Mostert leads home Prodrive 1-2 at Winton

Chaz Mostert comfortably won today’s first V8 Supercars race at Winton ahead of Prodrive Racing Australia team-mate Mark Winterbottom.

Mostert wasn’t troubled throughout the 60-kilometre affair, winning the start from pole position and never looking back.

Making things even easier for Mostert was that team-mate Winterbottom snuck past Michael Caruso on the run to the first corner, putting PRA well and truly in control and allowing Mostert the freedom of not having to watch his mirrors.

Caruso went on to finish third, taking Nissan’s first podium since the Gold Coast last year in the process. He was shadowed throughout the race by David Reynolds, but while the Prodrive driver looked faster than the Nissan, Reynolds had no chance of getting by, opting instead to settle for a comfortable fourth.

Brothers Todd and Rick Kelly capped of a promising day for Nissan by finishing fifth and seventh respectively, with Fabian Coulthard – the best-placed Holden – sandwiched between the Altimas.

It was hardly a classic for Triple Eight, Jamie Whincup the best-placed Red Bull Commodore in ninth, while Craig Lowndes could manage just 12th. In fact, the best performing T8-built car in the field was the customer entry of Shane van Gisbergen which finished eighth, while Nick Percat was 10th in another T8 customer car.

Scott McLaughlin, who started dead last after causing a red flag in qualifying, couldn’t make any progress, the Kiwi ultimately finishing at the back of the field after a touch from Dale Wood turned into a spin on just the fourth lap of the race.

Wood was one of the few drivers to see some action during the race, with he and Tim Blanchard scrapping over 23rd. In the end Blanchard won out, with Wood going off at turn one.


 Pos   Driver   Car  Time/Gap 
1 Chaz Mostert Ford 28m40.008s 
2 M.Winterbottom Ford 2.8733
3 Michael Caruso Nissan 5.1687
4 David Reynolds Ford 6.5664
5 Todd Kelly Nissan 9.0419
6 Fabian Coulthard Holden 10.8245
7 Rick Kelly Nissan 12.2535
8 S.van Gisbergen Holden 14.9374
9 Jamie Whincup Holden 15.1533
10 Nick Percat Holden 18.3381
11 Jason Bright Holden 19.1429
12 Craig Lowndes Holden 19.5750
13 Will Davison Mercedes 21.1934
14 James Courtney Holden 21.7970
15 Scott Pye Ford 22.3455
16 Garth Tander Holden 22.6477
17 James Moffat Nissan 25.7213
18 Lee Holdsworth Holden 26.0766
19 Tim Slade Holden 26.5160
20 A.Heimgartner Ford 27.8231
21 David Wall Volvo 29.8624
22 Ashley Walsh Mercedes 33.2708
23 Tim Blanchard Holden 37.4602
24 Dale Wood Holden 41.5122
25 Scott McLaughlin Volvo 1m15.4123

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Event Winton
Track Winton Motor Raceway
Drivers Mark Winterbottom , Michael Caruso , Chaz Mostert
Teams Prodrive Racing Australia
Article type Race report