  James Moffat Nissan 1'09.5886 0.2784
14  Michael Caruso Nissan 1'09.6419 0.3317
15  Garth Tander Holden 1'09.6559 0.3457
16  Rick Kelly Nissan 1'09.6623 0.3521
17  Tim Slade Holden 1'09.7158 0.4056
18  Jason Bright Holden 1'09.7256 0.4154
19  Lee Holdsworth Holden 1'09.7418 0.4316
20  Nick Percat Holden 1'09.7512 0.4410
21  Fabian Coulthard Holden 1'09.7807 0.4705
22  S.van Gisbergen Holden 1'09.7980 0.4878
23  Tim Blanchard Holden 1'09.8835 0.5733
24  David Wall Volvo 1'09.8984 0.5882
25  Dale Wood Holden 1'10.0711 0.7609

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Event Ipswich
Track Queensland Raceway
Drivers Craig Lowndes , Chaz Mostert
Article type Qualifying report