Holdsworth leaves Erebus, to join FPR in 2015

While Holdsworth did deliver Erebus a win at Winton in 2014, the V8 Supercar driver will once again be changing hats and joining the FPR juggernaut in 2015.

Lee Holdsworth, the driver who brought Erebus Motorsports their first win in the V8 Supercars Series, will be leaving his #4 Mercedes-Benz E63 behind at the end of the 2014 season.

Due to being unable to agree on the terms for an extended contract for the next several seasons, Holdsworth will conclude his partnership with Erebus and will be joining forces with Charlie Schwerkolt Racing (CSR) for the 2015 season and beyond.

Says Schwerkolt, “Lee is one of those guys that you know, given the right equipment and the right environment, will be at front of the pack. I’m incredibly excited to have been able to secure his services, and I know that we’ll be able to do great things together”.

With CSR being a satellite team of Ford Performance Racing, Holdsworth will be replacing the out-bound Jack Perkins in driving the #18 Ford Falcon. 

All the wrong reasons

Holdsworth has been in the headlines many times in recent events but for all the wrong reasons. After a horrific crash as Sandown followed by another at Bathurst, it hasn’t been all sunshine and rainbows for the 31-year old.

"It's no secret that it's been a hard slog over the past couple of years but it didn't stop me rising to the challenge when I got a sniff at a result. When you're trying to develop a new package things don't always go to plan so at times it’s been painful, but you have to stay motivated and get on with the job.

“Knowing what opportunities lie ahead, though, brings me a new level of motivation and enthusiasm and I'm looking forward to the future with my new team."

Bright future for Ford

Holdsworth, whose best finish was seventh in the 2010 championship, is the second driver to be joining the Ford camp in recent months. With this announcement in addition to the return of Marcos Ambrose, Ford looks to be making a strong push to bring home a championship in the 2015 season. 

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Drivers Marcos Ambrose , Lee Holdsworth , Jack Perkins , Charlie Schwerkolt
Teams Erebus Motorsport
Article type Breaking news
Tags silly season