Changes made to Supercars Superlicence criteria

The Confederation of Australian Motor Sport has confirmed that several changes have been made to the criteria for its controversial Superlicence system.

It's been made easier for automatically qualify for a Superlicence through the second-tier Super2 series, with the top six in the Super2 standings now automatically eligible.

That can also be extended down to eighth place in the standings, to account for Super2 frontrunners that already hold a Superlicence.

The Super2 qualification spots join an FIA Gold Rating and a minimum of three Supercars events in the last five years on the list of ways to automatically qualify for the licence.

It also means a driver can qualify for a Superlicence in a single Super2 season, whereas originally there was 12 points on offer for the series champion, and 13 required for the licence, meaning that a driver had to compete a minimum of two seasons.

The third-tier V8 Touring Car Series has also been given a boost, with the winner's allocation raised from five to seven, and points awarded all the way down to sixth place.

“We think these alterations will ensure those deserving of a CAMS Superlicence are rewarded for their efforts in motorsport,” said CAMS CEO Eugene Arocca.

“The [Australian Motor Racing Commission] will also review the points classification across all championships and series annually to ensure the points adequate reflect the relevant category.

“The AMRC has also told us they are not anticipating any further changes to the Superlicence Qualification Criteria in 2018.”

The system has bore the brunt of significant criticism since it was introduced earlier this year, mostly down to its weighting towards the struggling Formula 4 series, which is run by CAMS.

It also led to a bungled deal between LD Motorsport and Super2 regular Matt Chahda back in February, with Chahda refused a Superlicence exemption from CAMS.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Article type Breaking news