20 Feb
23 Feb
Practice 1 in
3 days
Albert Park
12 Mar
15 Mar
Next event in
23 days
Symmons Plains
03 Apr
05 Apr
Next event in
45 days
24 Apr
26 Apr
Next event in
66 days
15 May
17 May
Next event in
87 days
05 Jun
07 Jun
Next event in
108 days
26 Jun
28 Jun
Next event in
129 days
Hidden Valley
17 Jul
19 Jul
Next event in
150 days
28 Aug
30 Aug
Next event in
192 days
The Bend
18 Sep
20 Sep
Next event in
213 days
08 Oct
11 Oct
Next event in
233 days
Surfers Paradise
30 Oct
01 Nov
Next event in
255 days
20 Nov
22 Nov
Next event in
276 days
04 Dec
06 Dec
Next event in
290 days

Gold Coast V8s: Courtney/Perkins take remarkable Gold Coast win

Gold Coast V8s: Courtney/Perkins take remarkable Gold Coast win
Oct 25, 2015, 7:04 AM

James Courtney and Jack Perkins came from seemingly nowhere to win a remarkable Sunday race on the streets of the Gold Coast.

The race came down to strategy and fuel saving, a sneaky decision to switch to a three-stopper taking both the Courtney Commodore and the Nissan Altima of Rick Kelly and David Russell from the middle of the pack to the front, after the #888 Commodore and #33 Volvo dominated the first half of the race.

The turning point

The turning point in the race was a Lap 54 Safety Car, called to clear debris. The awkward timing meant the entire field needed to pit to make their second stops, but with the race re-starting on Lap 59 it was a stretch to get to the finish on fuel.

From there, the race split into two groups; the two-stoppers and the three-stoppers. Midfielders James Courtney and Rick Kelly were first to switch to a three-stop strategy, pitting for fuel right before the Safety Car period came to an end.

Eventually, the front-runners began to opt for the more conservative option and pit. First it was Mark Winterbottom two laps after the race went green, followed by the likes of Jamie Whincup and Shane van Gisbergen over the next couple of laps.

The #888 then made its stop on Lap 67, handing the lead over to the #33 Volvo for the first time of the day. Five laps later Scott McLaughlin followed suit, slotting back in behind Craig Lowndes.

Crucially, however, the two early leaders – who had controlled the race until that Lap 54 caution – were behind Courtney and Kelly, albeit with a better margin for error on fuel.

In the end, though, that extra fuel didn’t matter. Both Courtney and Kelly did enough to make it to the finish, remarkably finishing first and second.

The win came on Courtney’s comeback to the championship after an enforced break due to injury, and also marked Perkins’s first ever win in V8 Supercars.

“The guys did a cracking job with the strategy,” said Courtney.

“Jack’s done a great job filling in for me. I can’t thank him enough for filling in for me and taking that leadership role. It really paid off today.”

Tander does it different

Garth Tander finished third on a strategy that fell somewhere in between the two. The #2 Commodore didn’t switch to the three-stop until Lap 91, but had done enough with his track position to be able to make that third stop and still slot in ahead of Lowndes and McLaughlin, who were resigned to finishing fourth and fifth respectively.

The podium finish also secured the Pirtek Enduro Cup for Tander and co-driver Warren Luff.

Nissan rolls the dice – big time

The biggest strategic call of the day went to the #23 Nissan. Dean Fiore started the race way back in 24th, with the team opting to leave the co-driver in until Lap 51, rather than swap him straight out on lap 34. The car also switched straight to the soft tyres – all just three laps before that crucial Safety Car period changed the race.

It gave the car track position, the right tyres, and almost enough fuel to make it to the finish, all without having to stop during the SC period.

In the end it took a quick splash-and-dash for Michael Caruso to make the finish, but he still came home 10th, a decent gain on where the car started.

Winterbottom drops more points

While Prodrive did switch the #5 Falcon of points leader Mark Winterbottom and Steve Owen to the three-stopper fairly early, the pair could only manage 11th. That means Lowndes has further closed the gap to the runaway leader, 258 points separating the pair with three rounds to go.

Clashing Kiwis

It was another short enduro race for the #34 Volvo, Chris Pither retiring from the race on just Lap 8 after being turned in on by fellow Kiwi Ant Pedersen.

The contact took Pither out of the race, while Pedersen was able to continue despite nosing the Super Black Falcon in to the wall. He did, however, have to serve a drive-through penalty.

“I felt like I was comfortably up inside on that corner,” explained Pither. “I’d had a look two laps prior and I wasn’t, I pulled out. That lap I thought I was comfortably in the gap. I think he just didn’t see I was there and turned in. It’s disappointing.”

Pos  Driver  Car   Laps   Time/Gap 
1 James Courtney
Jack Perkins
Holden Racing Team Holden 102 2:14:20.4257 
2 Rick Kelly
David Russell
Jack Daniels-Nissan Motorsport Nissan 102 1.9930
3 Garth Tander
Warren Luff
Holden Racing Team Holden 102 5.6775
4 Craig Lowndes
Steven Richards
Red Bull Racing Australia Holden 102 11.2591
5 S.van Gisbergen
Jonathon Webb
Team Darrell Lea STIX Holden 102 14.5234
6 Scott McLaughlin
Alexandre Prémat
Wilson Security Racing GRM Volvo 102 15.1428
7 Jamie Whincup
Paul Dumbrell
Red Bull Racing Australia Holden 102 15.6333
8 James Moffat
Taz Douglas
Nissan Nismo Nissan 102 15.8690
9 David Reynolds
Dean Canto
The Bottle-O Racing Team Ford 102 18.6762
10 Michael Caruso
Dean Fiore
Nissan Nismo Nissan 102 21.4390
11 M.Winterbottom
Steve Owen
Pepsi Max Crew Ford 102 22.5081
12 Tim Slade
Tony D'Alberto
Supercheap Auto Racing Holden 102 29.4620
13 Fabian Coulthard
Luke Youlden
Freightliner Racing Holden 102 29.9545
14 Lee Holdsworth
Walkinshaw Racing Holden 102 30.3584
15 Nick Percat
Oliver Gavin
Repair Management Australia Racing Holden 102 32.5172
16 Will Davison
Alex Davison
Erebus Motorsport Mercedes 102 40.1061
17 Todd Kelly
Alex Buncombe
Jack Daniels-Nissan Motorsport Nissan 102 50.0055
18 A.Heimgartner
Ant Pedersen
Super Black Racing Ford 102 52.5301
19 Cameron Waters
Russell Ingall
Pepsi Max Crew Ford 102 55.9278
20 Dale Wood
Macauley Jones
GB Galvanising Racing Holden 102 56.1884
21 Scott Pye
Marcos Ambrose
DJR Team Penske Ford 102 1'10.6931
22 Tim Blanchard
Karl Reindler
Team Cooldrive Holden 101 1 Lap
23 Jason Bright
Andrew Jones
Team BOC Holden 97 5 Laps
DNF  Ashley Walsh
Jack Le Brocq
Erebus Motorsport Mercedes 88  
DNF  David Wall
Chris Pither
Wilson Security Racing GRM Volvo 6  
Next article
Gold Coast V8s: McLaughlin storms to Sunday pole

Previous article

Gold Coast V8s: McLaughlin storms to Sunday pole

Next article

Courtney opens up on injury recovery

Courtney opens up on injury recovery
Load comments