Bathurst 1000 Saturday report

A record-breaking Saturday crowd at the Bob Jane T-Marts 1000 in Bathurst witnessed a phenomenal record-breaking performance by K-Mart Racing's Greg Murphy in the top 10 shootout today. The New Zealand V8 Supercar star ripped out the fastest lap...

A record-breaking Saturday crowd at the Bob Jane T-Marts 1000 in Bathurst witnessed a phenomenal record-breaking performance by K-Mart Racing's Greg Murphy in the top 10 shootout today.

The New Zealand V8 Supercar star ripped out the fastest lap ever around Mount Panorama in front of 44,553 people clocking 2:06.8594, more than a second faster than the previous best-ever lap which he recorded yesterday.

Murphy, who topped the practice and qualifying time sheets over the past two days, claimed his first ever Bob Jane T-Marts 1000 pole position in a lap that sent the Holden fans wild but left him speechless.

"I'm still lost for words," said Murphy. "I can't believe what has happened. I knew we had to push pretty hard to get past JB (John Bowe), but that time was amazing.

"I had to check with the boys that it was correct. Actually I made a pretty big error. Out of the Dipper, I put it into first (gear) instead of third so it certainly wasn't perfect."

Bowe (OzEmail Racing) had the fastest lap before Murphy hit the track after recording 2:07.9556 -- the first-ever shootout time under 2:08. Murphy and Bowe will start the Bob Jane T-Marts 1000 tomorrow at 10am on the front row of the grid.

"I thought ours was a pretty reasonable lap," said Bowe. "Murph's was fantastic. No one ever considered that anyone could do that time.

"Usually times are cut by hundredths of a second, not a whole second."

Seven-time Bathurst winner Jim Richards (Holden Racing Team) was third fastest with his best-ever lap of Mount Panorama in 2:08.1466, while Garth Tander (Garry Rogers Motorsport) will also be on the second row of the grid after a 2:08.4127 lap.

Series leader Marcos Ambrose (Pirtek Caltex Havoline Racing) will start from fifth position tomorrow after a shootout lap of 2:08.442, and fellow Ford driver Craig Lowndes (Ford Performance Racing) was sixth with 2:08.4507.

The winner of the previous two Bob Jane T-Marts 1000s and last year's pole-sitter, Mark Skaife (Holden Racing Team) put in a lap of 2:08.5696 to be seventh fastest.

Murphy's time today was actually 1.96 seconds quicker than Skaife's pole time last year.

The Castrol Perkins Racing number 11 car was forced to miss today's shootout after Larry Perkins put the Commodore into the wall in the morning's practice session. Perkins and Steven Richards will now start the race from position 10.

Milligans Food Group Racing's Mark Winterbottom thrilled fans with a last-gasp win in the 25-lap Konica V8 Supercar Challenge.

Winterbottom was positioned in third for 23 laps before he overtook Warren Luff (Dick Johnson Racing) and took advantage of an off-track excursion by Matthew White (Gulf Western Oils) on lap 24 to hit the lead.

He ended up taking the checkered flag from Luff and White, with all three also preparing for tomorrow's ultimate showdown -- the Bob Jane T-Marts 1000.

"As it turned out, luck was on my side and I was in the right place at the right time and managed to grab the lead when Matthew (White) slipped up at Caltex Chase," said Winterbottom.

"This was a good hit out before tomorrow's main race which I am really looking forward to."

Jim Richards (OAMPS Insurance Brokers) made it two out of two in the Carrera Cup this afternoon by winning race two in a close finish from Queensland's Marcus Marshall with Peter Fitzgerald coming home in third.

Queensland's Jamie Cartwright (MG -- X Power) was another to claim a second race win after proving too good in race two of the Kumho Tyres MGF Trophy. Adam Bressington (Whiskas Racing/ was an extremely close second with NSW's Chris Oxley (Bushley Pty Ltd) in third, with the top three all within four tenths of a second.

NSW's Steve Mason made it a trifecta of race wins in the Historic Touring Cars by taking his Biante Model Cars Camero Chev across the line in first place from the ACT's Jason Foley (T.F Racing) in a Ford XYGT and Victoria's Garry Treloar (Treloar Rose's) in a Chrysler Charger.

Bathurst City Council today announced that a $10 million grant from the State Government together with a $4 million commitment from the Council will see redevelopment at the Mount Panorama circuit begin in early December.

Draft plans for the design and construction of new pit bays, pit paddock facilities, a media centre, podium and race control tower were unveiled today as part of Council's consultation process.

The record day three crowd of 44,553 added to the strong early day crowds of 28,140 (day one) and 33,973 (day two).

Day four of the Bob Jane T-Marts 1000 commences at 7.15am tomorrow (Sunday October 12) with the warm-up for the V8 Supercars. The ultimate showdown starts at 10am. For further information visit the website


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Drivers Garth Tander , Marcos Ambrose , Greg Murphy , Marcus Marshall , Jim Richards , Mark Skaife , Craig Lowndes , John Bowe , Mark Winterbottom , Garry Rogers , Matthew White , Larry Perkins , Bob Jane , Peter Fitzgerald , Jamie Cartwright , Warren Luff , Dick Johnson , Steven Richards
Teams Holden Racing Team , Garry Rogers Motorsport