Bathurst qualifying notes

Jones and Bowe sizzle in Bob Jane T-Marts 1000 qualifying. The OzEmail Ford Falcon of John Bowe and Brad Jones upstaged the Holden Racing Team in a sizzling qualifying session for the Bob Jane T-Marts 1000 at Mt Panorama, Bathurst today. In...

Jones and Bowe sizzle in Bob Jane T-Marts 1000 qualifying.

The OzEmail Ford Falcon of John Bowe and Brad Jones upstaged the Holden Racing Team in a sizzling qualifying session for the Bob Jane T-Marts 1000 at Mt Panorama, Bathurst today.

In his 18th Bathurst appearance, two-time race winner John Bowe showed his experience setting a sizzling qualifying lap record of two minutes 8.3873 seconds to put his and Jones' Number 21 Falcon in with a great show of pole position tomorrow.

Bowe's lap was nearly two seconds faster than his previous best around the Mt Panorama circuit.

"There is some (fast) time in the car and some (fast) time in the tyres, and we can probably go a second quicker," said Bowe.

Team-mate Jones said while today was their day, luck will play a large part in Sunday's outcome.

"Luck always plays a large part. But we're just a couple of old blokes doing the best we can," Jones said.

Mark Skaife and Jim Richards held top position for most of today's session in a mirror of yesterday's practice when they were displaced off top position in the final minutes.

The Holden Racing Team Number 1 car clocked a lap of 2:08.4047, only two hundredths of a second behind the Bowe/Jones car. Team-mates Jason Bright and Tomas Mezera were third in HRT Car 2 with a best lap time of 2:09.0170.

The Castrol Perkins Racing Number 21 Commodore of Steve Richards and Russell Ingall qualified fourth for tomorrow's Top 15 Shoot Out clocking 2:09.1405 ahead of the 00 Motorsport Falcon of Craig Lowndes and Neil Crompton (2:09.3599).

This morning Skaife set a Bob Jane T-Marts 1000 lap record for practice sessions with a blistering 2:08.4587 in the second practice.

In other major news out of the morning session, the Caltex Havoline Number 9 Falcon of David Besnard and Wayne Gardner was withdrawn from the event following an accident.

Entering Konica Bend out of Mountain Straight, Gardner lost his front brakes due to a displaced brake valve and had the "biggest crash" of his touring car career. The former 500cc motorcycle world champion who was celebrating his 43rd birthday was knocked unconscious suffering minor concussion.

After reviewing the damage, the Stone Brothers Racing Team decided to withdraw the car from the 2002 event leaving the team with the single Number 4 Pirtek Falcon in the race.

In other racing categories, Neil McFadyen won race one of the Formula Ford in his Tankworld/Speedzone Van Diemen RF94 in a close duel with Brett Francis (Bryce Francis Automotive Van Diemen RF02) and Jordan Ormsby (Swingyde Van Diemen RF93).

Super Cheap Auto Racing's Luke Youlden was the fastest qualifier for tomorrow's Konica V8 Supercar Challenge with a best lap of 2:11.4216 with Sirromet Racing's Wayne Wakefield close behind with a lap of 2:12.5483.

In race one of the Porsche Cup, Peter Fitzgerald continued his qualifying form by taking the race in his Falken Tyres/VIP Petfoods 996 GT3 by more than six seconds from Jonathon Webb of Tekno Autosports.

Paul Stubber won race one of the Historic Touring Cars in a Chev Camaro by four seconds from yesterday's fastest qualifier Brad Tilley driving a Ford Mustang.

In other interesting news today, a couple were married in pit lane with a heavy involvement from Castrol Perkins Racing. Larry Perkins gave the bride away while the groom's best man was Steve Richards.

Today's crowd of 33,973 was a record for Friday attendances at the Bob Jane T-Marts 1000, following on from yesterday's first day record of 28,566 people.

Tomorrow's session starts at 7.40am with the V8 Supercars in the Top 15 Shootout at 10.05am (concludes at 11.10am).

1. Brad Jones/John Bowe (OzEmail Racing #21) 2:08.3873
2. Mark Skaife/Jim Richards (Holden Racing Team #1) 2:08.4047
3. Jason Bright/Tomas Mezera (Holden Racing Team #2) 2:09.0170
4. Steve Richards/Russell Ingall (Castrol Perkins Racing #16) 2:09.1405
5. Craig Lowndes/Neil Crompton (00 Motorsport #00) 2:09.3559
6. Max Wilson/Dean Canto (Betta Electrical Racing #66) 2:09.4655
7. Steve Ellery/Luke Youlden (Super Cheap Auto Racing #31) 2:09.6381
8. Garth Tander/Jason Bargwanna (Garry Rogers Motorsport #34) 2:09.6631
9. Larry Perkins/Paul Dumbrell (Castrol Perkins Racing #11) 2:09.6931
10. Greg Murphy/Todd Kelly (K-Mart Racing #51) 2:09.7464


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Drivers Max Wilson , David Besnard , Garth Tander , Jason Bright , Neil Crompton , Greg Murphy , Wayne Gardner , Russell Ingall , Jim Richards , Brad Jones , Dean Canto , Mark Skaife , Craig Lowndes , Jason Bargwanna , John Bowe , Todd Kelly , Brad Tilley , Garry Rogers , Luke Youlden , Paul Dumbrell , Larry Perkins , Bob Jane , Peter Fitzgerald , Paul Stubber , Wayne Wakefield , Neil McFadyen , Jonathon Webb , Steve Richards
Teams Tekno Autosports , Holden Racing Team , Garry Rogers Motorsport