Lowndes wins from pole as tempers flare

Race 4 was full of everything, apart from a battle for the win.

From pole to the chequered flag, Red Bull Racing Australia driver Craig Lowndes dominated from start to finish. With a picture-perfect start, Lowndes was able to jump Ford's Mark Winterbottom off the line and not look back.

“Have a cry”

There was controversy on Lap 1, however, as Erebus Motorsports driver Will Davison was spun at the Turn 4 hairpin after starting in P3. Davison claimed that it was Holden Racing Team's James Courtney who spun him, while Courtney maintained that Chaz Mostert gave him a shove into him. The move cost Davison dearly as he went from third to last in one turn. The Erebus driver ultimately finished in 17th.

A heated ‘discussion’ began after the race when Davison confronted Courtney about the incident. During an interview after, Davison stated that Courtney told him to “have a cry”.  

Mechanical woes

The woes for Erebus continued, however, as Ash Walsh soon found his Mercedes parked in the garage with the hood up and effectively out of the race.

The same could also be said for Volvo's Scott McLaughlin who suffered mechanical issues early on. Reminiscent of the Clipsal 500, the Volvo team once again had to pull the engine out to correct the issue. After a successful 2014 season, the young Kiwi seems to be having one to forget thus far.

Growing pains for DJR/Team Penske

For Scott Pye, Race 4 was his first V8 Supercars start in 2015 and also his first for the new DJR/team Penske outfit. It wasn’t one to remember, however, as Pye voiced a similar complaint to one which Marcos Ambrose mentioned previously in that he had no confidence in the brakes on a track where stopping power is so important. Pye finished down on the order in 18th.

The finishing order

With Lowndes taking his eighth win at Symmons Plains along with Winterbottom and Courtney filling out the podium, Shane van Gisbergen and Chaz Mostert completed the top-five.

David Reynolds, Jamie Whincup, Garth Tander, Tim Slade and Fabian Coulthard rounded out the top-ten.

Full results for Race 4 can be found here.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Drivers James Courtney , Garth Tander , Marcos Ambrose , Will Davison , Fabian Coulthard , Craig Lowndes , Jamie Whincup , Mark Winterbottom , Tim Slade , Shane van Gisbergen , David Reynolds , Ash Walsh , Scott Pye , Scott McLaughlin , Chaz Mostert
Article type Race report