Gold Coast V8s: Van Gisbergen takes provisional pole

Shane van Gisbergen will run last in this morning’s Top 10 Shootout on the Gold Coast, after topping qualifying ahead of Jamie Whincup.

Van Gisbergen stamped his authority on the session just after the half-way mark, laying down a two laps stint that saw him go fastest with a 1m11.352s.

He then improved on that time during the typical last-minute rush of quick times, a 1m11.091s enough to hold off a serious late challenge from Whincup, just 0.013s separating the soon-to-be-team-mates at the end of the session.

“The car is just awesome,” said van Gisbergen. “Hopefully we can do it again in the Shootout. The car is quick enough maybe to do it on old tyres.”

Behind van Gisbergen and Whincup, Nissan driver Rick Kelly booked his own Shootout spot with an impressive 1m11.141s to go third fastest, less than a hundredth ahead of Volvo’s Scott McLaughlin, who actually set purple times in Sectors 1 and 2 on his final lap before falling short in S3.

Tim Slade, points leader Mark Winterbottom, James Moffat, and Garth Tander also locked down Shootout spots.

Title contenders Craig Lowndes and David Reynolds did manage to make it in to the Shootout, but did it the tough way. Lowndes was actually outside the Top 10 when the chequered flag came out, but managed to sneak in to ninth on his last lap, while Reynolds slipped to within 0.045s of missing out, that being the gap back to Nick Percat in P11.

 Pos  Driver   Car   Time   Gap
S.van Gisbergen Holden 1:11.0913  
Jamie Whincup Holden 1:11.1046 0.0133
Rick Kelly Nissan 1:11.1416 0.0503
Scott McLaughlin Volvo 1:11.1439 0.0526
Tim Slade Holden 1:11.3031 0.2118
M.Winterbottom Ford 1:11.3625 0.2712
James Moffat Nissan 1:11.4024 0.3111
Garth Tander Holden 1:11.4407 0.3494
Craig Lowndes Holden 1:11.4646 0.3733
10  David Reynolds Ford 1:11.4760 0.3847
11  Nick Percat Holden 1:11.5206 0.4293
12  Jason Bright Holden 1:11.5252 0.4339
13  James Courtney Holden 1:11.5684 0.4771
14  Fabian Coulthard Holden 1:11.6169 0.5256
15  Scott Pye Ford 1:11.6595 0.5682
16  Will Davison Mercedes 1:11.7775 0.6862
17  Lee Holdsworth Holden 1:11.8277 0.7364
18  David Wall Volvo 1:11.8389 0.7476
19  Cameron Waters Ford 1:11.8447 0.7534
20  Tim Blanchard Holden 1:11.9623 0.8710
21  Todd Kelly Nissan 1:11.9624 0.8711
22  Michael Caruso Nissan 1:12.0617 0.9704
23  Dale Wood Holden 1:12.1364 1.0451
24  A.Heimgartner Ford 1:12.1609 1.0696
25  Ashley Walsh Mercedes 1:12.3206 1.2293
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Event Surfers Paradise
Track Streets of Surfers Paradise
Drivers Shane van Gisbergen
Article type Qualifying report