$1 million prize pool for Australian talent search

$1 million prize pool for Australian talent search

The Aussie Driver Search programme has revealed a $1 million prize pool for its 2019 season, which includes a funded drive at the Bathurst 12 Hour.

With entries about to open for the fifth ADS season, the programme has outlined an expanded prize pool that adds up to a million dollars.

The biggest change is a fully-funded drive at the 2020 Bathurst 12 Hour, which will go to the winner of the GT category.

For a second consecutive year the Pro category winner will bag a free drive in the second-tier Supercars Super2, serviced by former title winners Matt Stone Racing.

There is prize money on offer for both the Amateur and Rookie categories, with $100,000 for the former and $30,000 for the latter.

"We are so excited to announce the prize packages for 2019 – it is definitely going to be our biggest and best year yet,” said ADS founder Kyle Austin.

“Having the fully-funded Super2 Series prize with Matt Stone Racing is such a huge deal. This is a real life-changing award for the winner.

“And even for those who make the final, these are key moments in anyone’s motorsport journey. It’s an exciting prize and we are looking forward to the high calibre of entries.

“The GT Competition prize is amazing, too. I was watching that [Bathurst] event a few years ago thinking it would be cool to be apart of, and I’m extremely proud that we will be able to offer someone the chance to race in it.

“The 12 Hour race has cemented itself as a world-class event in our own backyard. It will be a thrill to see someone who has come through our program racing in it.

“The Amateur and Rookie prizes can not be overlooked either. The cash prizes will kick start your racing journey and could send you onto bigger and better things.”

The ADS programme gives young talent the chance to drive a range of cars, right up to an ex-Ford Performance Racing Supercar and an Audi GT3 car, in a series of assessment days at tracks around the country.

There is then a final at the end of the season that determines the winners.

The 2018 winners will be decided at Wakefield Park on December 11-12.

Politeness led to Triple Eight team orders confusion

Previous article

Politeness led to Triple Eight team orders confusion

Next article

Nissan turns pink for Supercars farewell

Nissan turns pink for Supercars farewell
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars , Endurance
Author Andrew van Leeuwen