McLaughlin and Volvo win Race One at Barbagallo

Scott McLaughlin brought home his first victory of 2014 in the 14th race of the season.

V8 Supercar phenom Scott McLaughlin took the first win of the weekend at Barbagallo Raceway after starting from pole position. He also brought Volvo back to the top step of the podium - the first time they've been there since 1986.

Although he started from the top spot, it wasn't a walk in the park for Scotty. Craig Lowndes got a better start, taking over the lead and before the first lap was even completed, the ageless wonder Russell Ingall drove past the Volvo and into second place.

McLaughlin fought back and passed retook the place on lap seven, which was the beginning of Russell's free-fall through the running order. There were no safety car interventions during the 42 lap event. Jason Bright did have an off road excursion in turn six, but no contact was made.

Pit stops began on lap 17 with Will Davison and Tim Slade. The top three (McLaughlin, Lowndes, and Holdsworth) all came in together on lap 22. The Erebus crew had a stellar stop, which allowed Lee Holdsworth to take second from Lowndes as they exited the pit lane.

As Scott McLaughlin maintained a comfortable lead, the battle was on for the runner-up spot. Championship leader Mark Winterbottom muscled his way past Holdsworth for it on lap 35, only to have Fabian Coulthard take it from him a few corners later. Fabian failed to reel in his fellow Kiwi and make a battle out of it though.

As he crossed the line, Scott radioed to his crew and said, "Thanks boys. Thanks for the car. Volvo's first win. Hopefully one of many."

The top ten was as follows - McLaughlin, Coulthard, Mostert, Winterbottom, Holdsworth, Lowndes, Davison, TKelly, Courtney, Reynolds.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Drivers Will Davison , Jason Bright , Russell Ingall , Fabian Coulthard , Craig Lowndes , Mark Winterbottom , Lee Holdsworth , Tim Slade , Scott McLaughlin
Article type Race report
Tags barbagallo raceway, chaz mostert, fabian coulthard, perth, scott mclaughlin, v8 supercars, v8sc, volvo