Hidden Valley Story

Hidden Valley, Darwin, NT SATCC Race Results 19/7/98 Winner Race 1: 11:00am - Craig Lowndes Winner Race 2: 1:00pm - Russell Ingall Winner Race 3: 3:10pm - Russell Ingall ...

Hidden Valley, Darwin, NT SATCC Race Results 19/7/98 Winner Race 1: 11:00am - Craig Lowndes Winner Race 2: 1:00pm - Russell Ingall Winner Race 3: 3:10pm - Russell Ingall SATCC Round 9-Race Wrap 19/7/98 RACE 1 11:00am 19/7/98 Jason Bright on pole for Race 1 Series Leader, Craig Lowndes has taken the inaugural Shell V8 Race at Darwin's Hidden Valley this morning, set the new lap record (1m10.35s) on the 2.9 km circuit and extended his championship lead over Russell Ingall to 60 points. Driving his new Mobil Holden VT, Lowndes lost the start, dropped back to 5th but won the 17 lap battle in the final 100 metres passing team mate Mark Skaife. Skaife, who won the start and led the entire race, fell victim to engine failure in the final few metres but secured second, .3 of a second behind Lowndes. Third was the Mitre 10 Falcon of Mark Larkham. For the chasing, Russell Ingall, a good start saw him catapult from 8th to 4th, but he punted Jason Bright on Lap 4, was given a stop-go penalty dropping back to 17th. He finished a disappointing 13th, and the paltry 14 point haul versus Lowndes 40 points from the race, will probably end his championship hopes. RACE 2 1:00pm 19/7/98 Russell Ingall's chances of taking out his first Shell Series Championship received a giant boost when he won the second of today's three races at Darwin's Hidden Valley race circuit. Ingall has moved to just 18 points behind Craig Lowndes and it appears unlikely that Lowndes will start in the third race later today. The incident packed second race saw Ingall move from thirteenth on the grid to take the lead by the half way mark. Neither of the Holden Racing Team cars started in the second race, both out with engine problems. Several cars where shunned off the track in a series of fast and furious passing manoeuvres. Positions changed frequently and the race was slowed under the pace car as John Faulkner's damaged Commodore was dragged from the track. With 40 points up for grabs in the last race, Ingall may take the championship lead. Leader on the day is Queenslander, Tony Longhurst with 66 points, followed by Jason Bargwanna and Paul Romano on 60 points. RACE 3 3:10pm 19/7/98 Castrol's Russell Ingall has recharged his Shell Championship hopes at Darwin's Hidden Valley today in front of a record 27,000 crowd, winning the round with victory in two of the three races and reducing his deficit to foe Craig Lowndes to 6 points. Ingall's title hopes looked all but dashed after race one, with a controversial stop/go penalty after an altercation with Jason Bright saw him limp home 12th. However he fired back with two wins in his new Castrol Holden VT to take the day on 96 points, with Jason Bargwanna second overall in the Valvoline Cummins Commodore, and Glenn Seton in the Ford Credit Falcon 3rd. Ingall's foe and series leader, Lowndes, won the opening race; but a blown engine in pit lane didn't even see him make the start of race 2. Mobil mechanics couldn't get the car ready for race three. But as luck would have it the third battle was stopped after a massive lap one pile up giving the Mobil team vital mintues. Lowndes started the shortened 14 lap race from the back of the grid and finished 6th. Lowndes now leads the championship on 872 points, with Ingall on 866 points and Larry Perkins on 680 points. The final Shell Round is at Oran Park on August 2. In the biggest event ever staged in the Northern Territory, 27,000 people filled the arena for the V8 SUPERCAR drama. Round 9 Winners - Ingall 1st, Bargwanna 2nd, Seton 3rd Shell Series Championship Points Update 19/7/98 Placing Driver Points 1. Russell Ingall - Castrol Commodore (12, 1, 1) 96 2. Jason Bargwanna - Valvoline Commodore (8, 2, 2) 96 3. Glenn Seton - Ford Credit Falcon (9, 6, 3) 84 4. John Bowe - Shell Helix Falcon (7, 7, 7) 78 5. Tony Longhurst - Castrol Falcon (4, 3, 14) 78 6. Mark Larkham - Mitre 10 Falcon (3, 14, 5) 76 7. Craig Lowndes - Mobil HRT Commodore (1, DNS, 6) 68 8. Larry Perkins - Castrol Perkins Commodore (16, 8, 4) 64 9. Paul Romano - Romano Commodore (5, 5, DNF) 60 10. Mark Skaife - Mobil HRT Commodore (2, DNS, 9) 58 Shell Series Championship Progressive Points Update 19/7/98 Placing Driver Points 1. Craig Lowndes - Mobil HRT Commodore 872 2. Russell Ingall - Castrol Perkins Commodore 866 3. Larry Perkins - Castrol Perkins Commodore 680 4. Mark Skaife - Mobile HRT Commodore 660 5. John Bowe - Shell Helix Falcon 660 6. Glenn Seton - Ford Credit Falcon 614 7. Jason Bright - Pirtek Falcon 538 8. Dick Johnson - Shell Helix Falcon 536 9. Jason Bargwanna - Valvoline Cummins Commodore 515 10. Tony Longhurst - Castrol Falcon

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Drivers John Faulkner , Jason Bright , Russell Ingall , Mark Skaife , Mark Larkham , Craig Lowndes , Jason Bargwanna , John Bowe , Glenn Seton , Tony Longhurst , Larry Perkins , Dick Johnson