Gold Coast V8s: Van Gisbergen pips McLaughlin to Saturday pole

Shane van Gisbergen backed up his qualifying speed with a stunning lap in the Top 10 Shootout to secure pole position for today’s 300-kilometre race.

The Tekno Autosports driver had it all to do on his flying lap, with Volvo driver Scott McLaughlin having set the bar high with an impressive 1m11.685s.

And it was almost enough; van Gisbergen was 0.07s down on McLaughlin at the first sector, and 0.127s down at the second – only to turn it all around and into a 0.141s advantage at the end of the lap.

“It was a bit wild,” said van Gisbergen. “The first sector was pretty good, but I went a bit too hard into the chicanes and flew pretty high. But it’s all good, it was good fun. You want to get out of the mess in this race, and we’re out of it.”

McLaughlin, who will start alongside van Gisbergen on the front row, said he couldn’t have gone any faster on his lap.

“[Shane] did a bloody good job. I gave it everything I could,” he said. “I was having so much fun out there, it was right on the line.

“Shane did an awesome job in that last sector, just got me. It will be a good race.”

Mark Winterbottom will start third, having turned what was a first sector deficit into what was comfortably the fastest time to that point of the session with a 1m11.863s.

Nissan pair Rick Kelly and James Moffat were solid to qualify fourth and fifth respectively, while Craig Lowndes was just sixth fastest, an untidy first sector hampering his time.

Jamie Whincup wasted a golden opportunity to qualify right at the front, having been just 0.03s slower than McLaughlin’s time to the first sector. But running wide in the final sector proved costly, Whincup just seventh fastest across the line.

David Reynolds will start eighth, a gain of two spots compared to his qualifying position, with the two Walkinshaw-run Commodores of Tim Slade and Garth Tander rounding out the Top 10.

Pos  Driver   Car   Time   Gap 
S.van Gisbergen Holden 1:11.5442  
Scott McLaughlin Volvo 1:11.6854 0.1412
M.Winterbottom Ford 1:11.8636 0.3194
Rick Kelly Nissan 1:12.0789 0.5347
James Moffat Nissan 1:12.1785 0.6343
Craig Lowndes Holden 1:12.2588 0.7146
Jamie Whincup Holden 1:12.3124 0.7682
David Reynolds Ford 1:12.3186 0.7744
Tim Slade Holden 1:12.4144 0.8702
10  Garth Tander Holden 1:12.6370 1.0928

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Event Surfers Paradise
Track Streets of Surfers Paradise
Drivers Shane van Gisbergen
Article type Qualifying report