Gold Coast V8s: McLaughlin storms to Sunday pole

Scott McLaughlin will start today’s 300-kilometre V8 Supercars race on the Gold Coast from pole position.

The young Kiwi was fast throughout the 20-minute session, sitting second fastest after the first run.

But it was during the crucial second run at the end of the session that McLaughlin really put the hammer down, a 1m10.762s with two minutes left on the clock enough to secure pole position for he and Alex Premat ahead of today’s second 300-kay race.

Title contender Craig Lowndes was second fastest, after improving significantly on his last run. The Triple Eight driver was first in to the 1m10s with a 1m10.862s, although he was only fastest for a matter of seconds before McLaughlin knocked him out of P1.

Yesterday’s race winner Shane van Gisbergen was third fastest in the Tekno Commodore. The Kiwi was fastest after the first batch of runs with an impressive 1m11.195s, and then lowered that time to a 1m10.931s on his final lap to lock down a second row start.

He will be joined on the second row by Lowndes’s team-mate Jamie Whincup, who was the only other driver to go under 1m11s.

Points leader Mark Winterbottom’s #5 Falcon will start the race fifth, alongside Scott Pye and Marcos Ambrose’s Penske entry. Holden drivers Garth Tander and Tim Slade locked out the fourth row, with David Reynolds and Lee Holdsworth rounding out the Top 10.

Pos  Driver  Car   Time   Gap
Scott McLaughlin Volvo 1:10.7628  
Craig Lowndes Holden 1:10.8626 0.0998
S.van Gisbergen Holden 1:10.9034 0.1406
Jamie Whincup Holden 1:10.9316 0.1688
M.Winterbottom Ford 1:11.0443 0.2815
Scott Pye Ford 1:11.0795 0.3167
Garth Tander Holden 1:11.0908 0.3280
Tim Slade Holden 1:11.1091 0.3463
David Reynolds Ford 1:11.1755 0.4127
10  Lee Holdsworth Holden 1:11.2218 0.4590
11  James Courtney Holden 1:11.2482 0.4854
12  James Moffat Nissan 1:11.2830 0.5202
13  Jason Bright Holden 1:11.3299 0.5671
14  Rick Kelly Nissan 1:11.4033 0.6405
15  Nick Percat Holden 1:11.4211 0.6583
16  Fabian Coulthard Holden 1:11.4723 0.7095
17  Will Davison Mercedes 1:11.4911 0.7283
18  Ashley Walsh Mercedes 1:11.5273 0.7645
19  Todd Kelly Nissan 1:11.6123 0.8495
20  David Wall Volvo 1:11.6831 0.9203
21  A.Heimgartner Ford 1:11.7126 0.9498
22  Tim Blanchard Holden 1:11.7452 0.9824
23  Cameron Waters Ford 1:11.7575 0.9947
24  Michael Caruso Nissan 1:11.8425 1.0797
25  Dale Wood Holden 1:11.8717 1.1089
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Event Surfers Paradise
Track Streets of Surfers Paradise
Drivers Scott McLaughlin
Article type Qualifying report