Davison takes race 2 win in Trading Post Perth Challenge

V8 Supercars Australia Championship

Davison Wins In the West

WILL Davison has won today's first race of the Tradingpost Perth Challenge, leading home pole-sitter Jamie Whincup and his FPR teammate Mark Winterbottom.

It was the fourth race win this year for Davison, and his first at the Barbagallo circuit.

"They were coming at me and I was just hoping that their softs would start dropping off," said Davison.

"The car was super consistent and it worked a treat, I'm stoked."

It was a nervewracking race but I just kept my cool.

Will Davison

"We've found at times that when there's more soft tyre running the track goes a bit slippery which makes it worse on the hard tyres, but my car certainly hung in there beautifully."

"It was a nervewracking race but I just kept my cool. After yesterday this is such a good way to bounce back."

Whincup got the jump off the line but Davison, on soft tyres, got past on lap three and held the lead to the chequered flag, despite a late race push from his TeamVodafone rival.

"We had a good car and we pushed on but it was the same story as yesterday, very good but not quite good enough," said Whincup.

"We've been the number one team for a while and we want that back so we're going to keep working. We're not going to let this one get away."

Yesterday's race winner Mark Winterbottom finished third, ahead of Fabian Coulthard and Lee Holdsworth.

Craig Lowndes, Tim Slade, Jason Bright, David Reynolds and Garth Tander rounded out the top ten.

The third and final race of the Tradingpost Perth Challenge starts at 2.05pm local time (4.05pm AEST).

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Drivers Garth Tander , Will Davison , Jason Bright , Fabian Coulthard , Craig Lowndes , Jamie Whincup , Mark Winterbottom , Lee Holdsworth , Tim Slade , David Reynolds
Tags barbagallo, davison, featured, ford, whincup, winterbottom