Darwin Supercars: Mostert wins dramatic opener

Chaz Mostert emerged on top of a dramatic opening Supercars sprint race at Hidden Valley in Darwin.

The race got off to a dramatic start, with polesitter Anton De Pasquale the centrepiece of a first-corner pile-up.

The Dick Johnson Racing driver's woes started when he was outfoxed by Shane van Gisbergen into Turn 1, his Triple Eight rival drifting right before pulling a surprise move down the inside. 

De Pasquale was then tapped into a spin by Scott Pye, who bounced over the inside kerb, before being hit again by a slow-starting Mark Winterbottom.

There was another few hits coming too, Todd Hazelwood, Jack Smith, Fabian Coulthard and Garry Jacobson all crunching into De Pasquale's stricken Mustang.

Pye was slapped with a drive-through penalty for triggering the crash.

The clean-up soaked up the first six laps of the race, the race going green again to start Lap 7. At that point van Gisbergen was leading, with Nick Percat and Mostert sitting second and third.

They ran in that order until Lap 10 when Mostert slid up the inside of Percat into Turn 1. The Walkinshaw Andretti United driver then settled into second, a little over two seconds behind the leader.

At that point it looked like van Gisbergen's race to lose, until he came in for his Lap 22 stop. A stubborn right-rear wheel nut meant the service took a whole 30 seconds, van Gisbergen re-joining the race way down in 20th.

That left Mostert with a commanding lead, his final margin 12.3s as he took a second win for Walkinshaw Andretti United.

"Starting eighth I was just thinking I hope I get through Turn 1," said Mostert. "Then I lucked in to coming out of Turn 1 in third. 

"I was pretty quick at the start and I was a bit worried about that, normally when you have a quick car at the start you get worried that the degradation is going to come. I'm super pumped, it's good to have a fast race car."

Cam Waters worked his way up to second by the finish after barging his way past Percat during the second stint.

Percat, meanwhile, finished third on the road but will now face a post-race investigation regarding a breach of the minimum tyre pressure regulations.

His car was clocked with pressures under the minimum 17psi as he rolled down pitlane following his stop, that matter now in the hands of the stewards. 

Fourth came down to a battle between the two Boost-backed drivers Brodie Kostecki and James Courtney. 

That battle came to a head three laps from the end when Courtney dived up the inside of Kostecki at Turn 5. The pair made contact, Kostecki short-cutting the track to Turn 7 to retain his position before being hit with a five-second penalty for an improper re-join.

That dropped him from fourth on the road to ninth in the results.

Kostecki's teammate Will Brown, racing in the stifling heat without a working cool suit, finished fifth behind Courtney.

Brothers Jake and Kurt Kostecki finished an impressive sixth and seventh ahead of Tim Slade.

Van Gisbergen fought his way back to 13th, one spot behind teammate Jamie Whincup on what was a tough day for Triple Eight.

That means his series lead was only cut by two points back to 188, although Mostert is now only 190 points behind the Kiwi. 

Race results:

Cla # Driver Car Time
1 25 Australia Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB  
2 6 Australia Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 12.390
3 8 Australia Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 15.361
4 44 Australia James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 21.421
5 9 Australia Will Brown Holden Commodore ZB 23.315
6 34 Australia Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 24.763
7 27 Australia Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 25.244
8 3 Australia Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 25.660
9 99 Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 25.730
10 55 Australia Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 25.984
11 2 Australia Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 26.497
12 88 Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 26.704
13 97 New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 28.509
14 17 Australia Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 29.240
15 7 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 30.089
16 35 Australia Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB 35.349
17 96 Australia Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 36.924
18 22 Australia Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 37.117
19 26 Australia David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 37.467
20 5 Australia Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 39.622
21 20 Australia Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 2 laps
22 18 Australia Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 9 laps
  11 Australia Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT  
  19 New Zealand Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore ZB  
  14 Australia Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB  
  4 Australia Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB  

Related video

Wild Stadium Super Truck rollover in Darwin

Previous article

Wild Stadium Super Truck rollover in Darwin

Next article

Pye apologised to De Pasquale for Darwin clash

Pye apologised to De Pasquale for Darwin clash
Load comments
How Randle went from fighting cancer to battling for Supercars contention Prime

How Randle went from fighting cancer to battling for Supercars contention

After his fledgling career was paused by a battle with testicular cancer, Thomas Randle then had to wrestle with finding a drive in Supercars after he got the all-clear. It's been a long road for the Melbourne native but, after two lengthy battles, he's finally got a full-time drive to look forward to

Jun 29, 2021
How crisis talks over Supercars’ Gen3 future could leave it without a paddle Prime

How crisis talks over Supercars’ Gen3 future could leave it without a paddle

With Supercars’ Gen3 era on the horizon, a shift is set to take place – in more ways than one – but, as has become clear in recent weeks, the plan to bin the stick and use paddles with electronic assisted shift has been met with fierce opposition

May 24, 2021
Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske? Prime

Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske?

Roger Penske's whirlwind Australian Supercars sojourn is over. After six seasons, three drivers' titles, three teams' championships and a Bathurst 1000 crown, The Captain has sold his controlling stake in Dick Johnson Racing back to the squad and walked away from the category.

Feb 26, 2021
Can Whincup be Triple Eight's ruthless leader? Prime

Can Whincup be Triple Eight's ruthless leader?

Supercars' most successful team of the past 15 years is set for a radical shakeup next year when Jamie Whincup retires from driving and takes over the reins at Triple Eight. But does he have what it takes to be the new Roland Dane?

Feb 8, 2021
How a lifetime Supercars deal broke down in one year Prime

How a lifetime Supercars deal broke down in one year

David Reynolds inked what was effectively a lifetime deal with Erebus in 2019 – only to walk out a year later. What went wrong?

Dec 18, 2020
Why Supercars now needs a new "human salt harvester" Prime

Why Supercars now needs a new "human salt harvester"

Scott McLaughlin has been a controversial figure in Supercars over the past few years but, as he heads off to a fresh challenge in IndyCar, the Australian tin-top series needs to find someone else to fill his drama-filled boots as the category enters a new era...

Nov 3, 2020
Why 2020 isn't McLaughlin's greatest title Prime

Why 2020 isn't McLaughlin's greatest title

Scott McLaughlin was quick to describe his third Supercars title as his best yet. But even though it didn't match the dramatic backstory of his 2018 triumph, there's a good reason for him wanting to control the narrative this time around.

Oct 2, 2020
Why a Bathurst finale is risky business for Supercars Prime

Why a Bathurst finale is risky business for Supercars

The Bathurst Grand Final may provide Supercars its greatest spectacle yet – but there's a risk it will force the series to face a hard truth.

Sep 4, 2020